3/30 Mego PMBG 92 +2 98 +6 92 +10 78

Status
Not open for further replies.

Katie & Mego (GA)

Member Since 2013
Good morning everyone. First I want to wish everybody a happy holiday weekend and hope some of you get some extra time off to spend with your families and giving a little extra lovin' to your sugar babies. :-D

Yesterday's Condo

So I did not give Mego his PM shot last night becsuse his PMPS was 85 and I couldn't stay up last night to test. I left out 2 tsp LC food overnight because I knew he wouldn't be getting his AM meal until much later than usual. He certainly let me know how unhappy he was about it around 5am this morning. His little love licks turned into little love bites! cat(2)_steam

Anyway, this morning (technically his PMPS +11 from last night) is 84. I was able to do 2 tests throughout the night just to see what he would do without the shot and it looks like it was a surfing night. :?: So he's scheduled to be fed/shot in 1/2 an hour and I have to work in the early afternoon (and I'm guessing his AMPS won't be much higher than the PMPS +11). Given that he can take early and late dives in the cycle, I'm thinking it best to not shoot again this morning. The other options would be to feed him HC food this morning to bring his numbers up and leave out catsicles during the day. And wouldn't feeding the HC food just defeat the purpose of the insulin anyway? Or is it better to not skip since I've already skipped last night?

Lots of questions this morning.

:?: Oh, and it's time for Mego's monthly topical flea treatment. Is it ok to just apply as normal on the scruff in front of where he gets his shot?
 
Re: 3/30 Mego AM Dosing/Feeding Question

80's are nice NORMAL non-diabetic numbers. Feed him low carb food as usual, do not try to bring him into higher numbers with high carb foods.

If he is a grazer, leave the food out so he can eat when he wants - give him a catsicle for when you are out and let him eat.

If the numbers stay like this, then you are well on your way to remission.

:mrgreen:
 
Re: 3/30 Mego AM Dosing/Feeding Question

Good morning Hillary. So that sounds to me like no shot and feed as normal. I'll then do some testing and see where he goes before I leave for work and feel ok about not being here.

PS - Maui's name makes me think of my little brother who now lives in Honolulu doing a medical fellowship. Very cool! He gets the ocean and I get the Appalachian mountains. Even-Steven if you ask me. :-D
 
Re: 3/30 Mego AM Dosing/Feeding Question

good morning, katie!
i've been watching for this to happen. :mrgreen:
i agree with hilary... skip the shot this morning and feed low carb.
it'll be interesting to see where mego is when you get home tonight.

and yes, you can apply his flea treatment as you normally do.
 
Re: 3/30 Mego AM Dosing/Feeding Question

Good morning Jill. The shooting schedule has been working out well so far this week, when his numbers allow us to follow it that is. But that isn't a bad thing either. I'll post his AMPS here shortly along with a few tests before I go to work. Thanks again for your help everyone!
 
Re: 3/30 Mego AM Dosing/Feeding Question

I think a lot depends on when you're going to be gone in relation to shooting. Yesterday's cycle was a beautiful, flat Lantus cycle. The issue with feeding HC is that numbers will fall back down. You just won't know if the HC is addressing when Mego's numbers might drop. If he'll eat/graze, the LC (or if you add some HC to a dish of catsickles to make MC) may be just fine. This is one of those judgement calls that Jill was referring to so ultimately, it's your call. If you feel like it's safer to skip, then that's what you need to do.

Just out of curiosity, how much are you feeding Mego? From your SS, it doesn't look like he's getting all that much food. Dr. Lisa uses the following formula to calculate the number of calories per day. It's a "generous" formula but it may give you a ballpark idea of whether I'm not getting the full picture based on your SS comments.

Required calories per day = [13.6 X optimal lean body weight in pounds] + 70​
 
Re: 3/30 Mego AMPS 88 No AM Shot Today

Sienne, do you have psychic abilities that I'm not aware of yet? ;-) I was planning on spending some dedicated time tomorrow to researching about calories/food/feeding etc. Now that things have started to settle down and I'm getting in a rhythm here, I can address some of the food stuff. Before I just needed to get him switched to the wet food.

Mego isn't a big eater and I've adjusted the amount he's been eating quite a bit since we've started on wet food. I've also adjusted the way I'm recording the amount several times. So I know I need to get that all streamlined and be consistent. What I've been giving him recently is 2 large tablespoons at his main meal times and then leaving out 4-5 catsicles (which I made as straight frozen food, no water mixed in, 1 teaspoon each) when I leave during the day for work. He will usually eat about 1/2 of what I put out at meal time and then come back to the bowl several times over the next 2-3 hours and finish it off. Sometimes he eats them all, sometimes he doesn't.

I asked my vet about Mego's weight and she said he was overweight at 12lbs 1oz but not to worry about his weight this very moment as we started the insulin. How do I know what his ideal lean body weight should be? I need to go back and re-read the detailed info on cat food nutrition and caloric intake. Do you have any suggestions about what I should start reading first?
 
Re: 3/30 Mego AMPS 88 No AM Shot Today Caloric Intake Questi

Lol!! No mind readers here!!

Here's a chart that describes what a cat's body should look like at under, normal, and over weight levels.

My favorite site when it comes to feline nutrition is the one authored by Lisa Pierson, DVM. You may have come across people referring to "Dr. Lisa." That's who she is. On occasion, she posts on the Health board and frequently refers people here for help with their diabetic cat.
 
Re: 3/30 Mego AMPS 88 No AM Shot Today Caloric Intake Questi

Ok, that's the one I was going to start with. I know I've read through some of that info, but it was probably at lightning speed at the beginning of all this and no doubt there's things I missed. So I guess I'll be making a ham tomorrow and reading about cat food! Happy Easter for me! :lol:
 
Re: 3/30 Mego AMPS 88 No AM Shot Today Caloric Intake Questi

Morning Katie!

