3/30 TAFFY-AMPS 282/+3 99 big drop/+4 45/+20 41/+20 50/+5 54/+6 64/+7 102/+11 233/PMPS 278/+2 280

Status
Not open for further replies.
Feeding FF chunks with added gravy.
I would like to be happy about a reduction, but I am nervous, as Taffy went down fast and has iffy appy. he ate some of what I gave him, but normally he is hungrier when he drops like this. Feeling uneasy.
 
Could be unrelated, but ever since starting the new pen, Taffy's appy has been steadily declining, and now he is having this very early drop. Based on the weird way that this insulin comes out of the pen, it seems thicker or something. Maybe his drop is due to his decreased eating, but he did eat more this morning. I am wondering if this insulin is releasing differently than the previous pens that we had, for some reason. I call the pharmacist and it sounds like she will exchange for me, so I figured, why not? Better safe than sorry. BUT, then the doubter in me thinks, what if this insulin is actually the first pen that behaves like it should??? I used a new pharmacy this time and maybe they get ir fresher, or store ot more correctly or something???? Maybe Taffy should be responding like he is today, but previous pens were not as fresh???? See what I do to myself....:banghead::banghead::banghead::banghead:
 
Taffy had dipped to 41, got him to eat a little more gravy (tsp.?) and now is is back to 50. But not interested in eating more, so I am still on high alert.
 
See what I do to myself..
Yep. Lol. BTDT :bighug:

I have questioned if the food could have changed, questioned the insulin, question if I shot, if I shot fur, shot an empty syringe, questioned my sanity. Lol.

If they are willing to exchange it, I would do it. (Why not?) If it is "fresher" and "normal" than the new vile/pen should be the same.

Gizmo dropped almost 100 (from +1-+3) in two hours this morning so it does happen.
 
Last edited:
But not interested in eating more, so I am still on high alert.
When is nadir? You should be getting close. Maybe a couple drops of honey or Karo mixed with the gravy if he doesn't stay up? I sympathize with the lack of appy with low and falling numbers. Very scary.
 
When is nadir? You should be getting close. Maybe a couple drops of honey or Karo mixed with the gravy if he doesn't stay up? I sympathize with the lack of appy with low and falling numbers. Very scary.
he rarely has his nadir this early? He has no good established nadir, but tends to drop later rather than earlier.
 
So we are at approx. +5.5 = 57
still rising, but slowly
SHould I be trying to bring him up a bit higher, or riding this out?
 
you are above 50, so it depends on your comfort level....
if he'll eat a bit, you can wait an hour.... just to make sure he's surfing still and not dropping.....

i would say just because he starts out yellow doesn't mean he can't see some good action within a few hours..... I would maybe get random interval tests...
 
Man, I'm so bummed. I think that the 4lbs of organic chicken thighs I used to make a double batch of food the other night may have been no good. It smells a little sour and Taffy is just not eating it. I think I am going to have to throw it all out! I have lots of options here, and Taffy did eat some canned Nature's Variety Instinct for his evening snack. I hope he eats some at dinner.
 
I think that the 4lbs of organic chicken thighs I used to make a double batch of food the other night may have been no good. It smells a little sour and Taffy is just not eating it. I think I am going to have to throw it all out!

What a bummer!!! Better safe than sorry, but that's just a darn shame!!

OK now Taffy.....We can see you're enjoying the trampoline tonight but it's time to get off now!

You're far from the first person to think they gave a furshot and had the cat earn a reduction instead! Happens all the time!! ;)
 
Taff did eat more canned before his shot, but still not a lot. I think I'll get some fresh meat tomorrow and make more food tomorrow evening. I don't think I have time before then.

I am tempted to get some Rad Cat but I really don't like the HPP meat. A sweet woman in Laguna area is going to meet up with me next time I have to work down that way and give me some emu to try. She says her cats love it.
 
Better safe than sorry, but that's just a darn shame!!
I am honestly not too worried about the safety. I don't think it would hurt him, but it smells sour-ish so I think he won't eat it. But his appy has been declining even before this batch, so I trying to determine if it is mainly him or the foods. But, yes, I would rather be safe. Figures, since I happened to make twice as much as usual.

