3/3Max AMPS 262 +4=320 +6.5=245 PMPS 305+4=237

Status
Not open for further replies.

tiffmaxee

Member Since 2013
Now I am wondering if perhaps he is having a pancreatitis attack. He's eating well but again this morning tried to vomit. He didn't so now I'm thinking it isn't a hairball after three early mornings of this. When I came home last night I saw what I think was a new spot of it. I just gave him some pepcid with his BP med.

Elise
 
Re: 3/3Max AMPS 262 +4=320

Max continues to act okay. He ate nearly a can of fancy feast classics and his spoonful of baby food since his insulin. He went up instead of down. He seemed pretty steady yesterday without huge drops. Is this a bounce anyhow? Since I dragged him out from under the bed for the test he is finishing off the rest of the ff.

Yesterday's results:
AMPS 353
+4= 234
+6=206 PMPS 247
+4=223

We increased the day before.

Elise
 
Re: 3/3Max AMPS 262 +4=320 +6.5=245

Hi Elise!

What a head scratcher!! I don't see any reason for Max to be bouncing, but his numbers are higher than we'd like them to be. I have to wonder if there's something else going on with him other than pancreatitis though since his numbers keep creeping up despite the dosecreases.

This is what I'm dealing with on China too. She's at the highest dose she's ever been on (1.75 too) and we're also trying to figure out why she's been creeping up too. Bloodwork's all been pretty normal so I guess we just keep going onward and upward as we need to.

Hopefully the Pepcid will help and he'll start feeling better and it'll show up in his numbers soon!
 
Re: 3/3Max AMPS 262 +4=320 +6.5=245

So sorry that you are having similar issues. I can't figure this out. I don't know what else would be wrong that would csuse this. I hope to speak with my vet. We last did a work-up when he was diagnosed. His T4 has been in the low gray done but we did a complete panel and free T4 was normal. I think I will have to take him in again this week to see what is up. I hope you figure this out for China too.
 
Re: 3/3Max AMPS 262 +4=320 +6.5=245

i'm still wondering about the pancreatitis. Knowing that he has a history of it, I wonder if his symptoms could be changing. I know he has been inappetent (YIKES HOW DO YOU SPELL THAT!?! LOL) my screen underlines it no matter how i'm spelling it!

anyway, i know in the past he hasn't wanted to eat (that's better!) but perhaps he's gotten accustomed to feeling off or his symptoms are changing.

in any case, i'd increase to 2.0 in the morning if he were mine. I'd also try to get a daily ketone test in until he's getting back into better numbers.
 
Re: 3/3Max AMPS 262 +4=320 +6.5=245

I agree with Julie. You have room to increase. Get some tests tonight and see how he does.
Maybe the dose threat (keep the computer on so he can see it) will cause him to have better numbers tonight.
 
Re: 3/3Max AMPS 262 +4=320 +6.5=245

I agree with Julie about the dose increase.

It is estimated that a high percentage of cats (even non-diabetic) have very mild, asymptomatic pancreatitis which is only discovered by accident via ultrasound or post-Mortimer when the cause of death was totally unrelated.

I'm wondering if he has a mild case especially if he gets sick in the a.m. I would definitely give him Pepcid AC (1/4 of a 10 mg) at bedtime and see if that helps with the morning cookie tossing.

Have you seen this Primer on Pancreatitis?
 
Re: 3/3Max AMPS 262 +4=320 +6.5=245

You spelled it right!! He is scaring me. I sent the ss to my vet and I think a vet visit is necessary. If he doesn't call me tonight I will call again in the morning. What more can I do? Should I open the vial that was given to me? It's been in a fridge since I hit it and was only out when the nurse brought it to my mom's house. It might have been out a few hours. It has never been opened. I will increase tonight if you think I should. Is there any chance though that he is getting too much and that is why it doesn't come down much?
 
