3/31 amps 292,+3 361,+6 368 need dosing advice

Status
Not open for further replies.

babbie & otto

Member Since 2015
3/30 amps 479 rough week need advice

He dropped this morning by more than 100 -didnt know what to do, dont know how to dose tonight. Please look at ss and help me out . what the heck have i done wrong on posting the condo? dang
 
I don't see the drop you are talking about this morning... did you enter a number incorrectly?

From the data, it looks like yellows make him bounce back up to blacks.....

Did you shoot the 4.25 tonight as it says on your sheet?
 
I thought my 292 this morning was huge! Guess not huh? Yes, I gave him the 4.25 this evening. I was planning to hold and see what happens.
 
One of the hardest things to wrap one's head around using Lantus is that you don't change your dose based upon the high numbers, but instead you make decisions based upon the low numbers. It's a huge learning curve!

This morning when you got the 292, you should've gone ahead and given the same 4.25u dose. I'm not criticizing you, just letting you know. For now, I'd stick with the 4.25u dose for 6 cycles, starting your count with tonight's shot. Keep getting a mid-cycle test like you're doing, and then during the day cycle on Friday, after you see how low he's gone between now and then, you can evaluate the cycles between now and Friday afternoon and decide if you should hold the dose longer (you're getting nadirs under 200) or if you should increase the dose (you're getting nadirs over 200.)

I think part of his high number tonight is also coming from the reduced dose this morning.

How is Otto acting? Hang in there!
 
Thanks, I was so confused this morning and had never seen this kind of decrease. He is so happy Im home - Ive stayed home from work for 2 days to hang with him. He went outside today on his own. Big day. Feeling awesome, starving and purring all day. Thanks for asking.
 
sounds like a great report, except the starving, of course!

Think of it as making progress when you see lower numbers. When you finally start to see lower numbers because you've gotten to a good dose, you don't want to back away or he'll go right back in higher numbers. It's SUPER common for people to do that, though, until you get the hang of things. They get shocked by this lower number showing up and worry that the cat will plummet if they give the same dose at a lower number. In fact, Lantus & Lev work best at lower numbers and they'll often just have a flat cycle once you're shooting into lower numbers. Not 200's, but lower than that. You're not quite to that point yet, but you'll get there.

I'll bet he is happy to have you home. It must be so hard on you to have your DH so far away. I'd hate that, especially with pets at home.
 
Julie, since she's been at 4.25 for >8 cycles prior to this with high numbers, is she's due for an increase? What do you think?
 
I get nervous about doing any dose increases without pm cycle tests, just in case a cat's going lower at night. I don't think there are any dangerous lows just showing up at night, though, or we'd probably see some evidence of them during the day at some point. I think if Babbie can definitely get a mid-cycle test in both am and pm cycles, then it would be ok to go ahead and increase by 0.25u.
  • After 3 days (6 consecutive cycles)... if nadirs are greater than 200, but less than 300 increase the dose by 0.25 unit.

You are right that there were enough cycles before this morning's reduction to make the decision to increase.

Babbie, it's up to you.

Are you testing daily for ketones while you're working on getting to a better dose? You want to do that every day at least once.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top