3/31: Lando AMPS: 112. PMPS: 108, +2.5: 68. What to know about lowering portion sizes?

TankNRK

Member Since 2022
Previous Post:
https://felinediabetes.com/FDMB/thr...-small-bounce-last-night.275869/#post-3059965

Is this.... The road to regulation? Look at Lando go! We're starting to get those nice low greens even after decreasing all of a sudden! Preshots starting to become predictable as well! Lando's wanting to play and is feeling feisty! :cat: I can't believe how long we've been in the blues and greens!

Happy Friday to you all!!
 
Lando's doing great and his numbers have been consistent and low!

I usually give him 1 can of FF pate for breakfast and dinner, and little bites in between usually equating to less than 3 cans a day, but Lando... He kinda fat lol! He's a tripod so he honestly needs to be on the thinner side. He's put on some weight now after how boney he was at diagnosis. but needs to trim up a tad in terms of fat, he's gained muscle back! so now that he's getting more regulated I'm gonna try to cut back on such a large meal at breakfast/dinner times. I'm wondering how this may affect his blood sugar drops!
At dinner tonight I gave him about 2/3rds of a can instead, and mixed in some extra water (he gets a little miralax and zobaline in as well) and I just checked him at +2.5 and he's already at 68.

Would it be safe to assume that not getting as much food doesn't load him up as much for when insulin hits? I'm thinking I'll still give him a full can in the morning (when I'll be at work to be safe) and then cut back on the dinner portion since I'll be home to monitor. I don't want to artificially inflate/ deflate his numbers improperly with food and want to know if this may affect his dosage in the near future.

Thanks!
 
The size of the meal does not matter in terms of BG. A whole can at PS may be too much and might also make him too full to eat later in the cycle. You could reduce the amount you feed with the shot and add smaller meals later in the cycle. Does he get food at +1 or +2?

Have you seen this page on Dr. Lisa Pierson's website?
https://catinfo.org/feline-obesity-an-epidemic-of-fat-cats/
Got it, this is good to know! He usually gets food at +2 and +4ish on average each cycle. Up until now he's always had 1 small 3oz can each meal and about .75 of a can split between snacks throughout the day, he's a piggy so never had an issue of not getting him to eat lol. I'll check out this article today! Thank you!
 
Back
Top