3/31 Tessie Lou AMPS 310, PMPS 259, +7 (351) ugly

Status
Not open for further replies.

tessielou

Member Since 2010
Good morning LL friends,
Well, Tessie and I thought her first new dose increase in over a month would bring her BG down last night, but instead it went up. And, nope, no fur shot. It was perfectly executed, if I do say so myself! At first I wanted to cry, :cry: then I went back and re-read the New Dose Wonkiness sticky, and I guess that's what is happening here.
To recap:
Last night's PMPS (267)
+3 (289)
+6 (311)
+10 (307)
This morning's AMPS (310)
Gave second new dose an hour ago, so we'll see what happens!

We hope all beans and kitties are having a good morning. It's overcast here today, so it's a good day to stay in and...paint the laundry room. Whoo Hoo!
 
Re: 3/31/11 Tessie Lou AMPS 310 - NDW, am I right?

Sorry for the NDW - at least you know what it is ohmygod_smile Good name for it :lol:

I bet she'll start responding to the new dose soon. Hang in there.
 
Re: 3/31/11 Tessie Lou AMPS 310 - NDW, am I right?

i want to work out with you today. forget that gym stuff and bring on the cat food lids and litter box! woo-hoo! :lol:
 
Re: 3/31/11 Tessie Lou AMPS 310 - NDW, am I right?

Looks like NDW, but dont worry it will start to show in the nexy6 cycles--3 days OR Sooner!
Tessielou needs to get used to new dose--Cant wait to see good number for her! :mrgreen:
Have a good Fursday!
 
Re: 3/31/11 Tessie Lou AMPS 310 - NDW, am I right?

Morning Sandy - it could very well be. So hang in there. When Mannie was going through a series of increases this would always happen to him. I'd hope for lower numbers, but instead they went up. In a few cycles, sometimes 6, I would see the effects of the new dose. Tessie Lou may be doing the same thing. It will come down. :-D

Have a great day today!
 
Re: 3/31/11 Tessie Lou AMPS 310 - NDW, am I right?

Good morning guys ... Sorry to hear tessie lou is suffering from NDW, but we know that generally clears out after a few cycles .. just hang in there guys .. you are doing awesome! Have a great day guys!
 
Re: 3/31/11 Tessie Lou AMPS 310 - NDW, am I right?

Thanks for the encouragement--we'll think good blue thoughts (green thoughts are still hard to wrap my head around).

Julie, glad you like my workout routine...heehee! I also should include lifting and carrying around a 17lb cat! I figure that should burn at LEAST 100 calories a day, huh? Oh, and what about bending down and fishing out cat toys from under the fridge and stove? Good for another 25 or so...
 
Re: 3/31/11 Tessie Lou AMPS 310 - NDW, am I right?

It looks like NDW to me too.

Can I encourage you to not hold on to doses for this long? If you go back to the Tight Regulation sticky, we try to evaluate a dose after 3 days (not a month+).
 
Re: 3/31/11 Tessie Lou AMPS 310 - NDW, am I right?

Hi Sienne,
Thanks for weighing in--I was pretty sure that was it, after re-reading the sticky. I'm happy to say that the vet has agreed to follow the TR Protocol, and to hold the doses for no more than 5 days now. As you know, I really wanted to be able to talk openly and honestly with her about what I was doing. So, I'm pretty stoked about having her on board. And thanks again for giving me the link to the journal article and encouraging me to share it with her. It worked!

So, Tessie had a +6 of 227 today. I'm going to do another spot check at +9 and she if she has dropped anymore.
 
Re: 3/31/11 Tessie Lou AMPS 310 - NDW, am I right?

Here's to great things! Vet on board and the protocol!!!

champis2.gif
 
Re: 3/31/11 Tessie Lou AMPS 310 - NDW, am I right?

Thanks, Karrie! Yep, we're ready to ride the roller coaster now! At least I think we are! :lol: nailbite_smile :lol:
 
Re: 3/31/11 Tessie Lou AMPS 310 - NDW, am I right?

Sandy: so glad you have the vet on board. It is frustrating to take them up and then they get NDW. Gracie just did about 3 cycles of it before she settled down. It's so hard to wait it out for at least six cycles to see what will happen.....every draw of insulin I did, I wanted to add a drop but I knew it would just be worse so I just held it, held it, held it and finally saw the numbers come down on the 4th cycle. whew........so hang in there. It does by faster than you think...catch up on your sleep :lol: :lol:
 
Re: 3/31/11 Tessie Lou AMPS 310 - NDW, am I right?

I too am so glad that your vet is on board. It can be so difficult when they are not. I think it is wonderful that you will be ale to talk to her about Tessie Lou's care.

Have a great night guys!
 
Re: 3/31/11 Tessie Lou AMPS 310 - NDW, am I right?

Sandy, you're doing fine. Don't worry if Tessie Lou doesn't come down right away: it usually takes a few cycles, as everyone has already said (but I'll say it, too!). Good news about your improved relationship with your vet. That should help your peace of mind.
Now, go back to carrying Tessie Lou around and hunting for her toys under the stove and doing all those other fun things, like painting the laundry room!!! And have a great evening,

Ella & Rusty
 
Re: 3/31/11 Tessie Lou AMPS 310 - NDW, am I right?

Marjorie, thanks for sharing that about Gracie--I didn't realize that had happened with her too. Yes, it is so very hard not to add a drop, you're reading my mind! It is so hard to watch her spend so much time in the dreadful pinks. She also doesn't seem to be feeling very well tonight, so that makes it even harder. But, I will hang on and follow the rules. I'm so glad Gracie has recovered by now! I might even take your suggestion and go to bed. Didn't get much sleep last night, as I kept thinking she would drop...

Thanks, Michelle, I'm very happy about the vet, too. She is really great, and she really cares about Tessie Lou.

Ella, thanks, I'll just keep myself busy and hopefully it will go fast!

Night guys!
 
Well, isn't this an ugly sight at +7? My poor girl is pretty listless tonight. But since no chance of hypo (!), I'm going to get a few hours of sleep now.

See ya's in the a.m. (the kind of a.m. where the sun is up) :YMSIGH:
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top