3/30 Kim's Simon AMPS 106 +2/60 +5/69 PMPS 95

Status
Not open for further replies.

kim and simon

Member Since 2012
Yesterday I asked my questions too late so I will post them again here. I think that Simon (as usual) heard me asking questions and decided to make them moot (his AMPS is much nicer today! Let's hope it sticks!)

From yesterday, which I posted late:
Didn't catch anything too low this morning--didn't get his lowest usual points of +3/4. AMPS was kind of high. Maybe he was lower overnight. Who knows. I really can't seem to see any rhyme or reason to why one day it's great, the next day it's not. PMPS is looking nice a lot of the time. Interesting that today I had a higher number at +8 than at PMPS. I think his +9 snack brings him down, which must mean he has some pancreas working for us!

Are we ok at this dose? I am not sure I would want to go up. . .but the same old dilemma of higher AM pre-shots continues. I don't want to get ourselves into a situation where I have to really worry about him going way too low. . .

Is hanging out in the 60-100 range still healing? Is there a reason to try to push him lower?

I'm going to be doing the +9 snack and setting the auto feeder for that (Maybe it helps? Last night I hedged it toward +9 instead of +6 and he's lower this morning). I have seen it help for sure in the daytime cycle.
 
Re: 3/30 Kim's Simon AMPS 106 some questions/hold dose?

Those numbers are absolutely healing numbers, they are 'normal cat' numbers, up to about 120 is a normal cat number.

lb = litter box
DM = dear mother
poo = well you know that one! and my DM now knows Vyktor's up quite close and personal since he missed the lb the other day and she stood in it :lol:
 
Re: 3/30 Kim's Simon AMPS 106 some questions/hold dose?

The 60 - 100 range is just perfect!

I would experiment with a +9 snack. If you've seen positive results during the AM cycle, there's a better than good chance you'll have good results overnight. We don't recommend a late snack unless there's reason to think that a cat's pancreas is producing endogenous insulin. If a cat's pancreas is healing, a little bit of food would stimulate the pancreas to work. As a result, the insulin that the pancreas is producing will help to lower the pre-shot BG numbers.
 
Re: 3/30 Kim's Simon AMPS 106 some questions/hold dose?

Hi guys .. I have to agree as well, that is a perfectly good number for simon this morning! Like Sienne suggested, perhaps moving that snack around will make a difference for you ..good luck and have a great weekend!
 
Re: 3/30 Kim's Simon AMPS 106 some questions/hold dose?

(Look at Yesterday--I fed him at +9 and his PS was lower than his +8.)

Yes, Hello Mr. Pancreas! Nice to see you again!
 
Re: 3/30 Kim's Simon AMPS 106 some questions/hold dose?

:mrgreen:

seems to me that this diabetes/BG thing is kinda like a pendulum on a grandfather's clock. you want the pendulum to hold still on under 100 numbers, and the farther out it swings in the amps, the farther out it swings on the pmps. what you're doing holding everything steady (in terms of insulin dose) right now and the pendulum is winding down. first the pmps highs have decreased, now you're seeing the amps coming down.

once he's 7 days in all green numbers, even if he hasn't dipped below 50, you would try decreasing his insulin dose and see if it holds.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top