3/31 Logan AMPS 329, +6 300, PMPS 333

Status
Not open for further replies.

Kelly & Logan

Very Active Member
Yesterday:
viewtopic.php?f=9&t=10615

Logan still isn't eating much. He didn't even wake me up last night. I gave him the Anzemet injection this morning and I also went ahead and increased his pred dose. He had really bad diarrhea yesterday so I think this is definitely a flare up and he's just feeling pretty crappy all around. He ate a FF appetizer and licked some Whiskas. I think he ate a little bit of the Whiskas - maybe 1/4 pouch. Not much. I gave him another appetizer before I left and he ate a little bit of that. Keeping our paws crossed that the extra pred and the Anzemet will get him feeling better soon.
 
Re: 3/31 Logan AMPS 329

We're hoping along with you Kelly...good that you gave him extra. Feel better Logan....
it's good that you were able to get a little something into him anyway....(((Kelly & Logan)))
 
Re: 3/31 Logan AMPS 329

Hey Kelly
Here are more hugs from Max & I and hoping the increase dose will
get Logan feeling better.
Sending lots & lots of eating vines for Logan.
 
Re: 3/31 Logan AMPS 329

Oh yeah - forgot to mention earlier that in one of my fits of rage yesterday (I'm very prone to these now!) I called up the specialty vet's office and demanded a transfer to another internist. His first available appointment is 4/12 at 10:30. The one I'm switching to has been recommended by several people (Libby - it's Dr Jaeger that your friend mentioned). My regular vet works with him fairly often and seems to like and respect him. He just became a partner so he has a vested interest in the practice succeeding. I hope he'll be more proactive and responsive when it comes to Logan's care. The regular vet agreed that things don't seem to be going well with the current internist. She doesn't understand why she won't give me back up plans since she's not very available.

DH2B said the current internist will most likely be greatly relieved to be rid of me. And I'm sure he's right about that. :lol:

I really hope the increased pred does the trick. At least I'm doing something and not just waiting around for a vet to call me back. I'm going to try and get a ketone test in at lunch when I go home. The last time we had him at this dose, he threw large ketones right away. So, that's scary! If I see ketones, the dose goes up to 7 no matter what. If it's negative and Logan eats tonight, I'll go to 7. But, if he's not eating and it's negative, I'll keep him at 6.5.
 
Re: 3/31 Logan AMPS 329, +6 300

Logan ate a few bites of FF. He seemed a little more interested today but still not feeling great. He ended up eating a whole appetizer, though. He went to the LB so I thought I was going to get a ketone test...nope, it was liquipoo instead. :sad:

I didn't see a huge improvement, but a tiny bit, so hopefully, the anzemet and pred will help.
 
Re: 3/31 Logan AMPS 329

Every little bit is an improvement! I hope he baby steps back to feeling well again. So sorry you are having to go through this with him after all you have already been through...I know it is such a worry.

I hope the new internist turns out to be a really good fit!

((Kelly and Logan)))
 
Re: 3/31 Logan AMPS 329

Sending vines for the increased pred and new nausea med to help Logan out. I think it's great that you are changing vets. A fresh set of eyes may see something the other vet has missed.
 
Re: 3/31 Logan AMPS 329

I agree with Linda...hope there is something with the new set of eyes! Just checking back to see if Logan's eating was any better. That's good that he ate the appetizer.....Please tell him we are all sending him loving good wishes that he feels better soon.
 
Logan ate about 2 1/3 appetizers tonight. Still not interested in actual food, but these are better than nothing. I think he feels a tiny bit better. I got him to purr a little - something I haven't heard in a while. So, really hoping we'll continue to see some improvement over the next day or so. He has eluded me so far for the ketones test. Hoping to get one soon, though, to be sure he's ok.
 
With everything else going on I'm sorry I don't know this - has he gotten any probiotics for his looser stools? Fortiflora, or even a human probiotic might help him firm up and feel better.
 
Good to hear that Logan's eating some things, even if they are not the regular foods, they are still something. I am hoping the meds get working soon, and those small bits of purrs turn into roaring motor boat purrs for hours on end.

I am a list fanatic; I never go to the vets without an insane list of stuff, printouts to educate them and a small list of demands. For this new internist, even though he is at the same place, I hope you put together a nice list to sum up what Logan's been through and a list of your demands which include decent explanations on each point, including also course of actions, directions for each, etc. Find out now how much time you will have with the new guy, and if it seems too short of a time, tell them to book more time for you. Despite how it may seem, I think the decent ones appreciate preparedness because it certainly saves time in the long run.

And who cares if they hate you, it's not a social club. The common interest and goal is to make Logan into a happy camper who eats well, poops well, and purrs all the time.

Here's hoping that Logan has a better day today.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top