3/30 Rex AMPS 416

Status
Not open for further replies.

Mandy & Rex (GA)

Member Since 2017
http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/new-here-and-not-sure-where-to-start.175350/#post-1929186

Hi again! Interesting how we need to start a new thread every day.

I asked with SLGS that we need to stay at one dose for the full 7 days. Wendy said yes because the insulin depot needs to build up.

Rex has been staying in the 400's this week. I cannot do a curve until Friday, the 7th, because I work M-Th.

My syringes only go in 0.5 increments so I don't know how to do 0.25 increments. Help! I have the U-100 ReliOn syringes - 3/10cc with 31 gauge 5/16" needles.
 
Question .. is 4 days too soon to try and do a curve?? I'm concerned that Rex is nowhere close to having normal bg at any point. However, I could try and do a curve on Sunday - 6 days.

I remember I asked before and didn't get an answer - why would someone want to do a 18 hour curve, testing every 3 hours, if insulin needs to be given at the 12 hour mark?

Why can't they make the syringes smaller - like 5 units and do 0.25 increments?? Or do they?
 
You can do the curve after four days, all data is good to have. The depot should be close to full by then. A curve over 18 hours gives you two cycles of data instead of just one. The 12 hour curve gives you more detailed data over one cycle. Both have advantages and it's OK to do one then the other.

Sorry, no good answer on the syringes. They are made for children, not cats. Some brands have narrower barrels than the others, giving slightly more room between the lines. I think the Relions are wider.
 
When you do the curve, is it imperative that it is on the 2 hour intervals? I might be 15 minutes late on one interval. Oh, and I would have to be early on another interval. :banghead: I might as well just wait.
 
No, you don't have to set alarms for the tests. Just generally around the time is good enough. Part of what you are trying to find out with the curve is when he onsets and nadirs as well. Half an hour here or there is OK.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top