Tricia Cinco(GA) & Harvey
Member Since 2011
3/30 Recap:
2.5 units bid
AMPS: 277
AM+3: 194
AM+5: 159
AM+14: 222
AM+17: 321
Yesterday's Condo
I got up at 0-dark-thirty this am and gave Cinco his shot. When I first tested him, I didn't get much blood on the strip, and the reading was 573! :shock:
:shock: I was then awake! I retested and got 318. I guess I should just keep testing till I get a number I like, right? :lol: He went up at +3. I don't completely understand how the depot works, but my guess here is that it drained over the last couple of days, with the fur shot Saturday morning and last night's skipped shot, so this morning's shot went mainly to refill it - does that sound right?
Cinco seemed somewhat uncomfortable last night. He was purring, just laying there, which he never does (the purring part). So I gave him his pain meds after I fed him. This morning I found him again in the family room, where I had left him last night. He ate well and I offered water, which he drank enthusiastically. I'm thinking he's not getting enough water, as it's difficult to drink from the dispenser with the collar on, so I'm going to try to always offer a small bowl after he eats. I have to hold it for him, because otherwise when he pulls away he tips it and gets water everywhere. I may give him a round of subqs - just 50ml, later. After breakfast he was really pawing at his collar, and it dawned on me that it wasn't so much the collar that bothered him, but the fact that he couldn't wash himself after eating. So I got a warm wash cloth and washed his face and cleaned the inside of the collar as best I could. I scratched behind his ears, which he loved, and pressed the warm cloth gently against the incision (the OV said I could do that). Then I brushed him all over. He enjoyed the whole process and stayed still for it, which is unusual, so he must have really been feeling the need to be cleaned. Then he found his way to the litter box (the bigger one I brought downstairs) and (STOP reading, Rachel!) produced a nice, big poo. As he tried to turn around to get out of the box, he lost his balance and fell into the poo with his back legs!
I ran for the warm washcloth and proceeded to really tick him off by cleaning his legs and back end (ewwwwww!). All this before breakfast (mine)! Now he's passed out on the family room floor, recovering from the indignity of it all. I-) I-)
Every day is a new challenge, but we are pressing on. T minus 9 and counting (days till the collar comes off)!
I didn't get to very many condos yesterday. I will try to get to some today, but lots to do with the DH coming home just in time for bowling and the in-laws possibly staying overnight. If I don't visit yours, know I'm thinking of you!
Sending healing vines to all in need, and hugs to all their beans. :YMHUG:
2.5 units bid
AMPS: 277
AM+3: 194
AM+5: 159
AM+14: 222
AM+17: 321
Yesterday's Condo
I got up at 0-dark-thirty this am and gave Cinco his shot. When I first tested him, I didn't get much blood on the strip, and the reading was 573! :shock:
Cinco seemed somewhat uncomfortable last night. He was purring, just laying there, which he never does (the purring part). So I gave him his pain meds after I fed him. This morning I found him again in the family room, where I had left him last night. He ate well and I offered water, which he drank enthusiastically. I'm thinking he's not getting enough water, as it's difficult to drink from the dispenser with the collar on, so I'm going to try to always offer a small bowl after he eats. I have to hold it for him, because otherwise when he pulls away he tips it and gets water everywhere. I may give him a round of subqs - just 50ml, later. After breakfast he was really pawing at his collar, and it dawned on me that it wasn't so much the collar that bothered him, but the fact that he couldn't wash himself after eating. So I got a warm wash cloth and washed his face and cleaned the inside of the collar as best I could. I scratched behind his ears, which he loved, and pressed the warm cloth gently against the incision (the OV said I could do that). Then I brushed him all over. He enjoyed the whole process and stayed still for it, which is unusual, so he must have really been feeling the need to be cleaned. Then he found his way to the litter box (the bigger one I brought downstairs) and (STOP reading, Rachel!) produced a nice, big poo. As he tried to turn around to get out of the box, he lost his balance and fell into the poo with his back legs!
Every day is a new challenge, but we are pressing on. T minus 9 and counting (days till the collar comes off)!
I didn't get to very many condos yesterday. I will try to get to some today, but lots to do with the DH coming home just in time for bowling and the in-laws possibly staying overnight. If I don't visit yours, know I'm thinking of you!
Sending healing vines to all in need, and hugs to all their beans. :YMHUG: