3/31 Niko AMPS 194, +1 160, +2 121, +3 70, +4 79, +5 66, +6 45, 15 min after HC 100, +7 101, +8 101

Niko's Mom

Member
Prev: https://felinediabetes.com/FDMB/thr...3-6-86-big-drop-question.299625/#post-3259115

Well, Niko is pretty consistent lol... we have another high blue PS today after having a nasty bounce last night (not for long though).

Let's see if he dips down to the greens -- I am feeding him now before insulin and have set his automatic feeder to dispense snacks at +1, +2, +3, and then +7 and +9 after his nadir has come and gone. I'll be home to monitor thankfully.

Happy Monday, everyone!
 
Nice :cool:

Is there a reason you’re feeding the +7 and +9 snacks? I’ve seen it talked about here about avoiding feeding after the nadir. Sorry if you’ve answered this before…

To be honest... I don't have a reason lol my automatic feeder just has 5 'slots'. Should I just leave those empty after his +3? His nadir is pretty early so I worry he gets hungry until his next PS.
 
To be honest... I don't have a reason lol my automatic feeder just has 5 'slots'. Should I just leave those empty after his +3? His nadir is pretty early so I worry he gets hungry until his next PS.
I think the logic is he’s already on the way up at that point with insulin wearing off that feeding adds to that momentum. We fed up until +5 or +6 usually, but let’s see what others think.
 
I feel the same way Tim does about feeding .
You really don't want to feed after nadir because it shortens the duration of Lantus . Of course if Niko is dropping really low then you will need to feed him to bring his BG up to a safe number

Found this posted by one of our members
We usually intervene with HC when numbers drop below 50 (on a human meter). Later in the cycle, the insulin action is not as strong and LC is enough to keep them surfing. Sometimes when you need to slow then down early in the cycle, MC is fine. Itall depends on how carb sensitive your cat is and when in the cycle you are intervening.

Feeding carbs late in the cycle can cut short duration and cause numbers to go up.
 
Last edited:
I think the logic is he’s already on the way up at that point with insulin wearing off that feeding adds to that momentum. We fed up until +5 or +6 usually, but let’s see what others think.


I feel the same way Tim does about feeding .
You really don't want to feed after nadir because it shortens the duration of Lantus . Of course if Niko is dropping really low then you will need to feed him to bring his BG up to a safe number

Found this posted by one of our members
We usually intervene with HC when numbers drop below 50 (on a human meter). Later in the cycle, the insulin action is not as strong and LC is enough to keep them surfing. Sometimes when you need to slow then down early in the cycle, MC is fine. Itall depends on how carb sensitive your cat is and when in the cycle you are intervening.

Feeding carbs late in the cycle can cut short duration and cause numbers to go up.

Okay, that makes sense to me. So I'll probably program my feeder to dispense at +1.5, +2.5, +3.5, and +4.5, and leave empty for the fifth slot (I think, on average, his nadir doesn't happen past +5 UNLESS he is overcoming a bounce, which tends to be at night... so I could adjust accordingly).

I'll play around with this and see how his curve responds.

Thank you Diane and Tim!
 
Here you go again. :D:D See you in an hour.

79 on our main meter (closer to a high 80 on the other) at about +4 :) happy to see him flattening out here.

Side note -- since he has been low much more often now, his ears are SO cold. Now I have to warm up the rice sock for longer to warm up his ear haha, a good problem to have I guess.
 
Another gorgeous cycle!

BTW LOVE that note about you creating a monster :joyful::joyful::joyful:

LOL, thank you, the remarks row is my little reprieve for documenting the life of Niko... he really is a little gremlin (profile pic confirms it).

I will do another test at +6 but I need to step out afterwards... if he is at around 70-80 still, you think it'll be ok for me head out? it'll be for 2 hours approx.
 
LOL, thank you, the remarks row is my little reprieve for documenting the life of Niko... he really is a little gremlin (profile pic confirms it).

I will do another test at +6 but I need to step out afterwards... if he is at around 70-80 still, you think it'll be ok for me head out? it'll be for 2 hours approx.
if yesterday's cycle is any indication of how he'll do, you should be ok but see where he is at +6 then decide what to feed if anything.
 
Yes HC please! and test again in 20-30 minutes.

Congrats on the reduction!

Okay, fed him a little bit of FF HC, he is at 100 about 15 minutes after feeding. Withhold food and test in 20 again?

He seems to be pretty intuitive, was very ravenous just now wanting to eat. Otherwise acting normal (thank god)

Yay for the reduction lol, this is our first hypo... how fun....
 
THat's a huge jump. I hope for your sake he's starting a bounce but hopefully not too high.

Yep!

it is huge. I have a feeling insulin was starting to wear off around the same time we got that 45, and maybe the food sprung it into action... both meters gave us that 45 so I doubt it was faulty but maybe??
 
it is huge. I have a feeling insulin was starting to wear off around the same time we got that 45, and maybe the food sprung it into action... both meters gave us that 45 so I doubt it was faulty but maybe??
Probably a combo of both ;) But that 45 meant to feed HC until you know how carb sensitive Niko is. Now you have another point of data that at this point in the cycle, maybe MC or even higher end LC may bring him up from lime.
 
Probably a combo of both ;) But that 45 meant to feed HC until you know how carb sensitive Niko is. Now you have another point of data that at this point in the cycle, maybe MC or even higher end LC may bring him up from lime.

yep, he seems to be VERY carb sensitive. the FF I fed I think was like 15% or something, he might do well with the weruva that's 12% that I have.

good to know at least that he is fairly easy to bring up. hopefully he will hold and not bounce too crazy tonight... ill get another test in 20 to see if we are out of the woods.
 
We recommend to test hourly for two hours after feeding HC. Sometimes the numbers can go down again once the HC wears off.
 
sounds good. i updated my +7 with the 101. will test again at +8.

appreciate you walking us through this hypo. niko and i appreciate your service! :)
It was all you! One small thing, we call what happened to you today just low numbers and reserve the term "hypo" for low numbers with symptoms. Although, he did exhibit extreme hunger, I wouldn't call him hypo. Thankfully you handled his cycle beautifully!
 
It was all you! One small thing, we call what happened to you today just low numbers and reserve the term "hypo" for low numbers with symptoms. Although, he did exhibit extreme hunger, I wouldn't call him hypo. Thankfully you handled his cycle beautifully!

that makes sense, I like using 'low number' much better since he was pretty much okay and mostly asymptomatic. I think his only symptoms were the appetite and the weird sniffing on the floor and around his bowl (my guess for food). he was sleeping before then but he usually naps around this time so I didn't think anything weird of it until that 45 number.

thank you so much! so, tonight, we reduce to 2.00U moving forward?
 
Yes, the new dose going forward is 2U. You will hold this dose for at least 3 days/6cycles so that the depot can restabilize after the reduction. BGs can wobble around after a lime, so don't be surprised if you get some wonky numbers.
 
Flat at +8!!! I hope that he doesn't bounce from here. Its almost my bedtime, so I'm going to tag @Bandit's Mom to keep an eye out for your just in case you need some support (emotional only because you've got this ;)) tonight :bighug:
 
Flat at +8!!! I hope that he doesn't bounce from here. Its almost my bedtime, so I'm going to tag @Bandit's Mom to keep an eye out for your just in case you need some support (emotional only because you've got this ;)) tonight :bighug:

Haha thank you so much, have a nice rest :) he is now at 124 at almost +9, fingers crossed he doesn't skyrocket or anything but overall a good day (albeit a bit of a downward rollercoaster) for Niko!
 
Back
Top