3/31 Eeyore AMPS 42, +1 170, +4.5 67

Status
Not open for further replies.

Melanie and Eeyore

Member Since 2014
Previous Condo

It's almost like Eeyore, or his liver rather, can hear what I type to you all! Last night I was writing how I had kept him at 2.00 units and hadn't seen the lower numbers for a few days. Sure enough he started declining though the night last night. I stayed up fairly late to monitor him and he was still in the 100's around 1 am and he had a really good dinner so I felt comfortable going to sleep. His AMPS was 42. He wasn't acting hypo at all and since I was about to feed him breakfast anyway I didn't break out the karo syrup. I wonder if he was lower in the wee hours of the morning, my thinking is probably so. I did of course then decide to lower his dose to 1.75 for this mornings shot. He gobbled up his breakfast and I made sure to check him almost exactly an hour after his AMPS and he was back up a bit to 170. I had to run some errands and felt okay leaving him since he ate a big breakfast and was at 170 (one errand included getting more test strips, so I had to go!) I returned home a few hours later and checked him (around +4.5) and he is down to 67. He is still acting normal and happy. I will be monitoring him closely throughout the day!
 
I'm glad Eeyore is acting OK....to be honest, though, I would be extremely cautious about shooting as low as a 42. Even our most experienced members won't shoot anything below 50 - myself included. I would have skipped this morning's shot. The +1 you got is a food spike, but now that he is coming back down, I would be very, very vigilant about testing.

I'd also like to see a few other eyes check out Eeyore's SS to make sure you don't need to adjust his dose down any further.
 
Amy,
I didn't realize that a number 50 or below meant not to shoot at all, I will find the protocol on low numbers and read it more carefully. I am also monitoring him each hour today.
 
Here is the link for shooting/handling low numbers:

http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/viewtopic.php?f=9&t=147

One specific little snippet from it:

The short answer is that most kitties can be shot at +12, almost regardless of the number, once you are data ready to do so. The exception is that shooting 30s or 40s is not recommended for most cats, so if the cat is less than 50 then usually the best option is to wait until they are above 50 to shoot. While you’re waiting, the shed is draining, so you want to get the insulin in as soon as it makes sense to shoot.

There is a lot more good and important info in there so please do check out the entire like....I'm at work right now so I can't elaborate. Eeyores preshot number just caught my eye (and I know he's had other very low numbers), so I've been checking on updates from you.

The number one priority is to make sure Eeyore stays safe...we worry about everyone's kitties like that!
 
Melanie - Good to see you are testing hourly after that +4.5. I'm glad you took the reduction today.

I agree with Amy about not shooting that AMPS of 42. Even the more experienced people here do not shoot a number below 50. I've even stalled when I got a 50 for a few minutes to make sure Neko was rising. When you see a low preshot like that, take a look at the Shooting and Handling Low Numbers Sticky. It lists several options when you are faced with a low preshot. Specificially it says:
The short answer is that most kitties can be shot at +12, almost regardless of the number, once you are data ready to do so. The exception is that shooting 30s or 40s is not recommended for most cats, so if the cat is less than 50 then usually the best option is to wait until they are above 50 to shoot. While you’re waiting, the shed is draining, so you want to get the insulin in as soon as it makes sense to shoot.
Your best option this morning would have been to stall for a bit, without feeding, to see if Eeyore was rising before feeding and shooting. Skipping is also an option depending on your schedule. If in doubt what to do, post and ask for help.

The low number this morning was somewhat predictable. On the night of of March 24th, Eeyore went low to 40 and then bounced and probably went low again the night of the 27th which was 5 cycles later, then bounced and 5 cycles later (last night) went low again. For safety's sake, keep Eeyores dose at 1.75 and do not increase again if you see high numbers for the next 5 cycles. I expect he'll bounce some again.

Because you kept Eeyores dose at 2.0 after that first low, you may find his depot is rather full and you'll get some nice green numbers like today. There is even the possibility he'll go under 50 in the next couple of cycles. If so, post and ask for dosing help. It could be that it's a depot influenced number or Eeyore may want another reduction. If he goes into the 30's, I'd definitely reduce by .25 again.
 
Melanie, I am replying to the question in your second post. We like to have just one post a day as otherwise it's too hard to keep track of all the cats. If you have subsequent question just add the the first post of the day.

To answer your question, please stay at the 1.75U dose. Eyesore's liver is probably reacting to the lows early this morning and bouncing. That is perfectly normal. I wouldn't be surprised if he bounces for several cycles. Be patient and keep holding the 1.75U dose unless he goes low. I know it's hard to ignore the high numbers while bouncing but he as he gets more used to green he will bounce less.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top