3/30 Paisley vomited - worried

Status
Not open for further replies.

Lylene & Barry

Member Since 2009
Paisley has been acting fine. Blood sugars have been decreasing and her insulin has had to be reduced. She's now on 1.5u after a drop to 49 (possibly below). Yesterday 3/29, her BG was too low at 9:30am for a shot but good at 12:30pm (+15) when I got a break in a training. She got her first 1.5u dose. She ate well, FF Beef mixed with some water. Generally don't feed that variety but it's all the grocery store had.

She ate well through 3/29. I fed her at 9:30pm (+9), before we headed home, and she ate well and seemed fine.

Her 3/29 PM +6.5 jumped to 247 but her BG had dropped pretty low and it was possible she got a few pieces of dog kibble.

She vomited sometime between 10:30pm (3/29) and midnight. She did have a car ride with a couple stops and ate a variety of food she doesn't normally eat. A bit after midnight she used the litter box for BM. Beginning of stool was normal but some diarrhea at the end. No sign of blood in vomit or stool.

3/30 AMPS was 293 (12:30am) and she didn't eat much of her FF Chicken & Liver mixed with water.

Refused to eat anything after AM shot. She vomited around 12:25pm. It was clear (no bile) and foam. I noticed small pieces clotted blood and clean up showed that the liquid was tinged with blood.

3/30 AMPS +7/199, +11/166 PMPS 161 (gave .75u)
 
Re: 3/30 Paisley not eating/drinking, blood tinged vomit

I would take her right to the vet. It could be something serious. This is definitely something more than strange food.

Melanie & Racci
 
Re: 3/30 Paisley not eating/drinking, blood tinged vomit

Called her vet and they are closed for renovations this week, of course. Contacted the vet clinic we use for everyone else. Vet was given info. Not real concerned about the blood and will be calling me back to talk personally. Meantime, I'm going to run to nearest little town and get some baby food. Usually have some but must have used and not replaced. That will take about half an hour.

Having to deal with the abandoned, damaged car was really bad timing when the deputy finally arrived. But that's taken care of now. Hazards of living on a dead end road in the middle of nowhere. ohmygod_smile

Thanks
 
Re: 3/30 Paisley not eating/drinking, blood tinged vomit

Hi guys .. I'm sorry you are going through this .. I hope it is nothing serious and that little paisley starts feeling better asap!
 
Re: 3/30 Paisley not eating/drinking, blood tinged vomit

aw...sending healing vines for sweet lil Paisley!

Clematis-Paniculata-large-26630.jpg
 
Re: 3/30 Paisley not eating/drinking, blood tinged vomit

very glad you called the vet for help. great idea on the baby food. hopefully that'll help her annoyed tummy.

hugs to you and healing thoughts for paisley!


btw, since you've connected with your vet, you might want to remove the 911. it's a heart-stopper for all of us. i'm so glad you're getting help. let us know what the vet says next.
 
Re: 3/30 Paisley still not eating/drinking

Sorry for taking so long to get back and I didn't even think about taking off the 911 because I was so focused on the situation. Thanks for the reminder.

Vet called just as I was getting into town. Good timing because most of the way there's no service because of all the trees and topography. He thinks the blood is from a broken blood vessel from the force of vomiting, which makes sense. He agreed with the syringe feeding of baby food. No lectures on her treatment protocol. Only asked what type of meter I used and wanted to make sure I knew it wouldn't be accurate for a cat. I am aware of that but it's close enough and am aware of animal meters. He was fine with that.

Plan is to syringe feed and closely monitor. Call if she gets worse. I told him I'd definitely call if there was a problem.

Grocery store only carried three meats and they all had cornstarch so they could add "& gravy". Like a baby cares? Besides, it's pureed. And who puts corn in baby food anyway given it's an allergen? Gerber! Pandering to the adults. So I only got one jar of chicken & gravy. Family Dollar doesn't carry baby food. Even tried the gas station. Hope DH can find some in the "big" town. Better yet, maybe she'll start eating on her own.

I mixed in a bit of water and gave her about 18mL (6 mL syringe) before she got too agitated. Now we're not on speaking terms and she's still under the blanket I put over her to stop her from hissing, spitting and trying to bite me. She still has her attitude and that's good. Will feed her again in a few minutes. This time I'll add taurine and bit of bone meal to what I have mixed. Any suggestions for syringe feeding appreciated. I remember seeing something either here or Dr. Lisa's site. Will check out both.

Her PMPS/161, +2.5/186 I expect it will go up since she didn't get her full dose at 12:30pm.

Thanks again everyone. Very appreciated.
 
Re: 3/30 Paisley not eating/drinking, blood tinged vomit

The Gerber Stage 2 is fine. It's about 7% carb -- it may be a higher carb than what you usually feed but it's still low carb.
 
