3/31 Rupert PMPS 507, +3 385,+4 329

Status
Not open for further replies.

Pip & Rupert

Member Since 2012
yesterdays exciting surf!: http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/viewtopic.php?f=9&t=67528

yesterdays numbers showied that when he DID decide to bounce he did so super fast, as fast as he went down pretty much, glad I got up at 4:30am just to chck because it's interesting to have the data that was one heck of a zoom down, with a nice sustained green, and a rocket back up! silly boy. Hopefully Mr Liver learnt a few things??? or Mr Pancreas had a bit of a rest and is ready to kick some butt now? Sad to see the massive red this morning but not at all surprised. Was hoping that perhaps at +2ish he'd start to show some action again, but not to be today. As it was I was so tired I gave him his test and shot at the usual 6am and went straight back to bed and DH let me sleep in till NOW! (10am!), he's fed the horsies, tidied the house, brought me tea and now has headed to the boat!

yesterdays insano numbers:

AMPS 460.8
+2.5 352.8
+6.5 302.4
PMPS 295.2
+2 136.8
+3 57.6
+3.75 75.6
+5 46.8
+5.3 57.6
+6 68.4
+6.5 91.8
+10.5 379.8

hoping he comes down SLOWLY today and doesn't throw the same thing at me tonight! I have a dressage competition tomorrow that I have to be at least partly awake for!!! Gave a 2.25 or as close to it as I could figure, was that okay? should I have stuck with the 2.5 a little longer, figured the dip to 46 earned a bit of a shave?. Had a bubble that I could NOT get rid of so it was less than 2.5, more than 2.25 on the plunger, with a bubble. hope to be more accurate tonight. doh!

Hope all is well in LL. Hugs to BigMac.
 
Re: 3/31 Rupert AMPS 451,+4 426<+6 495 ARGH!!

well, I guess since we explored the basement last night, today it's up on the roof, waiting for the helicopter to lift him even higher? GAHHHHHHH. I guess not unexpected given how freakishly fast he came down last night. Very furstrating. He looks fine, perhaps a little sleepy, but is 'awake' and interested in the politics of the five cat household this morning. sigh. was so hoping he wouldn't bounce quite so high from this last effort. grrr. Course, now I start wonder 'did I fur shot?', did I mess up somehow. sigh. Pretty sure the shot was good. maybe he'll start doing something a little later this afternoon, sure hope we don't hit the 500's by PMPS but it really looks like he's headed that way.

DOH! ohmygod_smile
 
Re: 3/31 Rupert AMPS 451,+4 426<+6 495,+7.5 529!!!

darn it. now at +7.5 we have bounced clear into the black...4.5 hours till next shot... should I shoot early or just assume this is just a wicked wicked bounce? He's negative for ketones (at least he was about two hours ago)...

he seems fine. sleepy of course, and sleeping on his head which seems to be a sign for him that he's not feeling THAT great. His coat loks fine and he doesn't appear dehyrdated, haven't noticed a lot of drinking or anything so am assuming this bounce is just his body overdoing it. Hope he feels better this evening, poor fella, must feel totally strange.

so... should I shoot early, and.. should I stay at the 2.5 until the bounce clears? I did the 2.25 (ish) this morning but wondering if I reduced too soon?
 
Re: 3/31 Rupert AMPS 451,+4 426<+6 495,+7.5 529!!!

Hi Pip,
I would not shoot early unless you are planning to change your shot time. He is bouncing and it is awful to see these high numbers, I know. But shooting early because his numbers are high just complicates things (overlap, changing shot times, etc).

He is getting a double whammy because of the quick drop and low numbers, most likely. If you experiment with slowing those big drops early in the cycle it is possible he may not bounce so high in the future.
 
Re: 3/31 Rupert AMPS 451,+4 426<+6 495,+7.5 529!!!

Ugh! That is ugly. This is where you pull out those patience pants. You could shoot 1/2 hour early tonight if you want but that would move up the shot time tomorrow morning. Sometimes people "shoot through the bounce" where you don't take the reduction for a cycle or maybe 2 when he is bouncing so you could have shot 2.5 this morning. My understanding is this helps reduce the bounce a bit. Although with this one, it may not have made much difference. He'll come down, just hang on.
Liz
 
Re: 3/31 Rupert AMPS 451,+4 426<+6 495,+7.5 529!!!

A couple of things...

