3/31 Cinco PMPS 273 +5 218 +7 226

Status
Not open for further replies.

Tricia Cinco(GA) & Harvey

Member Since 2011
3/30 Recap:
2.5 units bid
AMPS: 277
AM+3: 194
AM+5: 159
AM+14: 222
AM+17: 321

Yesterday's Condo

I got up at 0-dark-thirty this am and gave Cinco his shot. When I first tested him, I didn't get much blood on the strip, and the reading was 573! :shock: :o :shock: I was then awake! I retested and got 318. I guess I should just keep testing till I get a number I like, right? :lol: He went up at +3. I don't completely understand how the depot works, but my guess here is that it drained over the last couple of days, with the fur shot Saturday morning and last night's skipped shot, so this morning's shot went mainly to refill it - does that sound right?

Cinco seemed somewhat uncomfortable last night. He was purring, just laying there, which he never does (the purring part). So I gave him his pain meds after I fed him. This morning I found him again in the family room, where I had left him last night. He ate well and I offered water, which he drank enthusiastically. I'm thinking he's not getting enough water, as it's difficult to drink from the dispenser with the collar on, so I'm going to try to always offer a small bowl after he eats. I have to hold it for him, because otherwise when he pulls away he tips it and gets water everywhere. I may give him a round of subqs - just 50ml, later. After breakfast he was really pawing at his collar, and it dawned on me that it wasn't so much the collar that bothered him, but the fact that he couldn't wash himself after eating. So I got a warm wash cloth and washed his face and cleaned the inside of the collar as best I could. I scratched behind his ears, which he loved, and pressed the warm cloth gently against the incision (the OV said I could do that). Then I brushed him all over. He enjoyed the whole process and stayed still for it, which is unusual, so he must have really been feeling the need to be cleaned. Then he found his way to the litter box (the bigger one I brought downstairs) and (STOP reading, Rachel!) produced a nice, big poo. As he tried to turn around to get out of the box, he lost his balance and fell into the poo with his back legs! :o I ran for the warm washcloth and proceeded to really tick him off by cleaning his legs and back end (ewwwwww!). All this before breakfast (mine)! Now he's passed out on the family room floor, recovering from the indignity of it all. I-) I-)

Every day is a new challenge, but we are pressing on. T minus 9 and counting (days till the collar comes off)! :-D

I didn't get to very many condos yesterday. I will try to get to some today, but lots to do with the DH coming home just in time for bowling and the in-laws possibly staying overnight. If I don't visit yours, know I'm thinking of you!

Sending healing vines to all in need, and hugs to all their beans. :YMHUG:
 
Re: 3/31 Cinco AMPS 318 +3 339 +6 337

I thought I got all the insulin in him, but now I'm starting to question it. I could smell some, but I thought that was because I had to squeeze off a few drops. ARGH! I can't wait till Mark gets home!!! :dizcat
 
Re: 3/31 Cinco AMPS 318 +3 339 +6 337

Cinco - pink and orange really don't go well together. How about finding some nice yellow or blue colors later today?

Sorry about that pink - but given the fur shot and miss it's not too surprising. Some of today's shot goes to the depot and some will be used. But I guess pink is better than the black you saw first. Yikes on that! Quite the waker upper. :shock:

It's so sweet that you've been playing momma cat to him and giving him a bath. I can imagine it would feel icky to go so many days without a bath with that collar on.
 
Re: 3/31 Cinco AMPS 318 +3 339 +6 337

I'm sure it was bothering him to not be able to clean himself up. I'm sure that made him feel much better. Poor Cinco falling in the poo. I hope he comes down for you soon.
 
Re: 3/31 Cinco AMPS 318 +3 339 +6 337

Oh Cinco, what a morning! I'm sorry that mama bean gave you a bath, but she was just trying to clean the POO off you ( :? :lol: :? ).

I'm glad he is doing ok today and drinking/eating, despite the "ahem" LB mishap. I can't stop reading...I had to know what happened :shock: :lol: . I wasn't eating or drinking this time, though! What a sweet thing, to wash his face. Chyna always does that after she eats, it's so smart you noticed that!

The countdown to the collar off is on! It sounds like the countdown is on for the DH to come home, too :lol: . I hope you have a great visit with the in laws, and a good night :-D
 
Re: 3/31 Cinco AMPS 318 +3 339 +6 337

Thanks, Rachel, Carla and Wendy.

I just found out I will probably have to give tonight's shot, as Mark and his parents are going to get here so late that we'll pretty much have to run right back out the door. His folks have decided to just drop him off (they'll come in and say hello) and then head on down to their home in the LA area. I think they're crazy - they drove almost 12 hours today and it's another 7 hours to their house! I know Mark probably did a great deal of the driving today, but still! :roll: So anyway, paws crossed I don't screw this one up!!

