3/31 Rusty #2 AMPS 530; +3 463; +6 383; +10 267; PMPS 141 +1/2 79(need advice for PMPS, stall?)

Status
Not open for further replies.

SantaCruzSPCA

Member Since 2017
I'm starting to think we need a small dose increase, maybe just a .25 to bump it up to 4.75. I now have the 1/2 unit syringes so it's much easier to see the right dose. Yesterday looked kind of like what insulin would actually do to his numbers...high morning, drop in afternoon, back up in the evening. I know I'm missing half the data (PM) and it's probably impossible for anybody to give the green light either way.

Also, his teeth will be addressed hopefully as early as next week. Although I'm kind of nervous about the after care. I know they will probably need to pull teeth and it's going to effect his ability or willingness to eat that night and potentially the day after. Has anyone experienced not just a dental but one that required some teeth pulling?
 
I'm starting to think we need a small dose increase, maybe just a .25 to bump it up to 4.75. I now have the 1/2 unit syringes so it's much easier to see the right dose. Yesterday looked kind of like what insulin would actually do to his numbers...high morning, drop in afternoon, back up in the evening. I know I'm missing half the data (PM) and it's probably impossible for anybody to give the green light either way.

Also, his teeth will be addressed hopefully as early as next week. Although I'm kind of nervous about the after care. I know they will probably need to pull teeth and it's going to effect his ability or willingness to eat that night and potentially the day after. Has anyone experienced not just a dental but one that required some teeth pulling?
I think you can try 4.75 u. I've read about tooth extractions elsewhere on FDMB but not see where. Maybe post on the main health forum?
 
My kitty J.D. had 8 teeth pulled when he was 14? by our regular vet, and another 8 teeth (including a badly abcessed canine) when he was 18 by a veterinary dental specialist. He was eating fine both times, just fine, I thought. And afterwards. He got antibiotics and pain meds. each time afterwards.
 
Has anyone experienced not just a dental but one that required some teeth pulling?


Both my FD kitties have had teeth removed. Tuxie ( uncontrolled glucose levels) had his done when he was 14 1/2 and had 3 teeth removed. He was so excited about eating when he got home that he walked all through his dish. Of course he was still "stoned" from the meds :smuggrin:

Maxie had 8 teeth removed when she was 15 1/2 which left her with very few, since there were other teeth missing from before. She is a finicky eater but still managed to do well when she came home.

Both kitties had buprenorphine injections for the first few days to help with any pain, but overall both did well. I did find the bupe made both kitties a little "loopy" especially the first day so I made sure they couldn't get into a situation where they could hurt themselves..such as stairs.
 
Wow! I bumped the insulin by .25 this morning so I could watch today and it's steadily brought him down. However, his PMPS are too low for me to comfortably shoot. How long should I stall and I do that without feeding right? I can't stay much longer as I have to get to a dinner. Obviously won't be able to test tonight so I may skip the shot altogether to stay on the safe side...although I finally saw blue!

@Kris & Teasel @Wendy&Neko
 
Last edited:
Start by stalling 20-30 minutes, then retest and post the number. ETA: yes on withholding food.

Nice to see he can work the juice. :cool: What has he been eating today?
 
Start by stalling 20-30 minutes, then retest and post the number.

Nice to see he can work the juice. :cool: What has he been eating today?

Okay, 30 minutes will be about 5 minutes away. He's so mad I won't give him food, lol. This will be his second day on wet food only. He's eaten one 5.5 oz can of Friskies so far and will get another 2 cans for dinner/overnight.
 
I think tonight you are skipping insulin and just giving him food now. Can you stick around another 1/2 hour after he eats to make sure he's coming up?

I am also suspicious that 4.5 might be too much insulin on an all wet food diet.
 
I think tonight you are skipping insulin and just giving him food now. Can you stick around another 1/2 hour after he eats to make sure he's coming up?

I am also suspicious that 4.5 might be too much insulin on an all wet food diet.

Okay. I'll skip and feed. Unfortunately I'm already late to a dinner and can't stay. So go back to 4.5 in the morning? Or would you suggest trying 4.25. I messed it all up by not being patient enough.
 
Don't worry about not being patient enough. I think the switch to all wet food is having more of an impact. Although it's not really following SLGS, I think I'd be cautious and maybe even go to 4 units tomorrow. He'll probably see high numbers due to skipping and going lower today. But I was helping someone who went from 5.5 units to zero in 1.5 days when she removed dry food. So I err on the lower insulin when switching diet.

Make sure Rusty has lots of food available tonight, maybe even some higher carb wet if you have it. He was still going down pretty fast.
 
One problem with the Monoject syringes is that a little insulin can "hide" in the hollow cone. So you actually are giving a little more insulin than you think you are. I am struggling with this issue again now, too. Several years ago I studied this problem with the Monojects. See this Google Doc . In Rusty 2's case, it is not as much of a problem because he is getting a fairly large dose, but you should be aware of the issue when considering an increase. (In my Rusty's case, it is crucial because his dose is so tiny.)

Have a good night, Rusty 2! (you, too, Mandi)
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top