? 3/4 Coda AMPS 148 No shot; at vet 188 bg at 11am, pancreatitis? "+ 8" 199 PMPS 242

Status
Not open for further replies.
Coda doesn't have tooth infection
Getting some blood work done as well as fluids, anti nausea, and pain meds, vet thinks it's pancreatitis, which can cause all the drooling and lack of appetite and his stomach to hurt when touched
 
There are many here who have experience with pancreatitis. If you put "pancreatitis" in your title with the ? mark some maybe able to provide good info.
 
Well after some anti nausea and pain meds he decided he's a lap cat... Never been a lap cat before.. waiting on blood work
 

Attachments

  • 1488642915854-1813820271.jpg
    1488642915854-1813820271.jpg
    54 KB · Views: 54
Vet today:
liver and kidneys are good
No infection anywhere, teeth have tartar
Possible pancreatitis but still unsure
Recieved fluids- might be too dehydrated from drooling because of nausea- still unknown reason
Will be on buprenex .3mg/ml twice a day for a few days for pain
Cerenia 1/4 tablet for 4 days for nausea

Eating FF chicken classic pate when home
 
SOooo vet suggested giving him only raw food, since that'll be best to get him hydrated, help with any IBS, and of course the pancreatitis.. luckily that's all he's willingly eating at the moment :cat:
Should I give him his shot tonight? at 1u? I know this is a set back from a nice green (but not necessarily healthy green bc hurt tummy)
 
Some additional thoughts...

Ondansatron (Zofran) is a bit better for nausea. It's also available in an injectable form. (It's a subcutaneous injection, like insulin.) In the injectable form, it's a lot less expensive than Cerenia. You can also give both ondanatron and Cerenia if you need to. (You may want a different sized needle for ondansatron or ask your vet to convert the dose for a U100 syringe if you want to use ondansatron. It's available at any human pharmacy since it's a drug that's commonly used to combat the nausea resulting from chemotherapy.)

You might want to ask the vet to call in a prescription for an appetite stimulant. Either cyproheptadine or mirtazepine are typically used to get a kitty to start eating. You want to make sure the anti-nausea med has kicked in (usually give at least 30 min before meal time) and then give the appetite stimulant. You don't want your cat to be nauseated and hungry at the same time.

The tender belly is a good indication that you caught the pancreatitis pretty early.

Marje put together an excellent guide to dealing with pancreatitis: Primer on Pancreatitis
 
Some additional thoughts...

Ondansatron (Zofran) is a bit better for nausea. It's also available in an injectable form. (It's a subcutaneous injection, like insulin.) In the injectable form, it's a lot less expensive than Cerenia. You can also give both ondanatron and Cerenia if you need to. (You may want a different sized needle for ondansatron or ask your vet to convert the dose for a U100 syringe if you want to use ondansatron. It's available at any human pharmacy since it's a drug that's commonly used to combat the nausea resulting from chemotherapy.)

You might want to ask the vet to call in a prescription for an appetite stimulant. Either cyproheptadine or mirtazepine are typically used to get a kitty to start eating. You want to make sure the anti-nausea med has kicked in (usually give at least 30 min before meal time) and then give the appetite stimulant. You don't want your cat to be nauseated and hungry at the same time.

The tender belly is a good indication that you caught the pancreatitis pretty early.

Marje put together an excellent guide to dealing with pancreatitis: Primer on Pancreatitis
Thank You! I'll discuss these with the vet, especially if pain/ nausea persist after the meds I have now are finished. He fortunately started eating after pain and nausea meds, so still a little appetite :)
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top