3/4 DAVIDSON PMPS 69 +8 96

Status
Not open for further replies.

Shawna & Davidson (GA)

Member Since 2014
YESTERDAYS CONDO: viewtopic.php?f=9&t=114774

Morning............too dark to see if it's a nice day but when we wake up with out kitties it's always a nice day!

Great night, no issues and tested a couple of times knowing all was well after midnight when Davidson did a 75, then +4.5 88 and +8.5 82

He's dropping and sometime today he may surprise us and go under 50.

QUESTION: Today is his first day with a new reduction to 1.5u..........if he earns a reduction again should I reduce at the next shot or give him a day or tow to get used to this new dose?? His body is used to the Lantus and working well with him and if he can work at the lesser doses each time without problems then it's probably a good idea to give him the shots, maybe even at low numbers like last night when I am here to monitor. What do you think? I am sure you have seen some kitties only need the Lantus for a short amount of time..........

Catch up when the rest of the wold wakes up.

Shawna
 
Re: 3/4 DAVIDSON + 8.5 82

Wow, Shawna, what a beautiful SS Davidson has :mrgreen: :mrgreen: He is really working his way down the dosing scale fast :-D I don't give dosing advice, but you know someone will be along soon to answer your question. If not, just add the ? to your topic.

Have a wonderful day!
 
Re: 3/4 DAVIDSON + 8.5 82

I would not shoot the 40s and I have been doing this a long time. I would have fed some LC and stalled last night.

If he goes below 50 today it is probably from some of the depot left over from the 1.75 dose.

Good luck with the new dose.
 
Re: 3/4 DAVIDSON + 8.5 82

What's done is done and there were no problems.......

So, with all you experience what would you do with my above scenario whereas he gets his reduction today at AMPS 09:30 (1 hr) and mid day he drops below 50 to earn a reduction ---------- so would you reduce again at PMPS or let let him get used to the reduction from the morning???????

I find that many 'experienced people insert their personal experiences but sometime elude the questions asked. In this case, I am aware most don't shoot low, in fact I see that you don't recommend shooting under 200 (not sure why) and certainly we all know our cats since I;ve learned ECID not to mention so is everyone's experience level. I've been educating myself to a large degree and speaking with people who have diabetic cats, dogs, family members, etc. and getting a wealth of information from them and THIS Board........but there are times when one has to make a decision based on their own situation and experience when nobody is around.........I'd hate to make the wrong decision and regret anything which is why we each have to learn as much as possible and all facets of testing. I think I have the tests to show me what Davidson is doing daily and he could throw a cure ball one day which is fine, I'll deal with it then. Remember I am here 24 hrs a day with him when I see he is low at any point so he's in good hands.

Still curious about my questions :>))))))

UPDATE: + 11 84
 
Re: 3/4 DAVIDSON + 8.5 82 + 11 84

Shawna

I wouldn't reduce again today. Some higher doses in some cats can affect the depot up to six cycles. Generally, and unless the cat is relentlessly below 40 after the reduction, we will consider that the depot is affecting numbers for 3-4 cycles after the reduction and will suggest not giving another reduction so soon.

In this forum, we don't have a "no shoot" number. The health forum has one of 200 but they aren't "manned" as we are with so many active and experienced members. We only ask that if a new member gets a 150 or below or when they get the lowest number they've ever shot, post first so we can help them learn to shoot lower.
 
Re: 3/4 DAVIDSON + 8.5 82 + 11 84

Thanks Marje........

I'll keep him on this dose until tomorrow night and then if he pulls another low number will reduce then. It seems like each time he gets a reduction he goes for 3 full days and then has a low number and earns a decrease. His numbers have been really consistent in the past couple weeks so see what he does today.

Crazy, Davidson is sitting on my desk as he knows it's time for a shot in a few minutes. Who needs a clock when I can just watch Davidson and know when it's +2,4, 6, 8 and then the 12 hrs shift. :mrgreen:

Question answered so I will remove my ? from my post.

Thanks again,
Shawna
 
Re: 3/4 DAVIDSON + 8.5 82 + 11 84

You're welcome, Shawna and thanks for removing the ?.

Gracie usually holds onto her depot from a higher dose for about six cycles BUT if she drops low again on the fourth...and by low I mean 30s, I reduce her as the depot should be waning some by then. You know Davidson and you also know if you have to work to bring up numbers so if on the fourth cycle, he gives you a lower number or you have to work to bring him up, I'd reduce. With Davidson, I bet he wouldn't skip a beat ;-)
 
Re: 3/4 DAVIDSON AMPS 72

30'S.......Not seen those numbers yet and that's "low".......just shot him, with insulin that is LOL, so see what he does in a few hours.

Rgds

Shawna
 
Re: 3/4 DAVIDSON AMPS 72

Then you are lucky :-D

For no apparent reason the other night after a gorgeous flat day in green, Gracie....at the end of her cycle! dropped from 88 to 27 in one hour. Thankfully, I caught it because she was not showing any signs she was that low. I can only think her pancreas kicked in.
 
Re: 3/4 DAVIDSON AMPS 72

Good thing you caught that one...........now that's LOW!! My house looks like a supermarket with all the types of food, treats, lancets, test strips, etc........friends come in and laugh at the shelves of 'stuff'.........ya gotta do what ya gotta do!

Here's to a GREAT day to all
 
Re: 3/4 DAVIDSON AMPS 72

HI guys .. glad you were able to get your question answered .. 72 is the puurfect number to start the day! Have a great day guys!
 
Re: 3/4 DAVIDSON AMPS 72 +2 70

As much as we would all like to have "rules", we're dealing with cats. They don't follow the rules. It is usually (and there are exceptions) not recommended to give back-to-back reductions. If reductions are too close together, they usually don't hold. If Davidson drops below 50, ask about taking a reduction. He's at a point where it may take several pairs of eyes to sort out if the reduction is warranted or not.

The only time that you don't reduce after a drop below 50 is if your kitty is bouncing into high numbers. We suggest you hold the current dose for a cycle and then reduce (referred to as "shooting through the bounce"). It doesn't look like this is necessary for Davidson.

Just as an FYI, if you get a pre-shot number that is too low to shoot, if you stall, you then shoot the reduced dose. That's probably not something that's terribly clear.
 
Re: 3/4 DAVIDSON AMPS 72 +2 70

Thanks Sienne;

yeah, you're right........not terribly clear on the last part of your reply.........but the rest is clear :>))) So, in other words - if I get under 45 then how long do I stall for? And when I resume the schedule and shoot then yes, I would then shoot at the reduced .25 of what I was going to shoot. Just not clear on how long to stall for - until he would reach over 50 again??
 
Re: 3/4 DAVIDSON PMPS 69

Davidson had a nice easy day, staying constant again and just had a PMPS 69. This is Day 1 of his reduction to 1.5u and probably will see similar numbers tomorrow..........In spite of shooting low last night at 48, he never dropped further and continued to rise until he reached his nadir at around +4 then up again until tonight. I'm fairly confident that Davidson will pull another fast one and earn a reduction on Day 3........guess we have to wait until Thursday to find out.

Hope you ALL had a great day and also saw good numbers...........

Shawna
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top