3/31 Eleanor AMPS 271 +5 237 Question!

Status
Not open for further replies.

Julie and Eleanor (GA)

Member Since 2012
I'm wondering if Eleanor should have a dose increase, or are these higher numbers bounce from the lower numbers? I'm not comfortable with her going much lower than the 130 she had a couple days ago but surely would like to see more days with blues.

Eleanor quit eating on her own a couple weeks ago, I don't have money for a bunch of tests so my regular vet gave some medications based on the possibilities of what could be wrong, rather than just doing nothing. Metronidizol, Cyproheptadine, Cerenia, Bupronex. Did not appreciate the attitude about diabetes, online help, etc. Took to second vet who did nothing to treat her. Did bloodwork, showed nothing, had me bring in urine sample, showed crystals but nothing else. Wants to recheck urine next week. I've taken urine samples to vets before but they were always fresh. Because of Eleanor's not peeing where she should (!!) and because of that vets office hours, the sample was 16 hours old, I called and asked if it would be okay as it was refrigerated, they said yes. But I have since read two online articles stating if urine has been refrigerated or improperly handled, crystals can grow, so a diagnosis of crystals in such urine is not accurate. So I have no idea if she has crystals or not. She also has a chronic runny eye/nose problem, Cypro did nothing for that so quit giving her that (it was not helping her to be able to eat anyway) and went back to chlorpheneramine, which helps and she does feel better since that is now under control again.
The Bupronex with Pepcid AC seem to be the things helping Eleanor.
She plays and grooms, just looks ill almost everytime I offer her food. So I syringe feed.
I'm chronically ill, and now I have a "lung infection", something that happens when I get too tired. I'm totally disgusted with myself, and worried about Eleanor.
All of that is just to provide the big picture on what is going on with Eleanor.
 
Julie

I'm glad Eleanor is feeling better. From what my vets have told me, if a urine sample sits in the frig very long, it will form crystals; it can be used to determine bacteria (altho cysto is always best if that's what you are looking for) but I would probably discount a result with crystals on a sample that has sat in the frig for 16 hour. ohmygod_smile

I think you have a little room to increase her dose. She's been at this awhile; she is bouncing but she's often clearing the bounce in a couple cycles. Overall, her nadirs are greater than 150. IMHO, if she were my cat and I was doing
SLGS, I'd take her up .25u. You'll most likely see more blue and maybe some blue PSs. If you get a PS you are not comfortable with, post and ask for help....don't feed while you are stalling. If you look in my signature block, there is a link to "Dealing with Low Preshots".

Please let me know if you have any questions. Good luck with the dosecrease.
 
She also has a chronic runny eye/nose problem

Lots of cats have that. It usually is a herpes virus, which usually comes with the species.

Have you tried adding L-Lysine to her food? That helps many cats with the herpes virus. It won't hurt to add it to her food every day.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top