I didn't have time to do subqs today, but I do think I'll probably do them tomorrow. I gave Cinco water several times today, and the last time he drank a lot. He also made another poo deposit in the litter box! It's unusual for him to go twice in one day, and the first one was his normal size, etc. The second was about half as much. I guess he's just been eating a lot! He didn't fall this time, but he did try soooo hard to clean himself off after. I really felt badly for him, until I saw he got a little poo on the carpet! :o I need to buy stock in a company that makes carpet spot cleaner!!

Minka is still miffed that "her" litterbox was downsized - she's boycotting it in favor of the others upstairs. I guess I'll have to go to Petsmart or Petco tomorrow and get another big one! Just exactly who is running this joint, anyway??? :lol:

Well, I'd better get my raincoat out and get everything set up for Cinco's shot and everyone else's snack. Have a great night, all!
 
Re: 3/31 Cinco AMPS 318 +3 339 +6 337

You guys are doing an awesome, awesome job...I know balancing all of this has been tough, especially with DH out of town. It sounds like you are both figuring out how to work around the collar situation. You're in the single digits now as far as time left with it goes!! They do sell "kitty wipes", too, that you could try using to help with Cinco's grooming. I bet once that collar comes off he's going to spend a good 3 or 4 hours cleaning and cleaning and cleaning!

:YMHUG: :YMHUG: :YMHUG: ....each day is a day closer to no collar....you are getting there!!
 
Re: 3/31 Cinco AMPS 318 +3 339 +6 337

Hi Tricia,
Wow, you and Cinco have had quite the day. I hope that the shot tonight gets in and that there are no more poo adventures tonight.
Rusty has a wonderful scratch mat that he sometimes uses to "scoot" on after a trip to the litterbox. He likes to keep himself very clean.

Here's a link to the one we have: http://www.amazon.com/Petlinks-Scra...tiveASIN=B004MA1LU2?tag=felinediabetesfdmb-20

I hope that all will go well this evening and that your DH's parents get home safely. Try to convince them to stay over and travel in the morning!

Hugs, scritches, and counting the days with you,

Ella & Rusty
 
Re: 3/31 Cinco AMPS 318 +3 339 +6 337

You are doing an awesome job as BIC. Getting the cone off will be sooooo nice. 19 hours of driving in one day? :shock: I hope they stop at a hotel.
Liz
 
Re: 3/31 Cinco AMPS 318 +3 339 +6 337

Yes I think you understand the depot. If it's large enough, it can affect several subsequent cycles but little Cinco has a lot going on. If he has any pain or discomfort, it can raise the BG so you could possibly be seeing more than just the skipped shots. You're such a good mom to give him baths and wash his sweet face.

I hope Mark makes it home safely tonight.
 
Re: 3/31 Cinco PMPS 273 +5 218

Thank you for visiting and all the kind words, Amy, Ella, Liz and Marje.

I had everything set up for Cinco's shot when I heare a car door! Mark made it just in time! I dragged him in and made him do the honors, and it looks like it worked much better for him! He just has the touch! :-D

Amy, I do have some of the kitty wipes, and I've used them on his bum before, but this time called for something with a little more texture. When I clean his face with the washcloth, he leans into it like it really feels good. I'm sure his face is itchy, too, and that soothes it.

Ella, thanks for the link. I do have a scratch mat for Cinco, that looks similar to yours, minus the toy. I got it on a hunch after I noticed that Cinco didn't scratch on the cat trees and scratching posts we have, preferring the carpet. :o As soon as I set him on it, he knew what it was for, and even after he went blind, he would to go it and scratch and never scratched on the carpet again. Such a smart kitty! I've often thought about getting him another, so perhaps I'll order one like yours! The in-laws dropped Mark and his belongings off, used the restroom and headed out again. I couldn't talk them out of it. Mark drove a large portion of today, and my DFIL napped quite a bit, so they should be okay. I'm expecting a call confirming their safe arrival in the next hour or so.

Yeah, Liz, that was my reaction, but they were pretty insistent. They do a lot of traveling and often drive in long stretches. I'll feel better when I get that phone call, though. I'm the Official Worrier of our family! I inherited the title from my mom. :lol:

Thank, Marje. That makes me feel better. He does have a lot going on, so it always pleases me to see a lower number. He came down so nicely tonight, so maybe the depot has replenished, and the DH's expertise took care of the rest! ;-)
I just wish I had realized sooner how uncomfortable he must be, not being able to wash his face. I'm glad he enjoys it so much when I do it. He's never been a real touchy-feely kind of cat, so it's special to see him so content when I'm tending to him. At least now there's one thing I do to him that doesn't make him mad! :lol:

I helped him find the litter box before we left for bowling, and he was peeing, so I grabbed a ketone testing strip and got it in place in time. Negative! Yay! I wasn't really worried, but with all that pink I feel better knowing for sure.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top