3/31 Willie PMPS 165, +2~124, +3~128, +4~119, +5~119

Status
Not open for further replies.

Christie & Willie (GA)

Member Since 2010
Yesterday's Condo

Another good start! We've been at this dose for many cycles now with pretty solid results. not sure if I'm just supposed to keep him here or if I am supposed to adjust?

Willie has just finished 1st breffis and is now on top of my chest, rubbing the phone as I type. :lol: That is my cue... commencing btb cuddles!!

have a great day, everyone!
 
Re: 3/31 Willie AMPS 130

Willie sounds very cuddly today. I don't have any dosing advice but I just fattened up Simon's dose, based on advice here. Simon was staying pretty stable for 14 days on .25 dose but not alot of lower numbers like he was used to before he went on antibiotics. I'm hoping just the small increase will jump start him to some green numbers soon.

I'm sure someone will be along in a little bit to offer you better advice. Have a great day!
 
Re: 3/31 Willie AMPS 130, +2~103

I'd put dosing feedback ? in your subject line so it doesn't get missed.

Enjoy your back to bed snuggles. :mrgreen: Looking good Willie.
 
Re: 3/31 Willie AMPS 130, +2~103

Good morning guys ... lovely numbers for willie .. I agree, put dosing question in your headline, someone will be here shortly I'm sure .. hope you enjoy your BTB .. have a great day guys!
 
Re: 3/31 Willie AMPS 130, +2~103

Hi Christie & Willie,
I think Willie's spreadsheet looks really nice lately, but I can see where you might want to see more green in with the blues. You are getting close to the manufacturer's date to start a new pen of Lantus, so that might do the trick. Or you might put the drop back on and go up from skinny to regular 1 unit. Wait to see what the experts say.

Thanks for visiting us in NY and lending fur-shot support!!!

Have a fine day today,

Ella & Rusty
 
Re: 3/31 Willie AMPS 130, +2~103, +3~98

Gosh, those are really, really nice numbers! I'm curious to see what the experts tell you regarding a dose increase...
Good luck!
 
Re: 3/31 Willie AMPS 130, +2~103, +3~98

Hope you feel better soon. Hugs.

I saw in yesterdays condo that you do a brisk 5k walk. Wow. Don't think I've walked that far as long as I can remember. Impressive.
 
Re: 3/31 Willie AMPS 130, +2~103, +3~98, +3.75~86 advice?

Poor Willie. He was cross that I left this morning. Sorry kid, the bean has to keep you in your lifestyle!! :lol: :lol: I'm pleased as punch for his numbers lately and he is spending a good amount of time in the healing range. But if I need to increase, I prefer to do it tomorrow evening as I'll be around pretty much all weekend to monitor (as opposed to increasing midweek, when I'm gone all day at work). Just figured I'd see what people thought I should do. We will be starting a new pen tomorrow morning as well.

@ Karrie-- a 5K isn't nearly as bad as it seems... I promise!! :-D I am lucky... we have a very nice park near my house that is just under a 1 mile loop... and you can even do a half-mile loop as well (the park trail is essentially a big figure 8). 3 full laps and a lap around one of the halves = a 5K. Added bonus? The park is long and skinny, so if you get tired, pull a muscle, it starts pouring, etc., you are still very close to your car at all times. A few years ago, I was crazy in shape and ran all the time. I pulled a hamstring on the 5th mile of a 12 mile there and back run, and couldn't catch a bus to save my life and didn't have enough cash for a cab, so I walked the remaining 7 miles home. That sucked. Lesson learned... I always run with a preloaded bus pass and enough $$ for a cab ride home!!
 
Re: 3/31 Willie AMPS 130, +2~103, +3~98, +3.75~86 advice?

so I walked the remaining 7 miles home. That sucked. Lesson learned... I always run with a preloaded bus pass and enough $$ for a cab ride home
OUCH OUCH OUCH! Ouch.

5k may not be that much to you especially if you run 12+ miles. Wow. I really want to get fit and do a long bike ride. One of my goals is just a 50 mile. That won't be until at least next summer though. My butt won't be caught dead on a bike until it loses a pile of weight. I wish I enjoyed activity. I hate it. I have to do it as part of being well though. Not just for weight loss.
 
