3/30 Lucy PMPS=200;+2=220

Status
Not open for further replies.

mariko

Member Since 2011
Good morning,

Yesterday's condo

Yesterday
AMPS=238 (s1u less a drop); +2=203; +3.5=173; +6.5=180; +8=178; +10.5=203
PMPS=212 (0.75u); +2=229; +4=178; +6=202; +8.5=200

Today
AMPS=164 (0.75u); +1.5=178; +3.5=166; +5.5=185; +7.5=158; +10=191
PMPS=200 (0.75u); +2=220

Maybe.... maybe my experiment out of desperation is working.
Lucy is feeling fine, and ate her breakfast well.
Her energy is till not "good" good, but I think it's better.
She came back to bed with me after AMPS for some cuddles.
She didn't join me for the 2nd btb time after +1.5, but came to check on me and loudly meowed at me around +2.5 when I didn't get up for the 2nd breakfast.

We have a vet appointment this afternoon.
Urine collection for culture and chest x-ray for upcoming dental.

I'm sorry I haven't been visiting condos to say hi.
I've been spending hours on internet every day these days trying to find out stuff, Lucy/Ginger's health issues, diagnostic methods, nutritional requirements for Lucy (a whole new different project) and the list goes on.
I am so not good at web searching!
I find some information, and it's too technical and I don't understand, so I google that and again I find something in the explanation I don't understand and I google again.
And in the end I get confused and forget what I was trying to find out in the first place. :-x

I hope everyone's having a nice day, and I'm sending vines to all in need.
 
Re: 3/30 Lucy AMPS=164;+1.5=178;+3.5=166 // Vet today

I'm glad Lucy is feeling fine today! ECI so very D, so you never do know what will work. She does have some lovely numbers running right now so you very well could be on to something!

Internet research can really take a lot out of you. HOpefully you'll be able to track down what you want in an language that works for you!

Sending tons of good vetty vines!!!
 
Re: 3/30 Lucy AMPS=164;+1.5=178;+3.5=166 // Vet today

Hi Mariko!!

Sending Lucy good vetty vines today and I hope you get some answers to your well thought-out questions. You are such a great mom to your girls.

I wish I would have checked in on you yesterday and sorry i didn't. But I would really be surprised if the dose was causing her issues with numbers (i.e. that it was too much once you switched carts). Even with the yellow you've been seeing since you switched, she is pretty darn flat. Her BG has ranged from 164 to 234 and that is just out of meter variance. So I don't think she has been getting low enough to bounce. I probably would have suggested that you hold the dose. I would also suggest that if you don't see markedly better numbers in just a few cycles, that you take her back up.

I'll be anxious to hear what the vet says.
 
Re: 3/30 Lucy AMPS=164;+1.5=178;+3.5=166;+5.5=185 // Vet tod

Sending good vetty vines!

I totally get you on the research, and shopping around for kitty fuds and things we need. I have so much stuff bookmarked to "come back to" when I have brain power :lol: .

I'm glad that Lucy gave you cuddles and ate well (looking for her 2nd breffis is awesome!). Have a great day, Mariko. :-D
 
Re: 3/30 Lucy AMPS=164;+1.5=178;+3.5=166;+5.5=185 // Vet tod

Hi Mariko,
You need to take a break from all that Internet research! :lol: It is really tough to put 2 and 2 together when there are so many variables. Perhaps wait to see what your vet says and then just do research on one aspect at a time.

I hope you had a good vetty visit today. The KTSS will be over later to get the vetty smell off of dear Lucy.

Good luck with your dose.

Hugs, scritches,

Ella & Rusty
 
Re: 3/30 Lucy AMPS=164;+1.5=178;+3.5=166;+5.5=185 // Vet tod

Sending good vetty vines for Lucy. I'm glad she's feeling fine today. Internet research can get overwhelming. I hope you can find what you're looking for.
 
Re: 3/30 Lucy AMPS=164;+3.5=166;+5.5=185;+7.5=158 // Vet tod

Thank you, everyone.
The vet appointment is in 1.5 hr, and I'll leave in an hour. :-D

So far, she's all blue today.
Good girl.
 
Re: 3/30 Lucy AMPS=164;+3.5=166;+5.5=185;+7.5=158 // Vet tod

Great to see Lucy in blue and feeling good today! I look forward to hearing what the vet has to say. Good luck there today!
 
Re: 3/30 Lucy AMPS=164;+3.5=166;+5.5=185;+7.5=158 // Vet tod

I'm glad Lucy's feeling good. I love that she was so vocal this morning.
Sending good vetty vines ❤️.
 
Re: 3/30 Lucy AMPS=164;+3.5=166;+5.5=185;+7.5=158 // Deworm?

We are back from the vet, and here are the plan for her various issues.

- Urine culture to check for UTI. Urine collected today.
- X-ray screen done. Whole body. Looked all good. Images being sent o Lucy's anesthesiologiest.
- Deworm both cats. Parasites may be worsening IBD? I got Safe-Guard. Not looking forward to administrating.
- Dental should be OK even if urine culture comes back positive. Again, her tooth looked very bad, but the vet does't think it's infected or contributing to high WBC.
- If urine culture comes back negative, consider: 1) Ultrasound to locate infection/inflammation. 2) New meds "chlorambucil" for IBD especially once we get parasites off the list.

The vet said they use this chlorambucil to patients who's IBD is very bad that might turn into lymphoma.
She think this meds may be better than increasing prednisolone dose for Lucy if her IBD is getting worse.
I'm going to worry about this meds later when the time comes.

