3/4 Doodles AMPS 286 +2 287 +6.5 259+ 8.5 277 PMPS 227 +2 265 +4 232

Status
Not open for further replies.

Doodles & Karen

Member Since 2015
Doodles 3/3 Today is day 4 after the Covenia shot. Warning - BROKEN RECORD condo.....

Although we're seeing less pinks his lows (about 240) have basically been the same since the mystery cat started on 1/31. We started increasing at 1.25u and currently sit at 3.5u. It doesn't matter what I feed or when I feed it there is no sign of any changes. I'm going to call the vet and see if she'll give me a script for the pens and buy 1 from Walmart. By now one would think we would've seen at least 1 blue or some sign of movement. His fur looks beautiful and for the most part other than not playing there are no signs something is wrong.

Moving on he goes for his bath and lion cut at +3 today!

Vines and prayers to all in need.
 
Mystery Flat Cat....I think Doodles has ALL our brains working overtime here! I agree that it's time to give new juice from a different lot/batch a shot. I'm sure you know to really be on your toes with that switch - he could, with any luck, come zooming back down the dosing ladder.

Great news that he feels great...of course that is what matters most.

Have a great day!

PS - "Before" and "After" pics today please :cat:!!
 
Good luck with the new juice. I hope it makes a difference. If you're going to try new insulin, you should hold the dose. You don't want to change two things at one time and not know which one made a difference if things change.

Please post pictures of the lion cut.
 
Yes, don't forget to take makeover pictures! Fingers crossed for better results with a new pen. With so many people racking their brains about the flat cat mystery, it seems like this is the only thing that really seems to make sense.
 
I'm also switching pharmacies. Would you stay at 3.5? Of course I'll be with him the whole time.
I think that's a good idea Karen if they haven't been storing/handling it properly, or their suppliers it could be feasibly what's causing issues. I hope you can get a new script and a new pen from a different batch.
If new batch works I would report the problem with the old batch to the relevant authorities.
 
With so many people racking their brains about the flat cat mystery
With highs and lows exactly the same it makes me think he's managing his own BG's. A survey company called on behalf of Sanofi yesterday asking my satisfactory questions about my call regarding the insulin. My basic message was I find it unacceptable that they would not send a voucher because it's for a cat which would allow me to send them these viles and that there is no way for me to test the insulin. Not that it will matter and it's about principal more than money.
 
With highs and lows exactly the same it makes me think he's managing his own BG's. A survey company called on behalf of Sanofi yesterday asking my satisfactory questions about my call regarding the insulin. My basic message was I find it unacceptable that they would not send a voucher because it's for a cat which would allow me to send them these viles and that there is no way for me to test the insulin. Not that it will matter and it's about principal more than money.
Hmmm, trying to cover their a*** perhaps, is there not a government agency that you could call? I mean if you actually find that there is a difference with the pen.
 
Hmmm, trying to cover their a*** perhaps, is there not a government agency that you could call? I mean if you actually find that there is a difference with the pen.
Sanofi is covered because Lantus is not approved for use in Pets. I told them this is a big problem and disconnect with the vet community since 1000's of animals are prescribed Lantus. I have the Kirks Veterinary Therapy book where there is a whole section published on Lantus....blah blah blah. Also that we can't just go to the pharmacy and buy it, the vets (dr.) are prescribing it....major disconnect. I'd have to find a lawyer to figure it all out o_O
 
Sanofi is covered because Lantus is not approved for use in Pets. I told them this is a big problem and disconnect with the vet community since 1000's of animals are prescribed Lantus. I have the Kirks Veterinary Therapy book where there is a whole section published on Lantus....blah blah blah. Also that we can't just go to the pharmacy and buy it, the vets (dr.) are prescribing it....major disconnect. I'd have to find a lawyer to figure it all out o_O
True but if there is an issue with the lot, it suggests there is an issue with it or supply chain that puts humans at risk too, you would think that would motivate them.
hmm wonder if local diabetics have noticed any problems????

