Ozzy Pawzbourne
Member Since 2016
Dangit! Ozzy is at it again! Went to family's house for over nighter and Ozzy missed 2 shots (dinner yesterday and breakfast today). We came home and put down some food for pm meal and Ozzy wouldn't eat. His preshot number was 198 after missing 2 shots which was much lower than we expected given his missed shots and lately he has been running in the 250s preshot. I pulled out my Nova Max ketone meter and he tested at 1.3 on the meter. I think that after he hits 2 on the ketone meter is when we are in trouble. So we are close :-/
This happened 2 months ago when I was in hospital having my baby. The difference this time is that he started developing ketones quickly (in only 1 day), and more concerningly last time he was still eating. We gave him 1 unit at his PM shot time and I really wish we would've given him a little more (1+ - 1.25u) but i didnt know he wasnt going to eat or would have ketones already.
We put down meals in the auto feeder when we were gone and one meal was the young again zero carb, the rest were all low carb meat. We used the YA zero because its hot here in CA today and even a frozen food biscuit would have been a little funky left out for 24 hrs on hot day. We have a camera set up in the kitchen and I saw Ozzy eat both his portion of the YA and his brother Figgie's portion.
So what do we do now??? I tried to take him back to his food bowl an hour after his shot and he still didnt eat. I know the insulin hasnt kicked in yet. I know Ozzy ate yesterday and today but maybe just stopped eating during this last meal or two (they get 6 small meals a day). I know not eating with ketones and no insulin will lead my already super prone DKA kitty back into DKA so i want to be careful here. Do we need to syringe feed him? If so, when? Tonight? Tomorrow? He got his insulin 1 hr ago...can i top him off with .25U given the situation?
We.keep Ozzy's numbers on a notepad- I have been awful about updating the online SS due to just being pregnant and having a 7 week old baby. Here are his recent numbers below. I can't believe we are here again!!! I feel like I am never going to be able to leave my house without this happening!! Could stress be a factor? I think Ozzy has separation anxiety when I leave and we do have new baby.
3/17
730a 263, 1u+
730p 243 1u+
3/18
730a 265, 1u+
pm- hubby forgot to log numbers, 1u+
3/19
730a 273, 1u+
730p 254, 1u+
3/20
8a 253, 1u+
730p 246, 1u+
3/21
715a 248, 1u+
pm-hubby forgot to log number, 1u+
3/22
730a 248, 1u+
7p 234, 1u+
3/23
730a 102, 1u
942a 102
109p 187
639p 252, 1u+
3/24
7a 234, 1u+
630p 212, 1u
3/25
730a 240, 1u+
645p 268, 1u+
3/26
645a 297, 1u+
pm- forgot to log number
3/27
715a 218, 1u+
643p 257, 1u+
3/28
755a 217, 1u+
7p 247, 1u+
3/29
714a 212, 1u+
714p 266, 1u+
3/30
745a 242, 1u+
pm- SKIP OUT OF TOWN
3/31
am - SKIP OUT OF TOWN
733p 198, 1u
830p 238
830p- KETONES 1.3
This happened 2 months ago when I was in hospital having my baby. The difference this time is that he started developing ketones quickly (in only 1 day), and more concerningly last time he was still eating. We gave him 1 unit at his PM shot time and I really wish we would've given him a little more (1+ - 1.25u) but i didnt know he wasnt going to eat or would have ketones already.
We put down meals in the auto feeder when we were gone and one meal was the young again zero carb, the rest were all low carb meat. We used the YA zero because its hot here in CA today and even a frozen food biscuit would have been a little funky left out for 24 hrs on hot day. We have a camera set up in the kitchen and I saw Ozzy eat both his portion of the YA and his brother Figgie's portion.
So what do we do now??? I tried to take him back to his food bowl an hour after his shot and he still didnt eat. I know the insulin hasnt kicked in yet. I know Ozzy ate yesterday and today but maybe just stopped eating during this last meal or two (they get 6 small meals a day). I know not eating with ketones and no insulin will lead my already super prone DKA kitty back into DKA so i want to be careful here. Do we need to syringe feed him? If so, when? Tonight? Tomorrow? He got his insulin 1 hr ago...can i top him off with .25U given the situation?
We.keep Ozzy's numbers on a notepad- I have been awful about updating the online SS due to just being pregnant and having a 7 week old baby. Here are his recent numbers below. I can't believe we are here again!!! I feel like I am never going to be able to leave my house without this happening!! Could stress be a factor? I think Ozzy has separation anxiety when I leave and we do have new baby.
3/17
730a 263, 1u+
730p 243 1u+
3/18
730a 265, 1u+
pm- hubby forgot to log numbers, 1u+
3/19
730a 273, 1u+
730p 254, 1u+
3/20
8a 253, 1u+
730p 246, 1u+
3/21
715a 248, 1u+
pm-hubby forgot to log number, 1u+
3/22
730a 248, 1u+
7p 234, 1u+
3/23
730a 102, 1u
942a 102
109p 187
639p 252, 1u+
3/24
7a 234, 1u+
630p 212, 1u
3/25
730a 240, 1u+
645p 268, 1u+
3/26
645a 297, 1u+
pm- forgot to log number
3/27
715a 218, 1u+
643p 257, 1u+
3/28
755a 217, 1u+
7p 247, 1u+
3/29
714a 212, 1u+
714p 266, 1u+
3/30
745a 242, 1u+
pm- SKIP OUT OF TOWN
3/31
am - SKIP OUT OF TOWN
733p 198, 1u
830p 238
830p- KETONES 1.3


