3/30 Gizzy AMPS 366, +10.5 164, +12 433, +6 124 -DOSING ??

Status
Not open for further replies.

pistull

Member Since 2011
Last post: viewtopic.php?f=9&t=67411&p=733463#p733463

I think he may have eaten his +8 snack late...he actually slept good last night without whining so I think he went down and ate around +10.
Still seems a bit different or removed. (ie: sits with back toward me)
 
Re: 3/30 Gizzy 366

Hi guys .. gizzy lubs you! He's just being a cat most likely :lol: Hang in there .. before you know it, he'll be back in your lap demanding all your attention .. have a great weekend!
 
Re: 3/30 Gizzy AMPS 366, +10.5 164 - DOSING QUESTION!

Do you think I should increase dose to 2.5u? He's been at 2.25 for 11 doses.

Also going to start him on a low dose of buprenex tonight. I think his joints are bothering him...he yowls at the bottom of the stairs as if he doesn't want to climb them and he's been grooming/tugging at his fur by his front leg joints. You can tell he's stiff when he walks - definitely has arthritis.... wondering if he's in pain - thus the higher #'s?? OR - maybe I should leave him at 2.25u with the pain med?? Thoughts??
 
Re: 3/30 Gizzy AMPS 366, +10.5 164 - DOSING QUESTION!

pistull said:
Do you think I should increase dose to 2.5u? He's been at 2.25 for 11 doses.

Also going to start him on a low dose of buprenex tonight. I think his joints are bothering him...he yowls at the bottom of the stairs as if he doesn't want to climb them and he's been grooming/tugging at his fur by his front leg joints. You can tell he's stiff when he walks - definitely has arthritis.... wondering if he's in pain - thus the higher #'s?? OR - maybe I should leave him at 2.25u with the pain med?? Thoughts??

Hi Lori,
I am so glad that Gizzy's got some pain meds, and it's going to make a diff in how he's feeling and also it may well lower his BG, so with his nice 164 right now, and plus getting bupe tonite, maybe stay with where you are right now and see how he reacts to pain meds....

I can say that my Shadoe had better numbers after getting any bupe, so best to stay safe and see how she is in the morn.

Big pats for Gizzy; I hope the bupe helps him relax and lessen the pain.

What are you going to do about treating the arthritis, just wondering. Have you spoken to your vet about it at all?
 
Re: 3/30 Gizzy AMPS 366, +10.5 164 - DOSING QUESTION!

Hey Lori!

I am sorry Gizzy is in pain. :cry: Glad to hear you got the bupe and will give it to him. Pain can definitely raise BG's. So, if you can get him more comfortable you may see his numbers decrease a little.

Just an observation...a few days ago you caught an 80 @ +6.5 and fed some HC. Two hours later he was about the same and you fed a little more HC. IF Gizzy was a bit lower before food was introduced, OR if he would have gone lower had food NOT been introduced than you may actually be looking at him wanting a reduction in the near future...not an increase. I could be wrong there. Its just an observation and something to consider.

You are doing a really great job with shooting consistently! How is the early a.m. begging for food? Are you getting any sleep
 
Re: 3/30 Gizzy AMPS 366, +10.5 164, +12 433 - DOSING QUEST

So look at the huge jump from +10.5 to +12! WOW!! I think he's running out of juice from +10 to +12. I kept him at 2.25u this pm, but my gut says he needs more. I think I'm going to increase to 2.5u in the morning.
 
Re: 3/30 Gizzy AMPS 366, +10.5 164, +12 433 - DOSING QUEST

But, if you give him pain meds and it lowers his bg, you would not want to raise the insulin dose. Carolyn, she gave the HC to see if he would surf the lower numbers to get his liver use to it. Sandy (BK) had me do that with Harley.

Pattie
 
Re: 3/30 Gizzy AMPS 366, +10.5 164, +12 433 - DOSING QUEST

OK on 2nd thought, maybe I should start him on the buprenex and keep him at 2.25. I'll see how it goes for a couple days. This disease is so confusing and frustrating!!! Could be too little or could be too much insulin....50/50 shot! Grrrrr...
He still wants his food in the middle of the night...if that timer does not open when he thinks it should - we definitely hear about it!! ha ha
I'm giving him Dasaquin / fish oil for his joints.
 
Re: 3/30 Gizzy AMPS 366, +10.5 164, +12 433 - DOSING QUEST

Harley and Pattie said:
Carolyn, she gave the HC to see if he would surf the lower numbers to get his liver use to it. Sandy (BK) had me do that with Harley.