Re: 3/31 Willie AMPS 130, +2~103, +3~98, +3.75~86 advice?

That is great with the running and exercise. You must be in great shape! Willie's numbers are looking great, and I'll be interested in hearing what the experts say. Have a nice day.
 
Re: 3/31 Willie AMPS 130, +2~103, +3~98, +3.75~86 advice?

Hi, Christie & Willie.. wow! I had stopped by your condo a few times lately.. but had not looked at his SS.. wow! All the sudden it is turning blue & green.. which is what they do.. before :mrgreen:

Goooooooo Willie!!!
 
Re: 3/31 Willie AMPS 130, +2~103, +3~98, +3.75~86 advice?

i'll be curious too - have a great day.

ouch on the 7mile walk home! we have an undeveloped space right behind our house, probably 5 houses between - I love walking there. I think to one end and back is about 2 miles, but i should pull out the pedometer and check it again. i walk it fairly regularly just to move. my natural state of existence is in a comfy chair - not too good for me!!! :lol:
 
Re: 3/31 Willie AMPS 130, +2~103, +3~98, +3.75~86 advice?

LOL I used to be in great shape. Then came an injury, a case of mono, and life in between. Trying to get back my exercise mojo as I've got a bridesmaid dress that needs to look good by July 9th!! Spring helps tremendously! Going to start registering for 5Ks... even if I walk most of them, it's still something!! (and something that will get me out of the house early on a Saturday morning so I can still have a productive day!!).
 
Re: 3/31 Willie AMPS 130, +2~103, +3~98, +3.75~86 advice?

I tried running a few years back - set a goal and was at 25 minutes straight OOOOOH but got plantar faciitis that I let go for a year before getting physio. Now I know I never ever want to run again. A treadmill on an incline burns a good amount of calories (but is boring as heck). I'll stick to cycling. I like to sing to the cows and horses in the fields. They give me weird looks as I ride by.

Thanks for the advice on the B12 too. I really think its helping. I couldn't imagine recovering from mono. Ouch.
 
Re: 3/31 Willie PMPS 165 (fur shot?), dose advice?

Go Willie! :mrgreen: :mrgreen: :mrgreen:

All this exercise talk is making me sooooooooooooo tired. :lol: :lol: Just kidding - good for you, glad to read you are getting back out there. The park sounds really nice - wish we had something like that nearby. I live near a county park/trial system that I walk everyday. nice woodsy trail down to the shore line. It's about a 4 mile round trip thing, with options for more. I liked Karrie's cycling past the cows and the horses - now that would be nice too. anyways.... know too what an injury can do to get one off track. It's hard to get it back sometimes.

have a great evening!

Willie - dude... dunes were a blast. I am soooooooooooooooooooo glad that you made it. Off to the kitchen next. :lol: ~~ Mannie.
 
Re: 3/31 Willie PMPS 165 (fur shot?), dose advice?

Hey Christie: so I'm thunk tunk out :lol: :lol: Had to really reign in the Predator 3D....actually, I was thinking more of what the aliens on "V" really look like especially when Anna is gonna eat someone :lol: :lol: :lol: Anyhow....no advice on the dose but I will be oh so interested on what wise ones have to say.

Willie is looking superb....nice looking SS there and he's ready to ditch LTS!!

Never been much of a distance runner cause I would imagine I'd get really bored but I like short distances and sprinting. Mike and I walk the hills almost every night and I LOVE ZUMBA!!!!!
 
Re: 3/31 Willie PMPS 165 (fur shot?), dose advice?

Is your dose question an increase or a decrease? I am not an advisor as you know.. but if Willie were mine, I would be inclined to keep this dose - he is showing greens/blues, an increase could cause bounces & he has not earned a decrease. Keep in mind.. the "holding the dose phase" can last many months. However, you should follow others & not what I suggest.. I only say what I would do...

Phase 3: Holding the dose
Try to keep the cat at a dose where the BGs are in the 50 to 200 mg/dl range for as much of the day as possible. The majority of cats are actually able to achieve consistent BGs in the 50 to <100 mg/dl range with consistent dosing. A well regulated cat looks like this.

Don't let the cat go below 50 mg/dl (N.B. there are some cats that do well with BGs >=40 mg/dl and are difficult to regulate unless the dose is held at BGs in this range, but a cautious approach should be used until you are sure your cat reacts this way). 200 to 220 mg/dl is approximately the renal threshold for glucose and important for renal health and general recovery. This phase may last a long time (many months). Periodic slight adjustments are necessary in many cases.

If your cat remains in this range, testing for ketones is no longer necessary. But if your cat should, for example, develop an infection and suddenly have higher BGs as a result, start testing for ketones immediately and adjust the dose appropriately.
 
Re: 3/31 Willie PMPS 165, +2~124 dose advice?

Thanks, Nicole! That is where I was thinking we were at... I am very pleased with these numbers and the amount of time he's spending each cycle in the healing range. I just thought I'd touch base with everyone to make sure my inclination was correct. :)

Glad to see that it doesn't look like we had a furshot tonight... wouldn't that just have been my luck... after joking today about trying to do one in Ella & Rusty's condo, I come home and almost do one by accident! :shock:
 
Re: 3/31 Willie PMPS 165, +2~124 dose advice?

Hey Christie, I hope it wasn't a fur shot to break up Willie's momentum. (I'm pretty good at fur shots, as you know!!)

Your walking program sounds great. Do go out and do those running races as a walker this spring. I'm a racewalker (although I rarely do races anymore since we moved north and the snow prevents training in winter); I used to do many NYC running races as a racewalker (in addition to the official racewalking races, where there are judges on the course to disqualify you if you are breaking the rules). It's great exercise. On longer races (15K and half marathons) I enjoyed finishing before the slower runners. Actually, I found 5K to be the toughest distance because you had to go flat out for the whole time in a race. With 10K and longer you could pace yourself. So go out and have fun!

Enjoy the evening. I don't have anything to add to the topic of dose advice!

Ella
 
Re: 3/31 Willie PMPS 165, +2~124 dose advice?

I didn't know visiting this condo would be such a workout! :lol:

About dose, Willie looks good and I would probably hold this dose for 2-3 more days to see if he flattens out. He might end up needing a drop more to bring down those last few high numbers, but I would like to give him a little more time to see if the last bit of bouncing goes away on its own. Just my opinion.
 
Re: 3/31 Willie PMPS 165, +2~124, +3~128 dose advice?

Thanks, everyone! We'll hold, Libby. We're also starting a new pen in the morning, so that may help as well. After a little play time tonight, Willie is sacked out on the sofa. +4 coming in about 10 minutes.

Just watched the Grey's Anatomy musical episode. Didn't love all the numbers, but yet managed to spend most of the hour crying. I love television.
 
Re: 3/31 Willie PMPS 165, +2~124, +3~128 dose advice?

I'm with Libby.

I'm also not a big fan of holding doses overly long. Sometimes just a drop of insulin will kick things back into gear. In other words, sometimes you need to go up in dose in order for numbers to come down. Holding the dose may be fine if you know that your cat will need to be on insulin for a long time and the numbers are pretty much in a normal range. If you've tried to adjust the dose and reductions don't hold or increases drastically drop numbers, then you know your cat is on a good dose and you've achieved tight regulation. Willie's still making a go for remission.
 
Re: 3/31 Willie PMPS 165, +2~124, +3~128 dose advice?

Thanks, Sienne. Based on his SS, I had wanted to increase him back to a full 1.0 last weekend, but with family in town for 4 days and knowing I wouldn't be around to monitor like I normally would, I put it off. Then he went on this lovely streak of his, so I waited. I know I've been holding doses a bit longer than I should, but knowing that Willie can throw numbers in the 30s, I'm hesitant to increase a dose during the week when I'm not around to monitor for 8-9 hrs during the AM cycle. After realizing how long I'd held the s1.0, I figured I'd better check in with the experts! :smile: I'm also just nervous... we had a similar streak going almost exactly a month ago, then a missed shot and DST and bam, he's pushing 400s. Heck in a handbasket! I'm just so happy he's gotten himself back on track and seems to be holding cycles much better. About to poke now... we'll see!!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top