3/31 Davidson PMPS 224. +3-175, +4-177, +9.25-182

Status
Not open for further replies.

Shawna & Davidson (GA)

Member Since 2014
Morning to all and Happy Easter Wknd

Previous Condo: http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/3-30-davidson-pmps-241-3-259-6-262.193353/

Davidson was not showing any signs of being close to greens so increased him this morning to 1.5u (up .25) in hopes he can stabilize and start showing a decrease in numbers..........far too many yellows and it is what it is.....nobody has any control on how our kitties process insulin, so it's a waiting game and a long process, hopefully not to long for Davidson and many of us here..........

No changes with Davidson, he eats, pees and is normal poop........just time to let his body work.........

Happy Saturday
 
Getting closer..........will check in 30 min to see if I can catch a drop............more tests is better in this case and he's reacting well to the dosecrease.
 
Haha, Davidson does not like being on probation!! he's dropped again so just a bit more for a green!

My Vet called and is sending a client of hers who's kitty just went on insulin........I'll show her the ropes and get her on board here once she calls me and we meet.
 
Evening......
I read a post where the subject was “manipulating the curve with food”....Davidson’s ratting habits are not am and pm food, and usually his schedule is:
5-6:30 eats about 3/4- full can FF, then remove food for 2 hrs (since increased dose I keep to the 2 hr)
8:30 test, shoot and feed another 1/4 can, he nibbles and goes to sleep, test and retest depending on numbers
Noon-2pm feed another 1/4 can, he grazes all afternoon
5-6 feed 1/2 can and remove at 6:30 which is 2hrs before test/shoot time.
8:30 on test, shoot and feed but by now he’s not hungry

So I need total he eats 2-2.5 cans FF during a day

Question: will the tests I do all day be influenced it the food, and in advan of t3stign he may have nibbled here and there but it’s not like he eats a half can and then I test. If my test are reflective of the possible food spikes (I don’t think so) should I extricate his eating to 2 main times am&pm and perhaps a snack mid day?.
 
I don't think there is any reason to withhold food during the day (with the exception of the 2 hours before PS). Jill (@Jill & Alex (GA) referred to this issue several days ago in Rusty's condo. [Sorry, I can't find the link!] Davidson--like Rusty-- is a grazer and it would upset his routine and possibly his well being to restrict food to twice a day. What little influence it would have on tests at various hours during the cycle is inconsequential.
 
Last edited:
Thanks Ella,
I see many feed twice a day, perhaps cuz they work.......
Generally speaking, it is preferable to feed diabetic kitties several smaller meals and snacks throughout the day rather than 2 large meals. Many people who go to work use an auto feeder to make sure their kitties get these smaller meals. I think this is discussed in one of the "stickies".
 
Ahh, I was lucky always working from home and Davidson and I are alike - we eat all day long. Haha. I’m hoping this dose works, seemed to have some nice results this morning and came close to a green. He’s trying.
 
Well, a good day for Davidson and first time in a while he's all blue after PMPS.............Also, picked up from the Vet some Clavamox pills 62.5 mg and giving him 2 a day for a week. This will clear up the bit of URI that he's has since prior to his denatal surgery. I didn't want to give too many meds when starting insulin as he was on ABs and pain meds. Vet said at that time it was a very small URI and only heard on the exhaling and would clear up on it's own. Since still there a bit, thought it would be a good time to administer the meds since he's doing well and no more diapoo.
 
I have a probiotic and when I was giving it to him before it caused the liquipoo so I stopped and no more liquipoo. Haha. So far so good and he’s had 3 pills in total and his stomach isn’t sounding like a washing machine...not yet.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top