3-4 Gizmo AMPS=136; +2=33 & 44; +4=67; +6=70; +8=88; +9.5=89; PMPS=87; +1=97; +2=82; +3=98

Status
Not open for further replies.

Chubba (GA)

Member Since 2017
Yesterday

Numbers are still looking good, but Gizmo is very hesitant to eat. I got him to eat about 3tsp of tikicat (velvet mousse) for his amps meal. I shot his full dose of insulin and am hoping I can continue to get little bits of food in him throughout the day. I’m still not sure about starting the levemir tonight ... I would prefer him to be eating before the switch. I still have some lantus left, so i might wait. His lantus numbers have been so decent lately ... i hope switching is the right decision. :nailbiting:
 
Got Gizmo to eat about 4tsp more at +1. It’s zero carb food and he typically does better with some carbs with his insulin meals, but at least he is eating something. I’m going to continue just giving small meals every hour or so. That’s how I got him eating last time he did this. Although that was only a week or so ago ... I hope this isn’t a new pattern. :(
 
33 is really low for AT. :eek:

Glad he is coming up for you, but I would rely on HC/honey until he is over 68. Up, Gizmo, up!
 
He has actual food on board and not just gravy, hopefully that will help keep him up and if he has a few more small meals in the next hour or two it will be good enough. Love the parm trick, works with my civvie too. Cats and cheese, who knew? :joyful:

Gizmo, it's not nice to scare the bean like that, stay up please!

How was he acting on that 33? Asia is ravenous when she gets that low.
 
He has actual food on board and not just gravy, hopefully that will help keep him up and if he has a few more small meals in the next hour or two it will be good enough. Love the parm trick, works with my civvie too. Cats and cheese, who knew? :joyful:

Gizmo, it's not nice to scare the bean like that, stay up please!

How was he acting on that 33? Asia is ravenous when she gets that low.
He wasn’t acting any different. Usually he is starving, but today he could have cared less about food. :nailbiting:
 
+4 = 67
Gave another tsp MC gravy with a bit of meat. I really chopped and smashed the meat bits and he still left them. :(
 
Not sure of plan for tonight ...

If he is still picky with his eating, do I start the levemir or wait until morning? I know I have at least one dose of lantus left (maybe more).

If still picky with eating, I’m not even sure I want to give him a full shot. He earned a reducie to 6 units today, but I’m thinking about a BCS. I have no explaination for these low numbers today and the 33 at +2 is making me a bit worried about what might happen tonight.

Thoughts/suggestions?
 
I'm having difficulty seeing today's numbers in the SS. Ahem! ;) Good to have if asking for dosing advice.

Good catch today, glad you got him to finally eat.
 
Yeah, I get it. :bighug:

I think you have too options. One is a BCS of Lantus today, the other is 4.0 units of Lev today. Both should drain the Lantus depot, but you will be dealing with the Lantus depot tonight, even if you shoot Lev, so I'd lean to shooting Lev first tomorrow. Note that some cats have a marked reaction to Levemir in either the first or second cycle of Lev. Keep that in mind, as well as how tired you are.
 
Yeah, I get it. :bighug:

I think you have too options. One is a BCS of Lantus today, the other is 4.0 units of Lev today. Both should drain the Lantus depot, but you will be dealing with the Lantus depot tonight, even if you shoot Lev, so I'd lean to shooting Lev first tomorrow. Note that some cats have a marked reaction to Levemir in either the first or second cycle of Lev. Keep that in mind, as well as how tired you are.
Geesh ... I thought I had at least updated some numbers today. :facepalm: :joyful:

I think I’m leaning towards a BCS of lantus tonight and start levemir in the morning as long as he is eating better. I’m thinking 3 or 4 units. I want him to stay safe, but also don’t want to lose the momentum he currently has going.

If he eats at PMPS, is it safe to shot 6 units or would you shoot lower?
 
PMPS = 87

Decided to give a very BCS of 3 units of lantus. Gizmo ate a few bites of his normal LC food with his cabergoline in it, but wouldn’t finish it. I mixed it with some of the velvet mousse and he devoured it all. Then proceeded to eat the entire pouch of food. So he is willing to eat select foods, but of course tiki cat has zero carbs. So I was a bit worried to shoot the full dose. Hopefully he just continues to surf safely tonight and we will be able to start levemir in the morning.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top