Re: 3/3Max AMPS 262 +4=320 +6.5=245

you said in the first post today that he is acting ok - is that still true? if so, we just deal with the BGs. If he's acting sick or off, that is different and a vet visit might be in order.

i think you have increased him very appropriately, so no, i don't think he's getting too much insulin. that's usually seen when people increase too quickly or by too large of increments. sometimes people increase by a whole unit, for example.

i wouldn't worry at all about the insulin being left out for a few hours. in the paperwork, Lantus says it's good for 28 days kept out at room temperature all the time. i've left vials out before without a problem.

I wouldn't blame the insulin not being good either, if that's what you're thinking. Does he have any history of bladder infections? sometime a UTI can pop up in our diabetic kitties and that can increase BGs. Symptoms would be urinating often, out of the box, maybe even straining.
 
Re: 3/3Max AMPS 262 +4=320 +6.5=245

The last couple of mornings he tried to vomit but just bile came up. He's eating and acting normal for him otherwise. I gave him pepcid this morning and will give him some tonight and see if that helps with the early morning issue. If so I will just give it to him at night for a bit. Since he has had chronic pancreatitis for over 4 years I always suspect he could have a touch of it at any moment. Just going to the vet can bring it on so hopefully that won't be necessary yet. My vet has told me in the past he will probably need 2 units of insulin by the way. He has never had a bladder infection or any other infection(knock on wood).

How quickly after urinating do I need to do the ketone test? I need to put plastic on the litter as he doesn't like to be disturbed and am wondering if I need to be home and how fresh it has to be. i lost the directions to the test strips. How long do you wait to see if it changes color? It didn't yesterday which I know is a good thing. What do you do for ketones by the way? I need to look that up.

i will let him look at the computer, Dyana.
 
Re: 3/3Max AMPS 262 +4=320 +6.5=245

i don't have any ketone strips anymore - gave them away. it may vary by brand - why don't you try looking online for the directions for your specific ones. the ones i had needed the urine to be fresh and it was only seconds to test - i want to say 15, but don't quote me. i'd look online.

i fed punkin in the laundry room with a box of lentils, actually - you can use anything that doesn't absorb (aquarium rock, clean gravel, etc.) and just waited til he peed. he had very furry thighs so there was no catching it while he went.
 
Re: 3/3Max AMPS 262 +4=320 +6.5=245

Here are some Urine Testing Tips (and yes, it's 15 seconds)

It's important for the test to be done on fresh urine, so it may take some stalking to catch Max "in the act", or confining you both to one room until he finally goes.

If more than a "trace" of ketones, you need to get Max to a vet. DKA is expensive to treat and not always successful :cry:

If only a trace, we may be able to help you control them at home, but it's important that you are testing.
 
Re: 3/3Max AMPS 262 +4=320 +6.5=245

I have Ketostix. You wait for 15 sec before comparing with the color code on the box.

Is Max really throwing up bile? Bile is a mustardy yellow color and has a very distinct, unpleasant smell.
 
Re: 3/3Max AMPS 262 +4=320 +6.5=245

No smell. It's on the carpet and looks brown. He is acting really happy. If I didn't know he had diabetes and was testing high I would think all is well except for the increase in urine output. He's eating, drinking, pooping, purring and wanting attention. If I was an ordinary person that just listened to the vet and didn't learn on line I would be a happy camper right now. But I'm not like that. So I'm really frustrated that he isn't responding. what if he is insulin resistant? I emailed my friend that has the Siemens that I have and she said 40 seconds. She has used them herself as well and she said if there aren't any ketones it won't change color. Thanks.
 
Re: 3/3Max AMPS 262 +4=320 +6.5=245 PMPS 305

Let's not worry yet about whether he is insulin resistant or not. We don't usually start thinking about that until the dose is up to 6u bid.

I know it's so hard to not worry but we will help you keep moving the dose up until he starts to show some progress.
 
Re: 3/3Max AMPS 262 +4=320 +6.5=245 PMPS 305

Thank you. With my mom so sick as well this is really tough. I appreciate your help more than you all know.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top