There is a "technique" (don't know what else to call it) of "shooting through the bounce." In other words, if you have a reduction coming, rather than take the reduction immediately, if Rupert bounces like this morning, you can shoot the old dose. Ideally, holding the higher dose helps to bring the numbers back down a little more quickly. Once you see he bounce is clearing, you then take the reduction.

In looking at Rupert's SS, I'd also suggest that if you have a big bubble, rather than try to approximate the dose while taking the bubble into account, it's best to start over. In fact, sometimes you may even need to use a new syringe if you can't flick the bubbles out.
 
Re: 3/31 Rupert AMPS 451,+4 426<+6 495,+7.5 529!!!

Pip, I know those numbers look disheartening, but after those lows, this was kind of expected, yes?
Rupert will be back down, before you know it. :smile:
 
Re: 3/31 Rupert AMPS 451,+4 426<+6 495,+7.5 529!!!

thanx for the input. I do actually try to feed him at +1 and +2 and it seems that if he's gonna drop.. he just takes that big leap and I can't seem to slow it too much. I guess I should've held to the 2.5 this morning.... and so I will 2.5 tonight and be patient and wait till regular time and hope he doesn't keep me up all night! I have a feeling this huge bounce will take a day or two to clear... but as usual, trying to predict what he'll do is usually pointless! He has been known to clear these high bounces super fast....

and yes, patience patience patience. I want patience... and I WANT IT NOW!!! :lol: This is such a rollercoaster, not only for him but for me (and everyone in the same situation I'm sure).. you get so excited when you see those greens, only to be completely depressed when the black and red show up. It's like some perverted sort of gambling addition, every poke is like a deal of the next hand of blackjack!l!!!!

funny-pictures-cat-gambler-about-to-win.jpg
 
Re: 3/31 Rupert AMPS 451,+4 426<+6 495,+7.5 529!!!

:lol: :lol: :lol: It is a bit of an addiction. I think you should stick with the 2.25 for now, at least 6 cycles. Consistency is best. But as always it's your call. Rupert will get better. Zener is a bouncer too. I would say "was" but I don't want to jinx it. He is definitely much improved.
Liz
 
Re: 3/31 Rupert PMPS 507

teensy eensy drop from the 529, but that could just be meter variance. Am going to stick with the 2.5 dose tonight. Have riding lesson at 7pm, hubby home to monitor though.. I'll be back by +2.5. Somehow doubt he'll dive tonight but who knows, this fella is really unpredictable!

No ketones, having supper right now (EVO), has been sleeping most of the afternoon, but just before dinner he went out for his pee, came in, had a big clean and sat demanding pokies and supper.
 
Re: 3/31 Rupert PMPS 507, +3 385

+3 and back to pink, a slower dip.. hopefully he continues the curve down to something decent and doesn't surprise me with a big fat red tomorrow morning. Maybe I should PREDICT that he'll give me a red.. that way he won't! ha ha.

he's had a small snack of SurfNTurf and is now preening on the back of the couch. He was waiting in the field for me when I lead Harvey down to the barn from the trailer.. shot past under the fence and back to the house. He hasn't sat out there for some time so I know he's at least FEELING better even if he's swooping and diving all over the place BG wise! Also looks like I"ll get to get some sleep tonight and be ready for my competition tomorrow, first one of the season is always um.. 'entertaining'.. especially with horse of little brain Harvey!

will test just before I go to bed to see the 'trend'. Having the data is useful because it seems now that if he hasn't started shooting downwards by +3 then we are pretty safe to assume he won't do anything insane... there I go again with the predictions! ohmygod_smile

have a good evening everyone!
 
Re: 3/31 Rupert PMPS 507, +3 385

Be a little careful making assumptions. Vyktor had virtually no change between AMS (101) and +2 (94) today so I thought I'd give his little ears a rest until +6, that was until I noticed how much he ate at +4.5 (Vyktor free feeds) and decided a test was called for and got a 31 :shock: :shock: :shock:

Rupie seems to be quite unpredictable too - it's probably the Rupert Bond thing - he likes to be a man of mystery :lol: :lol:
 
Re: 3/31 Rupert PMPS 507, +3 385

Vyktor is most definitely on a mission (way to go!)! Hoping Rupie joins him soon, for now he's just gonna be the trampoline king.... love the Bond, cat of mystery thing!:

movie-lolcats-james-bond-590x350.jpg
 
+4 and even though he's still in the pink it's at least a nice gradual drop suggesting perhaps some yellow by +6ish. I won't be able to get a test then (I don't think)... hoping to see something 'interesting' (I'm keeping my predictions vague!!) for AMPS. Nighty night everyone!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top