3/31 Oscar amps 222 +5 182 - and the dose slinky returns

Status
Not open for further replies.

Kelly & Oscar

Member Since 2010
Well no more going down the dose ladder - it was a slow climb down this time too cat(2)_steam

With each insulin we get to the point I call the dose slinky - we lower the dose due to low numbers and then at an undetermined point his body decides it is no longer good enough and he wants more insulin, so we gradually raise until we have to bring the dose back down again due to numbers. Rinse and Repeat ohmygod_smile

He has started eating more. Sometimes it still takes a chicken treat - and half the time he will end up eating the food and leaving the chicken treat on top :lol: I am sure more food has something to do with it, but he was eating well while we were visiting my parents and he took a nose dive one night. (3/25/11)

I know it isn't kosher, but I upped him today from a skinny 0.5u to a full 0.5u after only 2 days at the s0.5u dose. Mostly because he had his first yellow preshot this morning, and also because it is such an infinitesimal change that I figured it would be ok.

All in all, he is still on a much lower dose than he was on the Lantus. I just hope he doesn't climb up too much more in the dose before we get good numbers again :roll:
 
Kelly & Oscar said:
Well no more going down the dose ladder - it was a slow climb down this time too cat(2)_steam

With each insulin we get to the point I call the dose slinky - we lower the dose due to low numbers and then at an undetermined point his body decides it is no longer good enough and he wants more insulin, so we gradually raise until we have to bring the dose back down again due to numbers. Rinse and Repeat ohmygod_smile

He has started eating more. Sometimes it still takes a chicken treat - and half the time he will end up eating the food and leaving the chicken treat on top :lol: I am sure more food has something to do with it, but he was eating well while we were visiting my parents and he took a nose dive one night. (3/25/11)

I know it isn't kosher, but I upped him today from a skinny 0.5u to a full 0.5u after only 2 days at the s0.5u dose. Mostly because he had his first yellow preshot this morning, and also because it is such an infinitesimal change that I figured it would be ok.

All in all, he is still on a much lower dose than he was on the Lantus. I just hope he doesn't climb up too much more in the dose before we get good numbers again :roll:

It's a really interesting chart... great numbers. The only comment I have is that by the time you get to sub .75u dosing and you get to those points where you feel you need to reduce, or can safely reduce, I would not go down by .25 anymore, but by .1u or so, easing it so that his systems won't notice the percentage drop. Taking it down too fast, esp from .5 to .25, which is a 50% reduction, risks getting the reverb and giving the slinky a push -- I'm sure you know all this anyway, but thought it might be worth commenting.
 
yeah, smaller changes - each way - at this point. Also, ECID, but I reduced Jeddie by .1u (from .7u to .6u) on a low PS and it took two days before the numbers recovered. I don't know it if was a bounce or reduced shed or first one compounded by the other, but patience in waiting it out pays off with him.
 
Once we got to 0.5u we started going down by as close to tenths as we could. We went to a skinny 0.5u (plunger on the skinny side of the line). He took a nose dive on that, so we went to 0.25u. Once the skinny 0.5u was out of his system (after 2 cycles) we started seeing mid to upper 100s pretty consistently and then he went to yellows. I tried to take it down as slow as I though I could accurately measure. It does no good to go from 0.5u to 0.4u if you can't measure the same dose more than once. So we went from 0.5u to something in between 0.5 and 0.25u and then to 0.25u.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top