Debra and Yoyo
Member Since 2018
Yesterday 3/30 http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/...218-11-311-pmps-372-2-299-4-245-7-275.212573/
Day 1 @ F 1.25Units of Lantus
Day 1 @ F 1.25Units of Lantus
Thanks.....Yoyo can't make his mind upGood luck with doscrease


Any suggestions.....he dropped about 200 points from PS to +2. I fed him his normal amount at +2. Should I retest at +2.5?Good luck with the new dose. Sometimes you just have to go up and down in doses.
Thank you! It is really something how such a little bit of an increase can produce such different numbers.Good luck with that increase...hope YoYo gets the message - beautiful kitty btwHave a great day Debra!
Ok..if need be I'll give him a small teaspoon of either LC or MC depending on count! Thank you, as I do have the habit of over feeding him....nervesThat's a pretty fast drop. A +2.5 test is probably a good idea. Just remember if you need to feed him again to slow the drop to feed a little at a time so he won't get full and not eat.

I fed him his normal amount of food @+2.75, I'll retest in about a half hour from his last test and see if he went up.That's a pretty fast drop. A +2.5 test is probably a good idea. Just remember if you need to feed him again to slow the drop to feed a little at a time so he won't get full and not eat.
What a morningOh good grief, YoYo!!!!! Why did you do that to your mommy? With that AMPS, I wouldn’t have tested before +2 either. However, with that big of a drop, I would have brought out the big guns in carbs to slow him down. For him, that might have been a higher MC food.
Debra.....if you are up for it, I’d say let’s give him three times between 40 and 50 before you reduce so we can try and give him a little more time in green. We know 1.25u just isn’t enough insulin for him.
Are you dosing with calipers? Just interested to know but it’s fine if you aren’t.

Thank you! Marje @Marje and Gracie has been wonderful. She is a superb individual and she has given Yoyo and myself great attention and care. Now, if Yoyo would only follow directions and not take detours, life would be goodYoyo does seem to living up to his name!
I agree with Marje. I was looking at Yoyo's SS before I read through your condo. Yoyo's numbers seem to drop after you increase his dose. It may be a result of the increase -- but it takes the depot a few cycles to catch up with the new dose -- or Yoyo may be one of those kitties who takes an extra cycle or two for the depot to stabilize.
I agree with Marje, I'd hold the dose. The 1.25u is bringing Yoyo into the 60s. Let the bounce clear and see what his numbers look like. The 3 drops into the 40 - 50 range is a good way to get your kitty used to lower numbers and, hopefully, be less bouncy.
It’s often going to be experimentation and so there is no right or wrong when you are just learning what works. And what works early in the cycle might be too much later in the cycle (most likely will). As he sees more of these green numbers, you’ll learn more and more so just be sure you continue to keep really good records (I know you will).What a morning.....I thought of giving him HC food with all the gravy but I thought that may have slowed him down too much and I wasn't sure if it would affect him throughout the night cycle. So I kept checking and feeding. Thank goodness he is a good boy and he will actually let me put food into his mouth if he doesn't take it willingly. He scared me a little because his numbers were not moving very much but I tried to stay as calm as possible and just kept retesting.
The MC food that I have is GRILLED fancy feast. I believe they all have about the same carbs-12-15%. If you know of something better, please let me know. For HC food I have the GRAVY type by fancy feast,(not sure of actual name on can w/o getting up and going into the pantry-I'm too lazy). Let me know if I should have some other food.
I have the calipers, and I measured 1.71 mm to equal 1.38 units. But actually I find the calipers to be a pain, I still have to measure on the syringe and nothing is perfect. I usually eye ball it and I have the line from the caliper too. I guess one of my issues is measuring with the caliper and where to line it up from the top. I use monoject syringes. I watch the video over and over, but when you actually do it, it takes time and again I feel nothing is 100% accurate. But with my eye and the caliper, I hopefully have consistancy!
So tonight you feel that I should give him the same dose that I gave him this morning?
I tested him a few minutes ago and he went up to 259-human meter, 377 pet meter. Boy - that boy can jump!!!
It’s often going to be experimentation and so there is no right or wrong when you are just learning what works. And what works early in the cycle might be too much later in the cycle (most likely will). As he sees more of these green numbers, you’ll learn more and more so just be sure you continue to keep really good records (I know you will).
I don’t know of any specific good foods now. The highest carbs I used for Gracie regularly in food was 12% and I believe it was Cats in the Kitchen Pumpkin Lickin Chicken. I did try one of those Weruvas that was 19% but it was too much. Tobey and Liv eat a raw balanced diet that is really LC so that’s no help.
Yes, the MJs are a challenge because no matter how accurately you draw the dose, there could be insulin in the hub which could cause a different amount of insulin to be given from shot to shot. So even calipers don’t work the best with them.
Yes, and I see Sienne agreed that you should stay with the f1.25u and try the three drops between 40 and 50 before you reduce.
Hope you get some rest. Great job today!



