? 3/31 - Gen, AMPS 324, +2 223, +5 99, +7 113, +10 >400 - meal schedule changes

Allie & Gen

Member Since 2025
Saturday

Hello friends! I hope you've all been having a pleasant, calm final few days of March, with smoothly-and safely-surfing kitties!

I had a pleasantly busy couple of days mostly away from computers, but I'm back. Did an increase this morning, because after 8 cycles on the last dose Gen was seeing a whole lot of pink, no blue for two days, and no greens at all. 😮‍💨 We also had more Libre shenanigans over the weekend, with a sensor ending early; fortunately, my two free replacements from Abbott had just arrived, but unfortunately, the first of the two completely failed to start working due to a misapplication on my part. Ugh. Also, Abbott has finally asked me to send back some of the failed sensors ... but I had thrown the ones I reported out, because I thought they'd inform me of this requirement before sending the replacements! Whoops. So I guess I'll send them these most recent two and hope that's okay.

Gen's not having an easy time adjusting to his new meal schedule; he's only eating about half his food right now, not because he doesn't have an appetite, but because he doesn't eat it fast enough. (I often extend the 4 hours that the PetLibro gives to 6, but he's used to 12.) I don't know if anyone else has experience transitioning a cat from freely grazing to more scheduled/shorter meals? He's underweight as it is, so I'm concerned about him not eating enough, but I also think it's better for him not to eat during the back half of his insulin cycles.

That's about it ... he continues to be a pretty happy boy overall. I wonder, do you ever think that your cat reflects your mood a bit? Gen gets so relaxed and happy when my partner visits; he definitely likes them, but I think it may also have something to do with how relaxed and happy they make me, if that makes sense.

Of course, a happy Gen isn't necessarily a well behaved Gen. 😼 My partner left the birthday cake they'd made from scratch unattended for maybe two minutes and came back to find Gen having a sneaky lick of the frosting! No harm was done; we just wiped off the affected area and reapplied some fresh frosting, and I didn't notice his BG spiking any more than it already has been after, but jeez. He's generally been waaaay more interested when I'm cooking with cheese lately, too, and I have to keep an eye on him lest he jump up on the counter to lick up any fallen crumbles. I guess it's something I'll mention to the internalist when I write to check in with her about his progress on the budesonide.
 
"Someone licked your cake?? My goodness, who would ever do such a thing?!"

PXL_20260330_011918645.jpg
PXL_20260330_013955060.jpg
 
Last edited:
Silly Gen, that cake isn't for you!

I wish I had input on the feeding schedule. I have to let Indy free feed because if he goes too long without eating, he throws up stomach acid. :-( Hope someone has some advice for you. <3
 
I hope you had a wonderful birthday, Allie 🎂🎉🥳❤️
Your cake looks delicious 🥰

Hoping Gen will adjust to the feeder and learn when to get his snacks.
I don’t have experience with scheduling as you are trying to do but hope others will chime in.
Good job fixing the Libre situation. What a bummer when it goes awry! We do hate that 😥
Hope this one purrs along nicely for you and Gen.

You’re doing a marvelous job with him as always. Hope you have a relaxing night 🥰🐈‍⬛😻🌊🏄‍♂️
 
That’s something I’m having a problem with right now too. It’s not the Petlibro’s fault in our case. But sometimes Pookey will sleep through a snack and I can’t keep the feeder open long enough. Plus the food starts getting gross being exposed to the air for that long.

Two solutions I’ve found are I’ll have someone stop by and scoop the food from the feeder onto a plate. Just to give him more time to get there. Or if nobody is available, I’ll load up the second Petlibro and use that as a backup. If he misses food from the first feeder, I can watch him on the camera and manually open the second one.

Not perfect but gets me by occasionally when I have to be gone all day…
 
It seems Gen is chanelling his inner Nestle 🤭🙊🐈
Hopefully he didn't have too much of that icing and hopefully he'll come down nicely.
How was your birthday? Happy belated!
🥰🐾🐈‍⬛🤗✨🥳🎉🎂
 
Naughty boy 🐈‍⬛😎
(hard to be upset with him, he’s so adorable) 🥰
Too true (and unfortunately, I think he knows it)!

