3/31 Loki AMPS 18.1 (2.5 IU) +2: 13.3 / +4: 9.1 / +4.25: 6.0 / +4.5: 6.1 … +6.5: 3.6 *keeps dropping

Kris & Loki

Member Since 2024
What a sudden drop! He alerted me by peeing on a chair, which I’ve suspected is behaviour caused by a dramatic drop in BSL but I wasn’t able to catch it until now. I know he’s above 5 mmol/L but a 3-point drop in 15 minutes is way too fast, isn’t it? :/
Edit: 4.7 @ +5. Vet advs to drop dose to 2 IU.
Edit: 4.1 @ +5.75. He’s gotten a kibble top up and honey.
Edit: 3.8 @ +6
Edit: 3.9 @ +6.25
Edit: 3.6 @ +6.5
Edit: 3.3 @ +7. I’ve been giving him HC wet food between every reading for the last hour. His auto feeder is about to go off so hopefully he’ll eat that too.

Yesterday’s post: https://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/loki-61-3-4-7-decrease-pm.288266/
 
Last edited:
@Kris & Loki
Good morning Kris
A favor
Would you please post the US numbers in your subject going forward? The majority of us are in the US so doing that helps us when scanning the alerts. Thanks.
Also I see Loki dropped to 56 on 4-4 you should have reduced the next dose by 0.25 units when following SLGS

You are changing the doses to often

Hold the dose for at least a week:
  • Unless your cat won’t eat or you suspect hypoglycemia
  • Unless your kitty falls below 90 mg/dL (5 mmol/L). If kitty falls below 90 mg/dL (5 mmol/L) decrease the dose by 0.25 unit immediately.
After 1 week at a given dose perform a 12 hour curve, testing every 2 hours OR perform an 18 hour curve, testing every 3 hours. Note: Random spot checks are often helpful to "fill in the blanks" on kitty's spreadsheet.The goal is to learn how low the current dose is dropping kitty prior to making dose adjustments.
  • If nadirs are more than 150 mg/dl (8.3 mmol/L), increase the dose by 0.25 unit
  • If nadirs are between 90 (5 mmol/L) and 149 mg/dl (8.2 mmol/L), maintain the same dose
  • If nadirs are below 90 mg/dl (5mmol/L), decrease the dose by 0.25 unit
 
@Kris & Loki
Good morning Kris
A favor
Would you please post the US numbers in your subject going forward? The majority of us are in the US so doing that helps us when scanning the alerts. Thanks.
Also I see Loki dropped to 56 on 4-4 you should have reduced the next dose by 0.25 units when following SLGS

Hold the dose for at least a week:
  • Unless your cat won’t eat or you suspect hypoglycemia
  • Unless your kitty falls below 90 mg/dL (5 mmol/L). If kitty falls below 90 mg/dL (5 mmol/L) decrease the dose by 0.25 unit immediately.
After 1 week at a given dose perform a 12 hour curve, testing every 2 hours OR perform an 18 hour curve, testing every 3 hours. Note: Random spot checks are often helpful to "fill in the blanks" on kitty's spreadsheet.The goal is to learn how low the current dose is dropping kitty prior to making dose adjustments.
  • If nadirs are more than 150 mg/dl (8.3 mmol/L), increase the dose by 0.25 unit
  • If nadirs are between 90 (5 mmol/L) and 149 mg/dl (8.2 mmol/L), maintain the same dose
  • If nadirs are below 90 mg/dl (5mmol/L), decrease the dose by 0.25 unit
About 4/4, I know. He had surgery that day so that was a wonky day for his body with stress, intake, time of shot etc. I wasn’t surprised to see him low and I’m adjusting as necessary going forward.
 
Back
Top