He is not very enthusiastic about much I am offering. Even the gravy food today. He ate enough, but I had to spoon feed. Usually he gobbles that! I'm a little worried, in general.

think they gave a furshot and had the cat earn a reduction instead! Happens all the time!!
Yup, I am pretty sure it has happened to us a few times!
 
Nice book end numbers today. Not sure I trust this PM +2 enough to head to bed, since by +3 this morning he had gone down to 99 by +3
I think I had better get a +3 tonight. I will also set alarm, but I have been not doing well with those lately, so better just to try and stay up!
 
Wow Taffy! Way to make things interesting for your mama bean!

Julie, you have been mentioning for awhile that you think Taffy has been off a little and his appy hasn't been normal. Are you considering taking him in to the vet to see if all is ok?
 
bounce.gif
 
Are you considering taking him in to the vet to see if all is ok?
I am considering, yes. But went not too long ago, last time is appy was off...can't remember date at the moment. We prob have to go to get his new Rx anyhow. Last time, his panc #s were only slightly elevated and we did Cerenia, bupe, plain foods, etc. This time seems different a little. Maybe it is just constipation, but when he is not eating much I have a hard time getting things like Miralax in him. We'll see.
 
I am considering, yes. But went not too long ago, last time is appy was off...can't remember date at the moment. We prob have to go to get his new Rx anyhow. Last time, his panc #s were only slightly elevated and we did Cerenia, bupe, plain foods, etc. This time seems different a little. Maybe it is just constipation, but when he is not eating much I have a hard time getting things like Miralax in him. We'll see.
Hope all is well. Paws crossed and prayers for your little Taffy at his next vetty visit.

I'm up having a PJ party. I'm SOOOO Tired. I need to go to bed like 3 hours ago. My kitty is now snoozing. Nice that someone is getting some zzzzsss...
 
+3 = 284
His #s are up, but have pretty much stayed flat since PMPS.
I am going to get some sleep and try to get up to do a early AM test.
Taffy sounds a bit congested, maybe he has just been fighting a kitty cold.
I have been sneezing my head off, so just took a zyrtec...off to bed!
 
About my insulin troubles, I did some research about "thick" or "hard to draw out" insulin, and it seems that it may be a negative pressure/vacuum issue, which makes sense, but I am still not sure how to correct the problem. When I draw out, the insulin is resistant to coming out, for lack of a better description. I draw back and get air, but if I just wait, the insulin slowly fills the air pocket in the syringe. One forum post (not here, a human board) said that one should introduce air into the insulin to get rid of the vacuum, but I am reluctant to do that.

Bobbie tagged me in your earlier thread about your question above. I did make the video that's on the sticky about handling your insulin and drawing up doses. Pens often seem to have that negative pressure when you first start to use one. That will go away as you get some of the insulin out of the pen. I wouldn't inject air into it - the air itself would probably be ok, but the problem is that the syringes have a lubricant in them and that would likely go into the insulin and contaminate it. If you just hang in there, and resist letting the pen pressure suck the insulin out of the syringe and back into the pen, it will get better as you use the pen. Eventually that factor goes away.

Allergy season has definitely hit. Hope you got some sleep!
 
Bobbie tagged me in your earlier thread about your question above. I did make the video that's on the sticky about handling your insulin and drawing up doses. Pens often seem to have that negative pressure when you first start to use one. That will go away as you get some of the insulin out of the pen. I wouldn't inject air into it - the air itself would probably be ok, but the problem is that the syringes have a lubricant in them and that would likely go into the insulin and contaminate it. If you just hang in there, and resist letting the pen pressure suck the insulin out of the syringe and back into the pen, it will get better as you use the pen. Eventually that factor goes away.

Allergy season has definitely hit. Hope you got some sleep!
Thanks! This is the first pen (#4) that I have experienced it behaving this way. Any estimate as to how far along in use it will stop doing this?
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top