I don't expect you to launch a crusade, just wondering is all.

Hope the new pen works for for Doodles, that's what we want to see, is a happy Doodles in lower numbers.

:bighug::bighug::bighug:
 
I hope the new insulin shows a change.

Definitely want to see his new doo. I need to have a model for when i do Smokey.

Is he getting a mani pedi also?? Ohhhhh Big day for him.:smuggrin:
 
It is awfully strange. If you have two pens from the same lot, they could have been from the same box and that box could have had an issue. Who knows? The really weird thing, though, is that when a drug like this is "bad," I think generally you have a gradual decay in effectiveness, not just no effectiveness.

I think, if it were me, I would stop shots for a day or two and see if it made any difference before trying yet another pen. If it makes no difference at all, that would indicate your current Lantus has not been doing a thing. In which case, I would be afraid to start with 3.5U myself.
 
It is awfully strange. If you have two pens from the same lot, they could have been from the same box and that box could have had an issue. Who knows? The really weird thing, though, is that when a drug like this is "bad," I think generally you have a gradual decay in effectiveness, not just no effectiveness.

I think, if it were me, I would stop shots for a day or two and see if it made any difference before trying yet another pen. If it makes no difference at all, that would indicate your current Lantus has not been doing a thing. In which case, I would be afraid to start with 3.5U myself.

If you look at his SS we started the first new vile on 1/25 and it was the 6th day after that he completely went bonkers....the second new vile was started on 2/5. I'm thinking about skipping tonight and maybe tomorrow to see what his numbers are. :nailbiting::nailbiting::nailbiting:

I do have a new pen and like you a little concerned about starting with 3.5 units.
 
He wasn't into getting his pic taken but the groomers said he did awesome and that his coat is beautiful

Lion cut 1.jpg Lion Cut 2.jpg Lion Cut 3.jpg
 
Handsome boy!

Did you notice anything else strange about the pens? I once had a pen that smelled a little of Levemir. I went to the pharmacy where I bought it and told the pharmicist about it. They took it and sent it back to Novo Nordisc and about 6 weeks later the pharmacy gave me a new pen.

Good luck!

Ella & Rusty
 
Did you notice anything else strange about the pens
I've been using the viles. So paranoid now I may be seeing things. The first replacement it looked like the rubber was inverted. The second replacement has a very potent smell and if a drop gets on my hands it takes 3 times to get the smell out. I don't remember that happening before. I've called the pharmacy multiple times they won't even consider doing anything and told me to contact Sanofi.

This is the first pen I've ever had. I've spent $600 on these viles in a month so going with 1 pen for $86 seems like a bargain!
 
Cuteness!!! Fingers crossed that the new pen does the trick!!

Just in thinking about it....I think most humans use the pens and not the vials, so I do wonder if something is up with those vials you got - knocked around in the fridge at the pharmacy; sitting around too long, etc, etc. We shall see!
 
Doodle drama today guys, sorry :) The vet said to shoot the 3.5 units. Thinking about it IF the insulin has been bad or weakened, with him being in these numbers for so long it may take a few cycles before we see results anyway in order for the depot to fill....correct?
 
I would go with the 3.5U and just test very, very diligently. I agree - if it's bad juice in the vials, he will need to build his depot...he'd basically be starting from Square One. And, if the insulin in the vials isn't bad, you don't want to have to restart the whole "increase the dose" game again.
 
I would go with the 3.5U and just test very, very diligently. I agree - if it's bad juice in the vials, he will need to build his depot
Ok, thanks! It's hard for me to "think" sometimes but I'll be watching him. If he goes diving it wouldn't be a bad thing at this point.
 
??? on the Pens...I watched the video. So I can see the purple stopper when I take the cap off and assume that is where you draw the dose from. Wasn't there some kind of needle top I have to take off?
 
Definitely love his new doo. I see I have to go higher on the shoulders for Smokey. Can't wait to see how the pen works with him.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top