The only syringe I know of that has a hub is Monoject. They are fine if the end of the needle comes into the syringe but sometimes it only comes into the hub and so insulin is also drawn into the hub. Here’s a diagram made by Ella:Can you please explain about having insulin in the hub. Doesn't this happen with all types of syringes?
I used to use BD syringes but they were so inaccurate, the plunger was always going way over the zero line. So then I read about monoject syringes and I gave them a try. They have neater-straight lines and the lines are printed dark. I have tried and wasted so much money on syringes. I can't believe how awful and inaccurate they are allowed to be. Sad
Do you have a favorite syringe that you can share with me?
I read that some members use Tiki Cat food. Are you familiar with this food? Some of them have zero carbs. Do you recommend feeding zero carbs? Yoyo is very finikey(spelling?), he probably won't eat it anyway. If he doesn't smell fancy feast, he won't touch it. I have tried foods that to me look and smell like ff, but he turns away from it.
Last question for the night......I have been giving Yoyo chicken breast and pork, total about 2 T around 2-3am. That is the time he starts to wine and cry, so I give him food and it seems to help. Not sure if he is bored, hungry or misses his best friend who passed away last November. She was my first Siamese cat and Yoyo has always been with her since he was a kitten. I know he misses her as I do too! Wow, I got off track there.....so my question is do you think that the chicken/pork can raise his BG #'s? I know there is no carb, but not sure if it somehow can alter his BG.
Enjoy the rest of your night! Thanks for all your help![]()


I use BD syringes with calipers, so ignore the markings. I can't say I like the BDs, some are overlubricated (so there's actually lube in the needle), some are underlubricated and very "sticky", and all are poorly marked...but they are definitely "usable" with calipers, allowing for consistent doses (which my Willow is responding well to). Don't have a choice of syringes in Canada. With love, Nikki



Hi, sorry I didn't respond earlier. I really think cat food is an ECID type of thing. Some like certain flavors (poultry vs beef vs lamb vs duck vs fish, etc), some like different textures (pate vs shreds vs chunks). For example, Willow isn't a fan of shreds, and many weruva foods are shredded...there are some Weruva pates which I think Willow would like, but I can't get them yet in Canada. I also have to look for low phosphorus as well as low carb, so have had to switch from fancy feast because they are very high in phosphorus. Willow used to love Wellness pate, but now they're high in phosphorus. She likes fish, but I try to keep fish meals to a minimum. Your best bet is to check out Dr Lisa's food chart to see which are appropriate carb wise, then try different textures, different flavors, etc to see what YoYo prefers. Also, that way you can pick out some high carb cans for low number situations that you're pretty sure Yoyo will eat. Good luck! Picky eaters aren't fun lol.Thank you so much for responding to my quote. I'm getting used to using the calipers, everything is an adjustment to me and I am taking it all in stride. Marje @Marje and Gracie has informed me that the syringe I am using, monojects, can have extra insulin drawn into the hub if the end of the needle doesn't come into the syringe so I will be changing syringes. I'll try the BD's
It looks like Willow started insulin just about the time Yoyo did also. I was following SLGS but I have recently changed to TR. That was one of my adjustments
Yoyo is a fan of fancy feast. Can you tell me if Willow likes eating weruva. I would like to introduce another canned food to Yoyo but he is so fussy- I don't know if I can get him to eat anything else.
![]()