3/31 Hendrick AMPS 249 +2 120 +4 45 PMPS 155 +2 128 +3.5 68

Hendrick Cuddleclaw

Member Since 2022
https://felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/3-30-hendrick-amps-303-3-149-pmps-148-2-58.261355/

This morning marks the 7th cycle on the new dose so I am unsure if dropping down to 45 this morning counts as earning a reduction or not -- we are right on the cusp of the depot reset time (I've read 4-6 cycles or 5-7)

Gave him two tsp DM Savory selects as that always bumps him up quickly.

something I have been wondering for a while...why is a thread like this called a condo?
 
The old depot is most definitely out of the picture. We usually wait 4 cycles to take another reduction with TR.
Congrats! :)

wow I certainly wasn't expecting another reducie so soon! And during a day cycle no less!! Definitely didn't expect that. Down to 2.25u we go for the next shot.


first place I looked before asking but it does not offer any explanation, sadly.
 
so a vet from Mark's Marine, Alvin, just explained to me in detail that Basaglr is identical, at a molecular level, to Lantus. Both are insulin glargine, in fact in Canada they automatically dispense Basaglar when someone is prescribed Lantus. He said Hendrick will not notice the slightest difference.


Lantus solostar pens are backordered 6+ weeks at Mark's Marine so it's either use the Basaglar when it arrives or buy a Lantus pen locally. I might just go ahead and use the Basaglar. Alvin pointed out, if we are confident home BG testers it is easy to see if the Basaglar is working as expected. And we are. So there's that.
 
Last edited:
It's Mark's Marine - they are a bricks and mortar shop about 30 minutes drive from me. But they are right, in BC, people get Basaglar by default, so it's easier to get.
 
Have you looked into buying Semglee in the US itself? I believe it's cheaper or comparable to buying from Canada and you needn't worry about too warm or too cold weather affecting the insulin in transit. Semglee is also insulin glargine.
 
Have you looked into buying Semglee in the US itself? I believe it's cheaper or comparable to buying from Canada and you needn't worry about too warm or too cold weather affecting the insulin in transit. Semglee is also insulin glargine.

I tried to get Semglee when we first started, but no luck in AZ. We ended up getting Lantus at Walgreens with a GoodRx discount.
 
Back
Top