3/4 Chase 125@AMPS,130@+1,79@+2,69@+2.5,68@+3,77@+3.5,81@+4,81@+4.5,133@PMPS,153@+1.25,128@+2

Status
Not open for further replies.
Hope you have a good day Sandi, Chase is looking good in his blue suit:cool:
@Gill & George ... Chase's +1 is 79. Do I feed him HC gravy to keep him from going down more, or do I give him his regular and perhaps, test him sooner? At what point do I NOT give him HC gravy?

@Doodles & Karen Do you have a food suggestion?

I gave him 1 TBL HC. Maybe someone can confirm if what I'm doing is the right thing. I cant seem to catch anyone right when I test him. :)
 
Last edited:
LOL. I can't seem to ever get anyone on here "during" his low numbers. What does that mean? LOL. I guess it means that I am to make the decisions on my own. Hmmmm. :)
It looks like Chase is having a similar cycle to yesterday. You did a good job keeping him surfing yesterday. I'd feed like you did yesterday.
Ok. Good. Then I'm on the right track. :) Thank you for staying with me, here. :)
 
You're doing a great job managing things. Sorry there's not always someone around when you need an answer. When are you planning to test again?
Oh... I know that people can't just KNOW when I'll be here and need them. LOL. I think it's working out ok because I'm trying to rely more on myself. When there's no one around... I HAVE to do that. :)

I'm testing again at +3... in just a few minutes. I have to go to work, today. Will be leaving here at 10:00. If I could pick any one time to do a test, in the middle of the day, when would be the best time? I can run home in the middle of my day and test him, if anyone thinks that would be of any benefit, today.
 
It looks like Chase usually has his nadir around +4. What time is is where you are now?

He's pretty flat right now. I'd try the MC if you have time to get another test before you leave.
 
It looks like Chase usually has his nadir around +4. What time is is where you are now?

He's pretty flat right now. I'd try the MC if you have time to get another test before you leave.
I gave him (2) tsp HC and (1) tsp Chase mix and (1) tsp MC... probably pretty close to just giving him straight MC. I'm never sure which way to go, when he gets into the low numbers.

If ever his numbers come WAY up, after giving him HC after a nose dive, does that suppress the pancreas from working on it's own? I'm still trying to understand that part. :)
 
Last edited:
It looks like Chase usually has his nadir around +4. What time is is where you are now?

He's pretty flat right now. I'd try the MC if you have time to get another test before you leave.

I can just stay until I get a +4 test. Then I'll have to leave for work. But before I leave I'll put snacks in the feeder. (1) ice cube of Chase mix at +4.5, (1) ice cube of Chase mix @+6.5 and (1) ice cube of LC at +9.
 
I don't think that would keep the pancreas from working, but I'm not sure. The numbers would be up from the extra carbs.
Thanks, Carla. I know that this is all about fine tuning of the diet, and that if he is ever to go OTJ, I will have to watch his diet EXTRA close. I am hoping someone can explain his numbers pattern and what is most beneficial for Chase.... having safe, consistent low numbers that indicate remission and waiting until those numbers are achieved, or having consistent flat numbers in the blue for a certain length of time. :woot:
 
81 @ +4... now I feel like I MUST get a +4.5... just to see if +4 really DOES seem like his NADIR. Then I will leave for work. He's coming back up, now, so I feel ok to leave him. :)

Thank you, Carla, for taking the time to stay with me throughout the morning. My goal is to get this old man into remission. :) And it's because of people like you, Karen, Bobbie, Gil and Marje (just to name a few) who help me to steer him with food. That's the big ticket, right there. :)

Looks like his NADIR is closer to +3, although I probably don't have enough data to really be able to tell that. o.O
 
Hey Sandi,
great to see him surfing the greens, even if it's a bit nerve wracking for the bean. Sorry I was out, I must have just missed you.

I think the plan for the meals in the autofeeder sound good.

One thing that I would say though is, on a day when you are going to be home and can monitor, it might be interesting to see if he will surf for you with just some straight LC from +3 onwards, (or some reduced 'strength chase mix'), in the hope that he would stay green right through till next PS, but that would be for another day.

It's great seeing him in all these healing greens:D and he is flattening out.:)
 
Hey Sandi,
great to see him surfing the greens, even if it's a bit nerve wracking for the bean. Sorry I was out, I must have just missed you.

I think the plan for the meals in the autofeeder sound good.

One thing that I would say though is, on a day when you are going to be home and can monitor, it might be interesting to see if he will surf for you with just some straight LC from +3 onwards, (or some reduced 'strength chase mix'), in the hope that he would stay green right through till next PS, but that would be for another day.

It's great seeing him in all these healing greens:D and he is flattening out.:)

Thanks, Gil. I appreciate the thoughts on food. That's exactly what I need, because it's the food that will determine whether or not he can be OTJ. I can do the LC at +3 and later next weekend (probably Saturday). I will be going out of town all day tomorrow, but "should" be able to get a +3 before I leave.
 
Sandi

Are you drawing the <0.1u by pushing the plunger in, inserting the needle into the vial and letting the pressure pull up one drop or are you actually estimating a dose by drawing it as you did the 0.25u but just halving that dose?

The reason I ask is because he's been below 90 three times on this dose which is two times too many. So he needs a reduction. If you aren't yet drawing just a drop, that's the next dose. If you are just drawing a drop, we need to come up with Plan B.
 
Sandi

Are you drawing the <0.1u by pushing the plunger in, inserting the needle into the vial and letting the pressure pull up one drop or are you actually estimating a dose by drawing it as you did the 0.25u but just halving that dose?

The reason I ask is because he's been below 90 three times on this dose which is two times too many. So he needs a reduction. If you aren't yet drawing just a drop, that's the next dose. If you are just drawing a drop, we need to come up with Plan B.
Hi Marje. :) I've not been estimating. I've just been pushing the plunger down as far as it will go... inserting the needle into the bottle... and then just releasing my hold on the syringe.
 
Sandi

A couple things make me think that Chase is not ready to stop insulin yet:
--I'm seeing no inverted curves which, at this low of a dose, "might" indicate he's ready to come off the insulin
--the +9 LC snacks are not bringing his preshots down; if his pancreas was working on its own, we would see a drop in the numbers about three hours after he eats. He's going up.

A couple options you have:
--raise the dose and feed only medium carb food; I would at least go back to 0.1u but it might be necessary to go back to 0.25u. If you select this option, you can decide which dose you feel more comfortable with. You can always start with 0.1u, see how he does, and increase if necessary.
--if you aren't comfortable raising the dose and feeding MC food solely, you can try to see if you can shoot even less insulin or even stop the insulin and see what he does. I believe it is very likely his numbers will go up.

We want to be sure that if and when he goes into remission, he stays there. It seems, in general, that cats who are spending most of their time between 50-100 when they start a trial, do better.

For that reason, if he were mine, I'd choose to raise the dose to 0.25u and feed straight MC. I ran the options by Jill and she also liked that option but it still comes down to what you are most comfortable with in consideration of your work schedule.

Thoughts?

For others reading this condo, please note that this advice is specific to Chase.
 
Last edited:
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top