Re: 3/30 Paisley not eating/drinking, blood tinged vomit

Hi Lylene,
I'm so glad it turned out to just be a broken blood vessel. It could have been something much worse. I live in the middle of nowhere also so know what that's like especially when one of the furbabies is sick.

I don't know if this will help you but when Racci or Calli gave me a hard time with syringe feeding when they were really sick, I would burrito them and come in the side of the mouth where there's a gap in the teeth and Racci would start chewing on the syringe so I could get it in her that way. I always found hisses a great opportunity with Calli. :mrgreen: If you go in through the side it shouldn't choke her. You really don't have to give much at a time.

Sometimes they'll start eating if you sit them next to you with some very watery food and put it on your fingers and let them eat it from your fingers first but you'll have to let her calm down and forget she's mad at you first. I can usually get Racci to eat that way by sweet talking her and putting it on my fingers and putting it on her lips if she won't show any interest so she tastes it and then finger feeding. I usually try that first before the syringe. I also stir her food with my finger and keep it wet and liquidy and 'fix it' for her. When it's warm she likes it better too so I stick it in the microwave first.

Melanie & Racci
 
Re: 3/30 Paisley not eating/drinking, blood tinged vomit

Thanks for the info and suggestions and support.

Sienne, do you mean like the chicken and rice? I don't hit the baby food section much but do remember that one.

I tried finger feeding but will give it a try again. She wouldn't eat hamburger, which she normally loves especially if I "accidentally" drop a piece. It's not as much fun if I give it to her. Maybe I'll heat up the little skillet a bit and give her that. Very little fat, mostly liquid. She likes to sneak that, too. Nothing else is working.

I've gotten the syringing down pretty good but don't know how to get enough calories in her. I've added taurine and bone meal to the chicken. The jar is only 100 calories and it's still not all gone. That just isn't enough. It's been 26 hours since her last good meal and she's had less than 100 calories. I'm very worried. Her shot time is in a little over an hour so I'll feed her more then.

Update....
It helps to hit the "submit" button. I fed Paisley the rest of the jar of chicken & gravy baby food. She's had a whole whopping 100 calories in the past 24 hours. I did try to syringe some water used to rinse the jar but only got maybe 10mL in before I had to quit because she was making noises I was afraid would lead to vomiting. She has not vomited since I started the syringe feeding. DH has to be up around 4am so I'll feed her some from the second jar.
 
Re: 3/30 She just put it out both ends - Now what?

Paisley comes running into the bedroom, jumps into the litter box, squirts, jumps out and pukes. So much for the 100 calories. What's weird is that she was in her bedroom but had to come in here and do all of this. She has a box in her room and passed another on her way here. There was a very small amount of fresh blood in the stool, which doesn't surprise me much.

I haven't been able to check for ketones. Don't anticipate that happening now.

What are the symptoms of pancreatitis? This came on so suddenly, or at least seemed to.

I have no idea what to do now. The best I can come up with is to feed her a little bit, wait a bit, feed a bit.

Should I call the vet now? Wait until morning? We don't have any emergency clinics. Just calling the vet's on-call cell phone.
 
Hi, Lylene, sorry I missed you a while ago - have just read through your condo. I hope Paisley was able to keep her food down from the last feeding.
 
She kept down the food I gave her a couple hours ago. I gave her 18mL of just the chicken baby food. Gave her 12 mL last time. Hopefully this holds.

Still looking for feedback on what to do about a vet and what the symptoms of pancreatitis are.

Thanks,
Lylene & Paisley
 
Sorry that Paisley is not feeling or eating well.

Those are signs of pancreatitis... inappetence and lethargy are usually the first signs. Some kitties have diarrhea and some vomit. Those two symptoms are a little less common in cats vs dogs but from the experiences with cats on the board here, I'd say the vomiting and diarrhea are not as usual as some of the websites suggest. Pain is also a pretty common and cats tend to try to hide their struggles with pain from us. :sad: So it can be hard to recognize.

Here is a link to a post from the old message board about pancreatitis. You might find it helpful.
Jojo's Pancreatitis Discussion

Best of luck and I hope your vet can help.
 
I think she needs to see a vet. Blood in vomit and stool and vomiting with her symptoms she really should be in to see a doctor.

Most cats can handle 20-30 mls of food at a time. So maybe it was the volume. But I'm really concerned about the blood.
 
So far she held down what I gave her around 5am. Had to arrange vet stuff so haven't fed her yet again.

Have a vet appointment at 10am. Wish us luck.
 
Would you be able to bring a fecal sample with you to the vet? Parasites can cause blood in the stool. She may also have some intestinal inflammation going on, which could have been aggravated by eating some new foods.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top