I was not questioning it. I figured there was a reason for feeding at that time. I just wanted to put it out there as a cautionary warning. If he can go that low with HC on the current dose, one must be prepared to monitor when raising it.
 
Re: 3/30 Gizzy AMPS 366, +10.5 164, +12 433 - DOSING QUEST

He still wants his food in the middle of the night...if that timer does not open when he thinks it should - we definitely hear about it!! ha ha

:lol: :lol: :lol:

WakeUpFeedMeCat.jpg
 
Re: 3/30 Gizzy AMPS 366, +10.5 164, +12 433 - DOSING QUEST

Just a note. Gayle always told me, you want to get to a point where the BG are almost level and even and THEN you will decrease. By bouncing so badly, it's a shock on the system and will take longer to find where Gizzy needs to be. If you think about pain, cats have higher BG... fix a tooth or treat pancreatitis or something and down come the numbers. PLUS, Gizzy was pink this morn and down to 164 at +10.5? You could maybe get away with a 2u dose. Instead of the 2.25u or higher.

Pattie
 
Re: 3/30 Gizzy AMPS 366, +10.5 164, +12 433 - DOSING QUEST

Lori, you might be thinking that giving more insulin will last longer... and that's not how insulin works!

the BG drops down to 164 at +10 and then of course bounce up to 433 by pmps.... More insulin does not necessarily mean it will last longer, all the way to +12....

two pictures...

1. take a tennis ball and toss it under hand... how does it bounce? Not too badly and after a few bounces, it levels out.

2.take a tennis ball and pound it overhand into the ground and watch how badly THAT will bounce!

By increasing the dose, you are doing choice #2

By staying or even lowering, you are doing choice #1

Pattie
 
Re: 3/30 Gizzy AMPS 366, +10.5 164, +12 433 - DOSING QUEST

lori, you also don't want to change a bunch of factors at once. you won't know what is doing what. i think i would add the bupe while you are holding the dose the same. pain can cause high BG's and if you relieve the pain, causing the numbers to go down, at the same time that you increase the dose, that's a double-whammy.

punkin has had significant BG drops from his initial doses of bupe. they haven't continued for subsequent cycles, but the first cycle of bupe has caused his numbers to drop.
 
Re: 3/30 Gizzy AMPS 366, +10.5 164, +12 433, +6 124 -DOSIN

Celi - LOVE IT!! Looks just like Gizzy and his hungry "angry" eyes!!

Everyone - thanks!! Glad I left him at 2.25u. Just tested him and he's at 124 @ +6. (1 dose of Bupe under his furry belt!) We'll see how tomorrow goes. Maybe that's the ticket to keeping his #'s lower? We'll see...!

He's still meowing like crazy...he's "off" and I don't know what it is. I'm praying it's just him grieving Myles and adjusting to the new house and nothing more! The bupe will probably take the edge off his anxiety too so maybe it's a good time to start it. I worry so much about him my stomach hurts! It's not healthy for us mama peeps - I know you've all been there. You get it - it's hard not to worry so much - they are our kids.

Plus I have a tremendous amount of guilt for not questioning my vet on Myles' blood test....there is no doubt in mind mind that if she would have caught his pancreatitus sooner he would still be here. Tonight, while unpacking, I found his blood test results from when I took him in 3 weeks prior to his death and I just CAN'T BELIEVE she told me that # was nothing to worry about!! And I CAN'T BELIEVE that I was so overwhelmed with work, moving and Gizzy that I didn't question it more. Not sure I can ever forgive myself for that. I guess you grow to trust your vet and believe what they say....never again! So now I'm over-thinking everything with Gizzy....

I can't thank you enough for all your advice, time and cheer-leading. I certainly needed it this past week! You're fabulous....!!
 
Re: 3/30 Gizzy AMPS 366, +10.5 164, +12 433, +6 124 -DOSIN

There are some very bad vets out there, and the sad thing is most people believe the vets know all and we trust the vets. Well, it's a devastating way for you to learn that they don't.
How can we be faulted? Do you question your own family dr? I bet not because we believe that doctors are educated and trained properly, so it's the same with the vets. Before anything bad happens, we believe them.

Get copies of all the blood test results from that vet office and make yourself a binder of all the records. You want to make a file for Gizzy, just like your family dr has of all your records.

So you made a wise decision to hold the dose and start the bupe, and it's showing in that very decent 124.
As you learn more, you will feel better, more in control, and your being more relaxed with rub off on Gizzy, and you'll have a happier cat too. Now, let's watch for some nice and level numbers.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top