? 3/31 Rudy AMPS 367, +2 329, +4 342, +6 371, +8 331, PMPS 387, +3 299

Status
Not open for further replies.

Jen1218

Member Since 2017
Hi,

My boy, Rudy, just started Lantus (2 units BID) on Wednesday. His numbers have consistently been higher than 300 since we switched from ProZinc (4 units BID). I'm getting a little frustrated since I haven't gotten even one semi-decent reading yet. Is this normal? I'm aware of the insulin depot, but I feel like I'm not helping him in the meantime. Just looking for a little advice/encouragement.

(If I set everything up correctly - his info and ss should be in my signature.)

Jen & Rudy
 
Last edited:
Bumping you up!
Hi Jen, you're right that the depot takes some time to fill before you see the full affects of the dose. Do you have any numbers from when he was on the Prozinc?
 
I have all of his PZ numbers in a notebook. I just started the fancy ss when he switched to Lantus. With the PZ - his PS numbers would mostly be 300-350, but they would always go lower (200ish) after the shot. (A few times his bg was actually normal.)

As long as the readings I'm getting are normal until his depot fills - I'll try to be patient, but I would kill for a reading under 300 at this point.
 
Keep posting here daily with your numbers and as you get enough data it will be easier to help you find the right dose for Rudy.
 
Thank you. I will. No one on here seemed to be alarmed that he's stayed over 300, so that gives me some relief. I'll keep going as is for now.
 
So you just switched to Lantus 2 days ago? Typically when one switches from ProZinc to Lantus it's a 1:1 ratio - so depending on what numbers you were getting, you'd keep the same dose. If you weren't getting too low at 4u on the ProZinc, then I think you're seeing these high numbers on Lantus just because you've started too low. If that's the case, there is nothing to be gained by plugging along at too low of a dose and waiting to increase it. It would be better to jump straight up to 4u and help Rudy get back on track asap.

Can you add a few lines at the top of your spreadsheet (there's a place to insert row above) of your ProZinc numbers? Even if you just add your last week's worth of data on ProZinc it would be enough for us to make some educated comments about the dose. I'll check back with you tomorrow and see if you've been able to do that. Others can also help with it, of course.

Probably the best plan is to get the data in the spreadsheet, but then also get someone with experience to look at it before you jump up in dose. There's time to do that.
 
The 2 unit dose of Lantus was what my vet prescribed to start him. Waiting for a call back from her to review his dosing.

I added his last week of ProZinc numbers to his ss. They are above Lantus numbers.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top