Re: 3/30 George AMPS 189
Here's the link to your thread (aka "condo") from yesterday:
http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/viewtopic.php?f=9&t=92099. We link the condos together so you can easily find information if you need to go back.
I'm going to be a serious pain in the neck. Please get some form of ketone test. Generally, we don't recommend skipping a shot in a post-DKA cat. Without the ketone test, there's no way to know if skipping was safe. You don't yet have a great deal of test data yet so skipping may have been the right choice. However, ketones trump pretty much everything. You need to know whether George is throwing ketones.
Also, when numbers drop from the 400s to the 200s, that's not unusual. You won't see that when you are shooting in lower ranges. You can take a look at Gabby's SS to see what I mean. Yesterday morning, I shot a 158 and her AM cycle was pretty flat.
I don't think Wellness is adding by-products. I think Marje's point is that some of the products that they do ordinarily add are sourced locally which effects the texture/consistency of the food. I've also found that the larger cans are more similar in their texture than the smaller cans. Since I always add water to their food, my guys aren't bothered by the looser texture of my recent cases of Wellness.
Also, just a note about a convention we use. If you shoot, then you have an AMPS/PMPS (i.e., a pre-shot number). If you don't shoot, you report an AMBG/PMBG.