For now, I'm a bit stressed about deworming - especially I have to give it to both cats.
It's only for 3 days, and the 2 weeks later for another 3 days, but one dose is 2.5ml.
That's a lot to syringe.....
Has anyone given this Safe-Guard? Any tip on administrating?
 
Re: 3/30 Lucy AMPS=164;+3.5=166;+5.5=185;+7.5=158 // Deworm?

I've never dewormed a cat, that I remember anyway.
I'm glad the xrays came back all good.
I'm just sending you hugs.
 
Re: 3/30 Lucy AMPS=164;+3.5=166;+5.5=185;+7.5=158 // Deworm?

About Lucy's low phosphorus value, the vet didn't really have an explanation, and I didn't want to push her to investigate as it's rather a good thing, but I found the following in Tanya's site.

Low Phosphorus Levels (Hypophosphataemia)
Low phosphorus levels are extremely rare in CKD cats, but may occasionally arise. In most cases they tend to happen if you are over zealous with phosphorus binders used to control high phosphorus levels, but may also be seen in cats with diabetes controlled by insulin. Certain types of cancer may cause low phosphorus levels, as may feeding a cat following a period of prolonged starvation.
 
Re: 3/30 Lucy AMPS=164;+3.5=166;+5.5=185;+7.5=158 // Deworm?

hi mariko!

i hear ya on the internet research! it can suck up your time and sometimes you still don't feel like you got what you were looking for.

as far as the tooth goes, we know that a bad tooth can make a huge difference in a cat's blood sugar. it can prevent a cat from becoming regulated - and although Lucy looks pretty good to me, still, she may really improve when the tooth issue is resolved. Sandy posted on Cobb's condo yesterday about what happened to BK after his teeth issues got taken care of. it might be helpful for you to read it.

i've dewormed my cats a number of times, but i always had pills. the last one for my kittens was called Droncit. it was easy to poke it down their throats after i wrapped it in a pill pocket. but it sounds like you've got an injectible? is that right? Fleas love this part of the country and they often carry worms. so any cat that has fleas around here will likely end up getting treated for worms. fortunately, mine are all indoor now and that seems to be the end of the flea problem.
 
Re: 3/30 Lucy AMPS=164;+3.5=166;+5.5=185;+7.5=158 // Deworm?

No, it's not injectable.
It's an oral medication in liquid form.
It didn't smell much, but looks a bit chalky, so I know they'll hate it.
I have problem syringing 0.2 ml bupe to Lucy.
This one's 2.5 ml per dose. :o
Plus I have never ever given oral meds to Ginger.
It will be interesting.......... :razz:
 
Re: 3/30 Lucy AMPS=164;+3.5=166;+5.5=185;+7.5=158 // Deworm?

no sugar in it?

liquids are my least-favorite meds to give. sending you good luck for it!!!
 
Re: 3/30 Lucy AMPS=164;+3.5=166;+5.5=185;+7.5=158 // Deworm?

I've done some cat deworming as a volunteer/worker at the local shelter. My favorite was the one time I found tapeworms on one of the young guys that had just been in the community room so we had to deworm the entire herd. :shock: All but two took it in pill pockets - Theo was there at the time and he was one of the two that didn't like pill pockets. :roll:

Did the vet say what kind of worms she thought Lucy might have? It's unusual for indoor apartment cats to get worms, but not impossible. Deworming medicines target only specific types of worms, so it's best to determine what type of worm is present before treating it. No one mediation works for all worms. Droncit that Julie mentioned is good for all tapeworms. Panacur (also known as Safe-Guard) I've used for treating a giardia cat, but it also works on some other types of worms (roundworm, whip worm, hook worms, some tapeworms).
 
Re: 3/30 Lucy PMPS=200

Well that was easy.
I just mixed a dose really well with their dinner, and they didn't seem to notice it.
Phew......Huge relief as I have to do it 5 more times.

I didn't get an impression that we are aiming for one particular kind of parasite.
I think deworming idea came from trying to figure out her high WBC.
I did some looking up myself and found this info that said high monocytes and eosinophils could be due to parasitic infection.
Lucy's both values' are high. In fact, all her WBC types are out of range.
My vet knows both my cats are 100% indoor, so I questioned about it too, and she said sometimes an indoor cat can get parasites, for example from some kind of fly (forgot what kind).
And Ginger's on raw meat, so I thought it might be a good idea to do it too.
 
Re: 3/30 Lucy PMPS=200

Mariko

While I did see that reference on Tanya's for low phosphorus possibly being either overzealous with the phosphorus binders OR due to treatment of diabetes with insulin, I did not quote that for you because it's not something we see very often. Insulin can promote the movement of phosphorus from the blood into the cells but it's actually seen more often in cats with DKA.

But...since ECID...it's possible. What I do see more of and have discussed with my vet is the fact that insulin also seems to move potassium into the cells and you see lower blood potassium levels in diabetic cats. In a lot of the bloodwork I see from LL cats, the potassium is often right at 4 or below (US values).

Hope the deworming goes ok! Never done it either. I'm sorry about Lucy's tooth but I hope she will be much better once it comes out.
 
Maybe because she receives a lot of energy healing, SOME things aren't as bad for Lucy.
I'm just going to be happy about her phos value instead of worrying about it. :smile:

As my vet once said, Lucy is a bit of "mystery".
My acupuncture vet says Lucy is "interesting".
So she must be one of a kind. :-D
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top