3/31 Chi Chi AMPS 324+3.5 165+5 116+6 106+8.5 137 PMPS 218+3.5 218

Status
Not open for further replies.
Made an appt with vet for next Wed. She has never had a dental, and I'm wondering if she should have one. It worries me some:nailbiting:..but I know even at 14 she would be fine with it..I've never been told she needs one, (but they have said she has tartar and a little gingivitis) and I'm sure they would be happy to do it, but hopefully they would advise against or for depending on what is best for her. The appt is basically for blood work exam since she hasn't had any done since dx over a year now..I know.. bad momma bean:(..shes really been doing rather well and just have put it off. So I will have them look at her teeth while shes there and see what they say. They said fasting with no food or insulin, so I am taking her at 8am, and she normally gets her dose at 7:30am, so I'm sure she will be higher by the time they test. Then I will be taking civvie next. She is 6 and needs a thorough exam as well. She has a bottomless pit..ravenous constantly, and doesn't gain weight, so have no idea if that's a medical issue or not. Hopefully we get some answers to questions, and good report.
 
Interesting that they tell you to fast her. I know results are a little more accurate but since there aren't any issues I'm kind of surprised. You aren't doing the dental so next week so why no insulin? Did they say why?
 
Elise, I thought the same thing and I asked the girl on the phone why no insulin, because I never heard of that for a check up, and she said let me make sure, hold on, and came back in a few seconds and said, no insulin or food for 12 hours so they can see what her fasting glucose number is. I might just call back and ask for her Dr. to be sure, and her normal Dr. cant see her at the times that I can go, so she is seeing another Dr., which Ive had before and like. Or, I can just tfs as usual and play dumb..
 
Here's the way I see it. Will you get the most accurate numbers by fasting? Yes. Is there a chance some levels might be above the norms? Yes. That being said you aren't running a pancreatitis test or anything sensitive so I wouldn't fast her more than 4-6 hours. I most definitely would not care what her fasting BG is. I even refused a fructosamine. My vet wanted to run it simply because Max didn't have glucose in his urine and thought he might be going into remission. I knew by his numbers and being on 2.25 units at the time that he was a long way from that. This was before his dental. The way his BG rose from the skipped shot the day of the dental proved my point. Is there a chance something could come up high if you feed her and require a retest? Yes. You could feed her before you go to bed and skip breakfast since you have an 8:00 and maybe she would be fasted 8 hours. I sure would give her insulin and bring food to feed her after the test if you decide to fast. You will likely get many different opinions on this so you need to do whatever makes you comfortable. Which way are you leaning?
 
Last edited:
Well Im sure not concerned about getting an accurate bg number..I test her enough to know what she runs. If anything, I just am curious if she has any infection going on, perhaps her teeth, or the ears again, but they can just do a smear on the stuff from her ears for that, and if its her teeth, they can or should be able to tell by looking at them. Another issue is the poop, which has nothing to do with her blood, but, I'm no expert here, so who knows what might show up in blood test for poop issues?? Im really leaning on tfs as normal..
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top