3/30 George AMBG-189, PMPS-444, +2-372, +4-277

Status
Not open for further replies.

Alaina and George

Member Since 2012
This is my first time getting a PS number below 400 so I'm going to skip his morning dose.

It was also my first time giving him Friskies Turkey and Giblet Pate so I'm wondering if this is better for him than the Wellness now that they're adding by products.
 
Re: 3/30 George AMPS 189

Here's the link to your thread (aka "condo") from yesterday: http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/viewtopic.php?f=9&t=92099. We link the condos together so you can easily find information if you need to go back.

I'm going to be a serious pain in the neck. Please get some form of ketone test. Generally, we don't recommend skipping a shot in a post-DKA cat. Without the ketone test, there's no way to know if skipping was safe. You don't yet have a great deal of test data yet so skipping may have been the right choice. However, ketones trump pretty much everything. You need to know whether George is throwing ketones.

Also, when numbers drop from the 400s to the 200s, that's not unusual. You won't see that when you are shooting in lower ranges. You can take a look at Gabby's SS to see what I mean. Yesterday morning, I shot a 158 and her AM cycle was pretty flat.

I don't think Wellness is adding by-products. I think Marje's point is that some of the products that they do ordinarily add are sourced locally which effects the texture/consistency of the food. I've also found that the larger cans are more similar in their texture than the smaller cans. Since I always add water to their food, my guys aren't bothered by the looser texture of my recent cases of Wellness.

Also, just a note about a convention we use. If you shoot, then you have an AMPS/PMPS (i.e., a pre-shot number). If you don't shoot, you report an AMBG/PMBG.
 
Re: 3/30 George AMPS 189

You're not a pain in the neck at all...I'm still learning about all of this! I'm going to the pharmacy today to get some Ketostix and some NovaMax Strips so I can get some ketone info today.

I also am hoping to collect some more data about his cycle so I can make a more informed decision about dosing/not shooting etc. I'm hoping there aren't ketones.

I was wondering what a "condo" was... So do you always include previous links in new posts and that's what a "condo" is?

Also, I read a bunch of reviews online about the Wellness and several other people have commented that the consistency and ingredients have been different although I'm not sure of the validity of these statements. I usually "subscribe & save" with the big cans through Amazon and between this case and the last case, there is a huge difference. Not to mention my cat Buddy who will usually eat anything barely touched it. I think for now I should stick with the Friskies Turkey and Giblets Pate but reading all those terrible ingredients on the label makes me ill. I think the important thing at this point is to keep George eating and drinking and he loves the stuff.

Also, I added some data to the spreadsheet given to me by my vet, not sure if that will help...
 
Re: 3/30 George AMBG 189

It's unlikely you'll be able to get the NovaMax strips at the pharmacy. I think you can only purchase them on-line. I know that ADW (American Diabetes Wholesale) has them. (There's a shopping button at the top of the Board. If you use that link, FDMB gets money back on your purchase.) They are available on Amazon and Ebay, as well.

A condo is your daily thread. We refer to it as a condo because there are kitty condos (like cat trees) and it makes more sense to "visit" a condo than a thread. If you've noticed, people here are very social and post in each other's condos. Reading other condos and looking at people's spreadsheets (SS) is a great way to learn.

I just looked at George's SS. Did you add the numbers that are not in color? If not, I'm not sure what you added. Were you able to get an appt at Cat Hospital?

For a long time, my guys wouldn't eat Wellness. I was feeding them Fancy Feast but was unhappy with the by-products and that the poultry variety had fish in it. I transitioned them to homemade raw. At one point, I ran out and tried Wellness again and they were willing to eat it. I've tried the EVO 95%. They didn't like that so much but I haven't tried it again. They don't like Merrick Before the Grain, either. If Buddy doesn't like the loser consistency of the Wellness, I'm not sure if he'll like the Before the Grain. It comes in small cans so it may be worth trying. It's low carb and lower in fat than Wellness and a good quality food.
 
Re: 3/30 George AMBG 189

I went out and got some CVS brand Ketostix...They didn't have the brand name. George appears to have 0... The stix weren't the same color as the guide to begin with so I'm thinking he's negative. I tested myself as a barometer and my strip came out darker than his....Probably since I haven't been able to eat since this whole thing started! So I can now say confident negative.

Thanks for the suggestions on the food. I'm going to try some different varieties and if all else fails, I can always divert to Friskies to make sure I can dose.

The numbers on the spread sheet that aren't in color are from the vet's office. Not sure why they aren't color coded.

My cats also didn't like the Merrick...I never have tried EVO. I am considering just making a bunch of chicken breast and soaking it in broth and then freezing portions of it to feed to them as I need it.

So in the future should I just change the subject of the post and continue to do replies? To "build" my condo all in one spot? Sorry to be a pain, I just want to make sure I do it right.

I have an appointment at Cat Hospital of Chicago on Tuesday Morning.
 
Re: 3/30 George AMBG 189

Morning Alaina,

Each day has a new condo... but we link the last one to it so others can read backwards and get history if they need to. Saves time.
You update the subject line during the day with new test numbers so the ones giving advise can monitor by scanning
the subject lines.


here's now to link .

The way you make a fancy link is as follows:
• copy the location of the link from the top of your browser
• then, open a post and above the text box are button. Click on the button with URL inside;
• the following will be inserted at your cursor: .
• inside the first bracket, insert an = sign and then paste the location information of your link. It will look something like ;
• in between the two sets of brackets, type what you want to call the link. It will look something like this: [url=the http:// location of Reuben's condo from yesterday]Reuben's condo


Very nice start today.
 
Re: 3/30 George AMBG 189

As long as you followed the directions on the box (i.e., how long to wait before comparing with the color guide), this sounds like great news. Ketones scare the cr*p out of most of us because they can be deadly if you don't intervene immediately.

What we do is update the subject line with test data or to indicate that you have a question, need help, etc. That way, each day's information is all in one place so you or anyone else can go back to find something. Keep in mind that the way you bump your condo to the top of the board is to post a new reply. If you just change the subject line, the condo stays where it is in the queue. If you do have a question, put it in a new note in the condo that way you're bumped to the top AND indicate you have a question in the subject line.

I'm presuming someone gave you the links to Dr. Lisa's food chart? If not, I linked it. Rhiannon did put together a cheat sheet that's a lot more compact with the low carb (under 10%) foods.

Chicken breast will work great as a treat. Straight protein isn't nutritionally complete. There are several vitamins, minerals, and supplements that need to be in a cat's diet. If you feed straight protein, eventually you're going to have all sorts of problems.
 
Re: 3/30 George AMBG 189, PMPS-444

Getting ready to test again soon. George seems a little thirstier today but it was cool because the two cats play fought for the first time in 2 weeks. I'll update in a little bit! Thanks again everyone.

Back up to 444, probably could have given something this AM. Going to try and get some data tonight.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top