3/4 CRYSTAL AMPS 326 +7 238 PMPS 207

Status
Not open for further replies.

suki & crystal (GA)

Member Since 2014
yesterday

Hi all,
After last night's dosing mistake I stayed up to make sure Crystal was okay. Luckily she was, in the low 300's for all of the cycle, starting this morning at 326 before dropping back into the yellow zone. I'll hold this dose now for at least 6 cycles and check before any further increase.

Not much else to report, bright and sunny but very windy here so all 4 cats are taking a nap as they don't like the wind up their tails!

@Sandy and Black Kitty - are we still okay for another R trial tomorrow evening (18.00 here)? I'll be around all day to monitor her.

Hope the bad weather your side of the pond isn't playing too much havoc with your lives, stay safe and warm.

Suki & Crystal
 
Hi Peg, Suzanne and Angela, thanks for looking in at us today. Crystal is coming down nicely, with a good PMPS of 207 - nearly, but not quite in the blues but good progress anyway, very happy with her. She seems to do better in the AM cycle than the PM for some strange reason. She's gone out for a stroll round the garden to see if you can find any small mammels to torture, hope she doesn't bring them home like she usually does!
 
Hi Sandy - Crystal is rising a bit at +3, 283 from PMPS of 207. Have a few hours yet before bedtime to keep an eye on her.

Hi Patricia, thank you for looking in. We've had some exciting times over the last few days but as you say, lots of great info coming out and I'm learning more every day, even if it's by what not to do. Crystal has proved very resistant over the last couple of months and it has been a very frustrating journey but I think at last we are seeing some progress in her numbers, thanks to the aggressive dosing which I have been following under several sets of watchful eyes. Paws crossed we get some more blue numbers at this dose.
 
Your +3 rises really don't concern me that much, since Lev has a late onset. Sometimes Cobb would nadir at his evening preshot. We always knew (and many here pointed out) that something was happening during the cycle if he had a lower +2 or +3. It always signaled that he was about to be on the downswing. I'm interested to see how Crystal does later in this cycle, and really what she shows us on tomorrow's cycle. You saw blue on the 4th cycle after the last increase. She may have a few days of NDW to contend with before the dose starts working. Wouldn't it be helpful if she would just tell you that?! :rolleyes:
 
Hi there :cool:

03/05/AM will be cycle 4 at the 45u dose. Being that cycle 4 at the previous dose provided a new low - heads up.

Remember how waking to that blue AMPS left you wondering where Crystal may have gone after PM+5 the night before?
Depending on what your 'before bed test' reveals. if you can manage it a +10-ish for the current PM cycle may serve you well -
It can make the AMPS picture clearer and dosing decisions easier.

Regarding R on 03/05/PM cycle - I will be able to be here for your 03/05/PMPS and beyond if needed.
It's a one shot at a time so let's see how things play out between now and then. ;)
Important to be able to judge the effects your L increases are providing
.


Many were the times I would prepare an R syringe along with my 2 L syringes and come test time not use the R based on the BG number and it's context in the picture of the last few cycles. I would then just put the loaded syringe back in the fridge, which is possible with R (but should not be done with the Ls) .
Before the IAA broke a pre loaded R syringe was never in the fridge for long with BK.

How to know when and when not to use R will come with time. As long as progress is made with the L,, no need to be heavy handed with the R.
I was bracing for the possibility of a sizable counter regulatory reaction after that blue - and am thrilled there was not!
She has been seeing more yellows <250 without much counter regulatory objection as well.
It's all good.

Now Crystal, ease down into the upper blues and hang out a while. . .:cool:


Going to grab a yoga class and make a grocery run ahead of the next storm...
Will check back in later :cat:
 
Hi Suzanne - yes, it would make life so much easier if she could tell me her intentions. Not sure what to make of her third cycle so far, +5.5 test of 313 so she's on the rise. Can manage about another hour and will then have to get some sleep, beginning to feel the effects of last night's serious lack of sleep.

Hi Sandy. I agree with your decision about the R dosing, it makes sense to see what happens tomorrow and exactly what effect the dose increase is having without the interference of the R - wait and see sounds good to me.
Enjoy your yoga class, sorry to hear you are expecting yet another storm, it must certainly be one of the worst winters on record so far for the US. Don't realise how lucky we are here, just a couple of frosty mornings and one day with a light sprinkle of snow and that's been our winter, great.
 
Hey Crystal, you are going to wrong way Love!

I don't know much about high dose cats, but it is quite interesting to watch your condo. It baffles me as to why some cats can get by with such a small dose while others need so much more.

I hope Crystal cleans up her act and you get some better numbers soon.
 
Hi Tina, Yep, going the wrong way, I don't think she's going to cooperate tonight by her figures so far. I'm amazed too how some cats react to such tiny doses and here Crystal is, a real insulin guzzler, she certainly is an enigma!
 
She is a big gulper, but you're doing great managing her, suki. I can see yet another change in her ss in the overall colors since about March 1st. Less pink, more yellow.

This winter has been hard on the midwestern & eastern part of the US. Another big storm is forecast to hit tomorrow and Friday. Here in the northwest, we haven't hardly had a winter. Some below freezing temps, but no snow and this week we're having sunshine and highs in the 60's. Our daffodils and crocus are all blooming, and today i saw a tree flowering as well. Spring is definitely here - and I am sure not complaining!
 
Crystal does seem to be spending more time in yellow than in pink, that's great progress. Looks like she's flat again tonight though. Paws crossed the R can do something tomorrow.

Like Julie, I'm on the west coast. My part of Canada is warmer than the rest. We've had camelias, rhododendrons and cherry trees blossoming. Everything is about 3 weeks early this spring. Winter was a bust, local ski mountains are brown.:(
 
Sending applause! Big gulpers are a challenge and you are certainly up for the challenge! Suki's lucky to have such a great bean.

Marilyn and Polly
 
Hi Julie, Wendy and Marilyn, thanks for dropping in while Crystal and I were napping. Nothing exciting to report this morning, her AMPS was high at 347 following on from last night's trend, oh well, hope for better numbers later and perhaps another go with the R tonight. She was certainly feisty at dosing time this morning and managed to get a few well aimed bites in.

Spring is certainly here too, it always makes me feel good to see the first crocus and wild primroses poking through and our neighbour has the most gorgeous pink Camelia which has been smothered with blooms for weeks. I really must get my Atlas out and pinpoint your locations, even DH is showing interest in all the whereabouts of my "crazy cat ladies" (his words, not mine!) and has started asking a few questions, which is great as he was more than a bit sceptical when we joined the Board. I suspect his change of heart is due to seeing the results in Crystal first-hand.
Back to bed i think for a couple of hours, catch up later.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top