Wow look at that SS :mrgreen: :mrgreen:

I agree it was a good idea to skip today and see what Mego does. When we skip a shot, then AMPS becomes AMBG and PMPS becomes PMBG so your subject line would read 3/30 Mego AMBG 88. Then we all know you skipped :-D

Dr. Lisa's website has great info on Obesity and she discusses safe weight loss as you scroll down the page. She even has a formula to calculate how much a kitty can safely lose a week.

Also helpful to tell how close Mego might be to his ideal body weight is this Cat Bidy Condition Chart.

Keep in mind that even if two cats are similar sizes, the actual ideal weight of the cats might vary depending also on build just like humans. That's why the body condition chart is helpful.

We will all be watching to see what Mego has in store.
 
Re: 3/30 Mego AMBG 88

Thanks for the reminder Marje! Updated subject line & SS. His +1 is due here in a few minutes so we'll see shortly what his little (overweight :lol: ) body is up to.
 
Re: 3/30 Mego AMBG 88 +1 85 +2 74 Functioning Pancreas?

So little Mego posted a +2 74 - Does this indicate that he has a functioning pancreas and insulin production?
 
Re: 3/30 Mego AMBG 88 +1 85 +2 74 Functioning Pancreas?

Maybe. I actually think there's a good chance that Mego's pancreas is waking up. This is one of those times when I really don't want to jump to any conclusions.
 
Re: 3/30 Mego AMBG 88 +1 85 +2 74 Functioning Pancreas?

I hear you and I'm being cautiously optimistic. Only time will tell but I'm certainly thinking positively.
 
Re: 3/30 Mego AMBG 88 +1 85 +2 74 +3.25 66 ?

So Mego freaked me out just before I left for work and gave me a 66 @ +3.25. I left 3 Tspns LC food out for him and included a small dribble of Karo in the bowl and then had to jet out the door to work. I'm going home on lunch break to check on him. Good Lord Mego! :shock:
 
Re: 3/30 Mego AMBG 88 +1 85 +2 74 +3.25 66

Hi Katie, with no insulin in him, Mego is safe. He's just in very nice numbers. :mrgreen: :mrgreen: :mrgreen: And he got extra food to boot. :lol:
 
Re: 3/30 Mego AMBG 88 +1 85 +2 74 +3.25 66 ?

Katie & Mego said:
So Mego freaked me out just before I left for work and gave me a 66 @ +3.25. I left 3 Tspns LC food out for him and included a small dribble of Karo in the bowl and then had to jet out the door to work. I'm going home on lunch break to check on him. Good Lord Mego! :shock:
no worries here, katie. mego's spreadsheet is filled with indications he's started to produce his own insulin. it's why i've been keeping close tabs on him. :mrgreen:

at this point, the question is whether Mr. P is serious about coming back to work full time or if he prefers part-time gigs.
we'll know soon enough...
 
Re: 3/30 Mego AMBG 88 +1 85 +2 74 +3.25 66 + 6.5 81

Ok, momma bean just got back from checking on him and he was +6.5 81. He had eaten some of the food and definitely at the food where the karo was. So to have an 81 after eating karo seems pretty good to me.

Oh little boy, keep up the great work and Mr. P - it's your time! Please keep all fingers crossed for me and Mr. Mego.
 
Re: 3/30 Mego AMBG 88 +1 85 +2 74 +3.25 66 + 6.5 81

Paws crossed! And Ditto Ditto Ditto on the :mrgreen: :mrgreen: :mrgreen: :mrgreen: :mrgreen: That 81 may very well be karo influenced. As Wendy mentioned, there is no need to fear a hypo if he is not receiving insulin. 66 is a beautiful, normal, healthy number!
 
Re: 3/30 Mego AMBG 88 +6.5 81 Future Dosing Question

Thanks ladies - I'm sure I have given you all a good chuckle. :lol: :lol: :lol: I wasn't sure if those lower numbers could be the shed draining and I wasn't taking any chances. So do I keep him OTJ until numbers start indicating otherwise?
 
Re: 3/30 Mego AMBG 88 +6.5 81 Future Dosing Question

I don't have any dose advice, but it's great to see Mego surfing green for you today. :mrgreen: :mrgreen: :mrgreen:
 
Re: 3/30 Mego AMBG 88 +6.5 81 Future Dosing Question

Hi! I'm just out & about passing out easter eggs and thought I'd stop in to say hello :-D
 
Re: 3/30 Mego AMBG 88 +6.5 81 Future Dosing Question

let's see how things go... play it by ear for now.
he'll be sending a pretty strong message if he stays green...
 
Re: 3/30 Mego AMBG 88 +6.5 81 Future Dosing Question

ditto :mrgreen: :mrgreen: :mrgreen: :mrgreen: :mrgreen: :mrgreen: :mrgreen: :mrgreen: :mrgreen: :mrgreen: :-D :-D :-D
 
Re: 3/30 Mego PMBG 92 I think I can, I think I can

Good (late) evening everyone. With Mego still in the green we opted for a PMBG only. We'll give this a test run and see how things go but I am still very cautiously optimistic. I won't be throwing any supplies out the window just yet. But I will still do more research on his food options and test throughout the day - just not as much tomorrow. His SS has earned him a nice vacation from the poke. I hope everyone had a nice evening and I wish everyone a wonderful holiday weekend. Hopefully tomorrow I'll get to poke around in some condos and catch up with what happening with everyone. Mego is celebrating with a game of "The Mouse Who Never Gets Away!" :-D
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top