3/30 Simon PMPS 128 +4 135

Status
Not open for further replies.

Georgia and Simon (GA)

Member Since 2010
Good morning, everyone. I am just a little frustrated about Simon's numbers. I increased is insulin slightly to a fat .25, but instead of his numbers going down a little, they are going up. What is that all about? Today was his last day on the antibiotic (yea!!), and I don't really think the baytril was causing the bg to go up, but you never know. I am going to call the vet today to ask about Simon's dental. I know he needs it done because he seems to be chewing slower, although he always finishes all his food. The vet also said that he needs it done. I am thinking that since Simon has been on the antibiotic, now would be the best time for the dental. What do y'all think? I am just real nervous about the whole dental procedure.

Well it is back to work for me today. Even though I was on vacation yesterday, I still got 4 calls from staff asking me questions. I need to go out of the country in order to not have work follow me wherever I go!

Have a great day!!
viewtopic.php?f=9&t=40020
 
Re: 3/30 Simon AMPS 145

Hope you get some good advice about the dental and good input from the vet.

Ugh I so know what you mean about having to leave the country to escape work. Hope going back is a good experience and there isn't too much catching up to do.
 
Re: 3/30 Simon AMPS 145

Hey Georgia - when I increased Maverick's dose he went up it seems for a number of days and then he started getting green preshots and lower numbers mid cycle. I looked on his spreadsheet and it was 3.5 days.

I'm getting a dental done for Maverick sooner rather than later too. I don't want to risk it if he does get closer to OTJ and then BAM. Maverick has bad breath so I know he needs it and he manoevers the food and moves his head (hard to describe).
 
Re: 3/30 Simon AMPS 145

Hi Georgia - it does sometimes take a couple of days for a new dose, especially an increase, to settle in. I expect that his BG's will start to come down soon. Whenever I take Mannie up I can expect close to three days for it to kick in.

Good luck with the dental. It will help Simon's BG overall if it is done. It's normal to be nervous, we all are, anytime our kitties go under an anesthesia. The vets do a great job of monitoring our diabetics during the whole procedure - Simon will be well taken care of. Plus - he will feel so much better once it is all done. .
 
Re: 3/30 Simon AMPS 145

Thanks, guys for your own personal experience with increasing the dose and then seeing higher numbers for a few days. That makes me feel a little better. It is only been 2 days since I increased the dose so hopefully, will see better numbers later today or tomorrow.
 
Re: 3/30 Simon AMPS 145 +87

Ok, I came home from work to test and feed Simon and what do you know, he gives me a green number! Just when I was saying that I hadn't seen green in awhile. I guess Simon wants to make me happy.
 
Re: 3/30 Simon AMPS 145 +87

cat_pet_icon good simon!

apparently he was listening to you talk about upping his dose!

when the vet called me today with the rest of the blood test results, he said he was sure punkin would've had a sore mouth with the bad teeth he had in there. of course, cats are all different, but i guess even if he'd had a hard time coming through it, i would've chosen to go ahead anyway. wouldn't want my kitter to be hurting!

you'll probably be glad to know that simon's teeth are as good as they can be.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top