3/31 Doodles AMPS 365 PMPS 351 +2 375 +3 403 +4.5 389

Status
Not open for further replies.

Doodles & Karen

Member Since 2015
Doodles 3/31 Doodles is hanging in there. Decent appy, got some purrs and he's been bossing me around all morning. I don't get anything done and barley have had time to do condo visits. Our business closes for the season May 1st so that will calm things down and the new building should be done next week.

Tomorrow is our 10th wedding anniversary (yes, April Fools Day...no joke). At the very least we're going to try and go out for a few hours.

Always keeping the kitties in beans in our thoughts:bighug:
 
Doodles 3/31 Doodles is hanging in there. Decent appy, got some purrs and he's been bossing me around all morning. I don't get anything done and barley have had time to do condo visits. Our business closes for the season May 1st so that will calm things down and the new building should be done next week.

Tomorrow is our 10th wedding anniversary (yes, April Fools Day...no joke). At the very least we're going to try and go out for a few hours.

Always keeping the kitties in beans in our thoughts:bighug:
Happy Anniversary !!
Glad The Doodles is having a good day.... bossing bean around is a good sign:cat:
Nice start today:bighug:
 
Happy Anniversary. I hope you get some time out.

It sounds like Doodles is doing pretty good if he's bossing you around. Remember, our kitties don't know about all the health issues. They are just their same loving selves. Sending prayers. :bighug::bighug:
 
Hi Karen - so glad Doodles is feeling better - I also know when I hear Murphy purr when he wakes me up, the day won't be all bad
Please take time out for yourself and have a wonderful anniversary celebration with your husband - 10 years is a big deal - congratulations!
 
Don't worry about visits Karen you have more than enough to deal with at the moment :bighug::bighug::bighug: definitely a priority to get out and do something for your anniversary tomorrow - congratulations!

I'm loving that he's bossing you around :)

Go Doodles you keep that bean slave in her place :cat:
 
Congratulations on your 10th Anniversary!
I like the "bossing the bean around" stories as much as the "elevator" stories lol. I gave Boomer an elevator ride to his desk by the window this morning but told him not to get used to it lol
 
Right after his +3 I turned my head and there he was. It's been weeks since he's gotten up on any furniture. He's very vocal and sassy this morning :) My skinny little lion.
 

Attachments

  • Doodles 3_31.jpg
    Doodles 3_31.jpg
    37 KB · Views: 99
Don't get any crazy ideas Boomer and Doodles! The bean slaves don't want you to be predictable.

Happy Anniversary Karen - I hope you get out and have some fun tomorrow.
 
Awwww....LOVE the pictures and that he is obviously feeling good! Yes, the numbers are yucky, but look at the kitty, not the numbers! The kitty feels good; the numbers WILL fall into place.

Happy Anniversary!!! I hope you have a wonderful celebration planned!!
 
Happy anniversary! (We eloped and got married on a Friday the 13th and it will be 38 years this October, so so much for bad luck) :p

Sorry Doodles is so high, but its wonderful to hear he seems to feel good.
 
FYI regarding the carb and sodium count for EVO "as fed". It's a very good choice for his heart disease at .29% sodium and carbs are pretty low. Dry is not ideal but he's also eating wet. Just wanted to share.

Dear Karen,
Thanks for taking the time to contact us. We appreciate hearing from you because your feedback helps us make A BETTER WORLD FOR PETS®.
The "As fed" carbohydrate content of the EVO® Cat & Kitten Turkey and Chicken food for cats will be approximately 8.41%.
The "As fed" sodium content will be approximately 0.29%.
If you have additional questions or comments, feel free to call us at 1-800-532-7261, Monday through Friday, between the hours of 8:00 a.m. to 4:30 p.m. Central time.
Sincerely,
townsbra.png

Bradley
EVO
Consumer Relations
 
Mr. Bossy pants, please come down for the Bean. Karen, go and have a good time with DH and congrats on 10 years. I am on my second marriage too. DH would hear me tell people how much better it is the second time around. He says he can't wait. (I am his first marriage, wise a*% )
 
