3/31 Prince AMPS 194. +.25.190+ 1 157.

I can't advise but are you able to stay home and monitor your kitty if the experts say to shoot? Can you retest his glucose now and see what it reads? That 194 might be a bad test.
 
Do you have an auto feeder for when you have to leave for work? I have a Cat Mate 20 (2 feeders) and others have the Pet Mate that has five auto feeders. They are great when you have to go to work (or anywhere). I even use mine at night when I don't want to get up to feed or leave treats.
 
I don’t, but most days one of my kids (20 and 16) is available to feed him at various times.
You might want to think about the auto feeder. You will learn there are certain, estimated times that it is best to provide food and that there are certain times when you should not i.e. two hours before and insulin shot or after around +7 (whenever your cat's nadir is). Of course, if kitty ever starts to go low you will need to feed. You also need to prepare a "hypo toolkit". There is a sticky in here that will help with that. https://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/jojo-and-bunnys-hypo-tool-box.2354/. It is a comfort for me to have that toolkit in my closet. Susie is no where being close to being hypoglycemic but the day may come when her numbers get lower and lower and I want to be fully prepared for an emergency. If you look at the Lantus forum, in the beginning, you will see a lot of "Sticky" notes. The information in these notes is invaluable and you should take the time to read them. I even printed them out and have them in a notebook to reference whenever I have a question. Good luck with your pretty Prince. Love the picture!
 
My daughter maybe. My son is way too squeamish. I’m lucky I work 10 minutes away and usually most days have the flexibility to work from home at least part of the day if needed

That's great. I think by +4 if not +2, you should usually have an idea of what the cycle is going to be like.
I don't know what your shot times are, but any room to advance that so you can get some tests before heading to work?

ETA: Since you stalled 30 mins and shot at 175, your AMPS is 175. A half hour delay a day is okay, so you can shoot at your usual time tonight.
 
+4 is 231. Should it be safe for me to head to work if I leave food for the kids to give him? My shot times are 6am and 6 pm so that way I can usually get a +2 in the morning. Those times work best for us right now. This morning’s shot was delayed by closer to 45 minutes. Should I push his PM shot ahead 15- 30 minutes?
 
Yes, safe to leave him and head to work :-)

You can move his PM shot ahead 30 mins. That is, you can shoot 11.5 hours from your AM shot.
 
Back
Top