I hope you had a wonderful birthday, Allie 🎂🎉🥳❤️
Your cake looks delicious 🥰
Thanks, Staci. ❤️ It was so delicious ... chocolate with sour cherry preserves in the middle and a light but satsifying whipped cream frosting. (My parter used to be a chef, and sometimes they just spoil me.) Honestly, I could hardly blame Gen ...

It seems Gen is chanelling his inner Nestle 🤭🙊🐈
Hopefully he didn't have too much of that icing and hopefully he'll come down nicely.
I don't think he had much at all, his BG is just high because of the darned budesonide. But he's certainly keeping me on my toes!

How was your birthday? Happy belated!
🥰🐾🐈‍⬛🤗✨🥳🎉🎂
Aw, thank you. ❤️ It was lovely, a calm and quiet kind of birthday, with delicious treats and beloved company (human and cat).
 
That’s something I’m having a problem with right now too. It’s not the Petlibro’s fault in our case. But sometimes Pookey will sleep through a snack and I can’t keep the feeder open long enough. Plus the food starts getting gross being exposed to the air for that long.

Two solutions I’ve found are I’ll have someone stop by and scoop the food from the feeder onto a plate. Just to give him more time to get there. Or if nobody is available, I’ll load up the second Petlibro and use that as a backup. If he misses food from the first feeder, I can watch him on the camera and manually open the second one.

Not perfect but gets me by occasionally when I have to be gone all day…
See, my problem isn't really with the feeder ... I would like it if Gen would eat all his food over 4-6 hours. The whole reason I started looking at autofeeders was to facilitate that, so that he's not eating a lot after his nadir and driving his values up high and fast. Trying to flatten out his curves.

My problem is convincing him that he should eat more in a shorter period of time.

(That said, what might have worked prior to the budesonide doesn't seem to make a difference now - he's on a rocketship to the moon in the last third of his cycle even when he hasn't eaten for hours, sigh.)
 
Well, he managed a little green today, but he's back in the stratosphere hours ahead of PMPS. 😮‍💨

I guess it's no good staring at the Libre graph, wondering what exactly changed in his little body that after several hours of fairly flat BG levels, at +8 he started shooting up so rapidly that he'd gone up more than 250 points in two hours ... his last time at the feeder, according to its logs, was around +5.75, though of course it's hard to tell what quantity he eats at any given visit throughout the meal period. I don't know.

Maybe I should read up on the mechanism by which steroids affect BG. I'd feel a bit better if I could understand what was happening in a little more depth, I think. A little bit.

I emailed my update to the internist today (he's been on budesonide for two weeks as of yesterday). Hope she's able to respond fairly soon.
 
I have to lock Ember in the foster room whenever there is human food anywhere out. She makes it impossible to eat or even prep food since she gets into everything and tries to eat it!
 
I have to lock Ember in the foster room whenever there is human food anywhere out. She makes it impossible to eat or even prep food since she gets into everything and tries to eat it!
My best friend's old cat (RIP) was like that! He would jump into the sink and lick up soggy bits of food that lingered in there, even (it was pretty gross). I loved that cranky old guy, but he was an utter menace from the day she rescued him off the streets in Romania, when she was in the Peace Corps.
 
I'm glad you had a great and relaxing birthday! :)

My problem is convincing him that he should eat more in a shorter period of time.
I feel you on this one! Even at his hungriest, the size of his meals is much smaller than what i've seen other cats eat. He's always been a grazer. He is sooo lucky I work 100% remotely.
 
I've been trying for a week to get Sinver to eat from his automatic feeder and he still hasn't wanted to go. I'll have to leave him locked up and let him eat when he wants; I have no other option. :rolleyes: :facepalm:
 
Back
Top