FYI regarding the carb and sodium count for EVO "as fed". It's a very good choice for his heart disease at .29% sodium and carbs are pretty low.
That's fantastic!
@Marje and Gracie , @Jill & Alex (GA) @Wendy&Neko

I plan to test @ +7. If he's still over 400 should I shoot .25r? This is ridiculous
My thoughts:

  • Test at +6 or +7.
  • if BG is 450 or more I'd shoot 0.5u R @ +6 or +7
  • if BG is 300 - 449, I'd shoot 0.25u R @ +6 or +7 -------> 0.25u R dropped him 101 points - from a 424 @ +6 to 323 @ PMPS on 03/28
I'd kind of like to suggest shooting a little higher dose of R @ +6 or +7 because there's tons of wiggle room, but I have a lot of respect for one of the R basics: not wanting R to cause him to drop more than 100 points... which will in all likelihood set him up for a bounce. :(


Just my thoughts...


PS -- Happy 10th Anniversary tomorrow!
I hope you're able to celebrate... at least a little bit! :)





 
I'd kind of like to suggest shooting a little higher dose of R @ +6 or +7 because there's tons of wiggle room, but I have a lot of respect for one of the R basics: not wanting R to cause him to drop more than 100 points... which will in all likelihood set him up for a bounce

Trust me I want to shoot more as well but we won't go there for reasons stated. Luckily he's in such a good mood (strange) that I saved me from burring my head in a blanket the rest of the day.

I also assume that if he's over 300 @ PMPS we'll shooting .5 R and regardless increasing him to 6u as planned.
 
Karen

Did you take the as-feds for fat, protein, and carbs and plug them into the calculator just to be sure they are as low as you think? Let me know if I can assist with that.

Looks like there is a plan for the R. Good luck and I hope he comes down some between that and the dose increase.
 
Luckily he's in such a good mood (strange) that I saved me from burring my head in a blanket the rest of the day.
Step away from the blanket. :D

Many cats appear to feel better as they get more insulin in them even if they're not yet at an optimum basal dose. I've never read anything "official" on the subject. It's just an observation based on positive comments from caregivers.
I also assume that if he's over 300 @ PMPS we'll shooting .5 R and regardless increasing him to 6u as planned.
Personally, his numbers have been so high that increasing the Lantus dose in addition to shooting 0.5u R @ PMPS doesn't concern me a whole lot if you're able to monitor.

Given Doodles' particular set of circumstances... anyone else have concerns?

 
First, a disclaimer that my head is feeling fuzzy today so take what I say knowing that. I've been trying to figure out the Doodles cycles and overlap them. It looks like his onset (back in the day before Lasix) was around +3. Nadir is really hard to tell in higher numbers, but around +6-+7. Over top of that we put the Lasix which raises numbers for a while. Are you always giving it at +2, AM and PM now, same dose? Once you've figured out what a Doodles cycle looks like, you can identify when he's going down, and when he's going up. Then you lay over top of that what you know about the R cycle (onset, nadir, duration) to avoid fast drops and to try to cut the rise off. Go easy on the R if he's going down and more if he's on his way up. I think Jill's plan does that.

On the Lantus, I agree with Jill - increase away. I too have observed when kitties start to feel better, in spite of higher numbers. It's usually a good sign. Though for the longest time, Neko's "happy zone" where she played was low pinks. :oops:
 
Once you've figured out what a Doodles cycle looks like, you can identify when he's going down, and when he's going up. Then you lay over top of that what you know about the R cycle (onset, nadir, duration) to avoid fast drops and to try to cut the rise off. Go easy on the R if he's going down and more if he's on his way up.
Exactly! :)
 
It looks like his onset (back in the day before Lasix) was around +3. Nadir is really hard to tell in higher numbers, but around +6-+7.
I tend to agree. Although his nadir many times while in green was more +4/ +5. Today once again he's just plain high and I used +7 as potential nadir based on the 296 @ +7 on 3/29. He also may be feeling better because the heart meds are working.

