? 3/31 Millie, Post DKA, PMPS 90, AMPS 645 (AT), Lantus. Is she bouncing?

Status
Not open for further replies.

Sylvia & Millie

Member Since 2017
Finally increased Millie's Lantus to 1.25, now I guess she's bouncing? Is the bouncing because she is getting too much insulin? Should I be going in the other direction as opposed to the increase we just gave her? I'm still trying ti grasp all of this, this numbers game is pretty crazy!

I know we need more night time shots. We're going to have just set an alarm and get up. What would be the best time to test at night; between 4-7 hours after her shot?





http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/...dose-shot-due-in-15-minutes-need-help.175559/
 
Finally increased Millie's Lantus to 1.25, now I guess she's bouncing? Is the bouncing because she is getting too much insulin? Should I be going in the other direction as opposed to the increase we just gave her? I'm still trying ti grasp all of this, this numbers game is pretty crazy!

I know we need more night time shots. We're going to have just set an alarm and get up. What would be the best time to test at night; between 4-7 hours after her shot?





http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/...dose-shot-due-in-15-minutes-need-help.175559/
Yes, definitely bouncing after that lovely green. SLGS says that warrants a dose decrease but in a post DKA kitty that rule might not apply. Let's see what the pros here have to say.
 
I was also wondering if we should follow the TR protocol, if that's better for a post DKA kitty?
I'm not sure. It involves more daily testing and more frequent dose changes if needed. The reduction BG is 50 on a human meter. The concern with a DKA kitty is that enough insulin is being given. It might help because you can increase a dose more frequently if numbers permit. One of the more experienced folks might have a better idea.
 
She's definitely bouncing from that 90. You do need to get sone tests between +4-7 at night. I would start with a +4. If she's dropping a lot I'd set another alarm for +6. I used to set my phone alarm and sleep on tge sofa until Max was done. I can't tell from your data when her nadir is. For me TR. required more tests but ECID. Max also often dropped at night. It looks like Millie has had some late nadirs during tge day too.
 
So basically I still can't make any good decisions because we still lack enough info? And in the meanwhile I need to just figure this out until that info is there.

She's drinking a lot which is unusual so I'm worried. Ketones have been negative.
 
Good ketones are negative. I'd set alarms to check at times between +4-7 to see what's going on with her. That was a huge drop that triggered the big bounce. TR would get more insulin in but only if you can test more when necessary to keep her safe. Tge drinking is from the high numbers. Do you use an auto feeder? If so that would allow you to be a bit more aggressive.
 
I was also wondering if we should follow the TR protocol, if that's better for a post DKA kitty?
Keep in mind a post DKA kitty requires care and treatment outside the guidelines of both TR and SLGS.

Being that getting and keeping enough insulin in a ketone prone kitty is very important, the guidelines for increasing and reducing the dose found in the TR protocol are more appropriate than those in SLGS. Mainly because with TR increases are made faster (reducing the chance of developing glucose toxicity and//or development of ketones) and reductions earned at a lower BG than with SLGS

I don't use an auto feeder. She is a grazer and will also let food sit for hours then eat a ton, no time schedule.
A programmable auto feeder was a life saver for us. I recommend you give it serious consideration.
We fed BK his shot time meal and then used a 5 compartment feeder, programmed to deploy a mini-meal of 1/2 the shot time meal at +4 and +8 both AM and PM cycles. Additionally we programmed the feeder to turn and offer a treat of one chunk of freeze dried chicken breast at +10 each cycle. That way a 2 hour food free window prior to shot time was maintained and we could be sure the PS number was not food influenced.

Most kitties do better with this type of controlled graze - it's easier on a pancreas, particularly a pancreas that is trying to heal.

So basically I still can't make any good decisions because we still lack enough info? And in the meanwhile I need to just figure this out until that info is there.
In this sticky you will find some really good info and strategies on how to follow TR when time for tests is limited, for whatever reasons.

 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top