Go easy on the R if he's going down and more if he's on his way up. I think Jill's plan does that.
I'm still working on my comfort zone but if no one was able to respond think my gut was feeling the same parameters.
 
Question for @Sandy and Black Kitty:

I know you're getting on a plane and this may have to wait til later, but just had this thought...

When giving R as a bolus to an IAA kitty, is too big of a drop possibly causing a bounce something we need to be concerned about... or is it a null and void moot point because of the insulin auto antibodies... at least until they break?



Safe travels...


 
Good luck with 0.5 of R! ...and happy anniversary tomorrow. And, Doodles, how about giving your beans some better numbers as an anniversary gift?
 
I just asked them for the carbs & sodium "as-fed" :( It didn't change anything on the calculator with just the carbs.
It won't change. You have to have all three. But 8.76% carbs on an as fed basis seems a bit high to me. It is dependent, though, on what the others are, too.

There isn't a place for the sodium. If it's like phosphorus, the better number to get is the DMB and then you don't have to worry about conversions but I am just not sure on sodium.
 
I found the typical nutrient analysis online and calculated it for you and it's roughly 8%. The only thing that I question about their nutrient analysis is that fat, protein, carbs, fiber, ash, and moisture should add up to 100%. Obviously, you won't have moisture in dry food so the other constituents shoudl add up to 100%. Theirs don't with the numbers they show. On an as-fed basis, adding protein, fat, fiber, and ash and subtracting from 100 would give 14% carbs (as fed). I thought that perhaps they add in all the other constituents like phosphorus and sodium but when I did that, it went way over 100% before I even added carbs...and I've never seen it done that way. If I recalculate using 14% carbs, the % calories from carbs is 11%. Still not bad for dry food.
 
Still not bad for dry food
It's one of the better dry foods and I've done a lot of research. He doesn't ever pig out on it...basically nibbles so I really don't think it's a big factor in his number. All food contributes to their numbers of course. If anything by nibbling it helps keep him flat. Last night at PMPS +4 ish I gave into his demand for the night time wet food snack and he instantly went up 20pts. That's also a good thing.

Wish things were different with his food. I always tell him....if there is anything you really loved I'd give it to you. Problem is...doesn't seem to love any of it. Even the S&C is now a phase of the past....for now anyway.

Thanks for doing the extra calculation!
 
It's one of the better dry foods and I've done a lot of research. He doesn't ever pig out on it...basically nibbles so I really don't think it's a big factor in his number. All food contributes to their numbers of course. If anything by nibbling it helps keep him flat. Last night at PMPS +4 ish I gave into his demand for the night time wet food snack and he instantly went up 20pts. That's also a good thing.

Wish things were different with his food. I always tell him....if there is anything you really loved I'd give it to you. Problem is...doesn't seem to love any of it. Even the S&C is now a phase of the past....for now anyway.

Thanks for doing the extra calculation!
My philosophy when it comes to cats with other issues (e.g. CKD, IBD, etc) is that the best food for the cat is the one it will eat. If one has a diabetic cat that has no other issues and will eat canned food or will transition slowly from dry to canned food, then that's perfect.

But if the cat is not feeling well due to other health issues and is being finicky or just won't eat, you have to feed them what they will eat and deal with the diabetes in other ways. Again, that's just my philosophy and others might differ in their opinions. Another example is if you have a CKD cat that will not eat low phosphorus foods....give them what they will eat and add a binder if the P level is too high. It's a whole different ball game when they don't want to eat because of other health issues.

You're welcome. I just did it because I have an innate distrust of pet food companies and I like doing math haha.
 
Tomorrow is our 10th wedding anniversary (yes, April Fools Day...no joke). At the very least we're going to try and go out for a few hours.

Always keeping the kitties in beans in our thoughts:bighug:[/QUOTE]

HEY!!! Tomorrow is my anniversary also!!! I knew I liked you! 6 years here.
Hope Doodles gives you a nice lower day tomorrow so you can celebrate.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top