3/30 Daniel PMPS 146 +3.5 48

Status
Not open for further replies.

Kurai & Daniel

Member Since 2011
Hey I'm TRo writing for Kurai

She gave Two teaspoons of high carb gravy food and a lick of karo, and she has to leave for work on 15 minutes. Please help ASAP

ETA: Dose question below. In short, has Danny earned another dose decrease? Any takers? I'd say yes, but this is going weird. Please keep recent numbers in light.

Nevermind,
 
Re: 3-30 Daniel PMPS 146 +3.5 48

if there won't be anybody home to check on him, please leave lots of HC. When will you be back? Is there anyone there who can feed him later?
 
Re: 3-30 Daniel PMPS 146 +3.5 48

Thank you guys for your help. I am at work, he appeared to be coming back up, so I left two extra cans of food out, one HC and 1 regular. I get off of work at 6 am and unfortunately I have no one I can call to go over. I believe he will be fine with the extra food. Probably be up high.

I was attempting .5 tonight to get our 12/12 shift back on schedule. Guess it's a good thing I didn't go with his regular .75 O-o. He'll probably be way up there when I get home.

So uh, does this still mean he earned a dose decrease? I had him on a reduced dose tonight. I wonder if he's been dipping down like this the past few nights without me knowing it. I need a roommate who likes kitties X-x

This is Kurai by the way. Thanks to TRo for his assistance too. Considering I had to talk across the US/Canadian border to get this up, I believe we did good.
 
Re: 3/30 Daniel PMPS 146 +3.5 48 Dose question?

Sorry for bumping my own post up, but I'm feeling a bit ignored, AKA low on the list/not getting any views/not important enough for review.

Thanks for any assistance you may provide in advance even if it is "I have no idea"


You know it's bad that I come on here and feel more discouraged than when I'm going on my own gut.
 
Re: 3/30 Daniel PMPS 146 +3.5 48 Dose question?

Kurai & Daniel said:
Sorry for bumping my own post up, but I'm feeling a bit ignored, AKA low on the list/not getting any views/not important enough for review.

Thanks for any assistance you may provide in advance even if it is "I have no idea"


You know it's bad that I come on here and feel more discouraged than when I'm going on my own gut.
Good morning, Kurai & Daniel ... to answer your question, a # under 50 for Daniel does earn a dose reduction. I am not an official advisor, but the 48 Daniel experienced on his current cycle (if it were my kitty) I would shoot .25 for his next shot. Others will chime in too.
I am sorry you have the impression you were ignored, we have all asked questions at one time or another that do not get answered - but not because our kitties are not important enough, etc.. we are all human & unintentionally don't see every condo conversation reply. I do see you had expert eyes when the 48 was reported (Libby & Sienne) It is 4:20am where I am & when I went to bed, I glanced at your condo & saw that you were at work until 6am Florida time & that you left out food - I suspect that is what others saw too & went to bed. There is not a lot of traffic on the board during the overnight hours. I hope someone can stop by before you get home to shoot Daniel & offer advice, but if they have not - then I would go ahead & shoot the .25
Stick around.. we do care & Daniel is important and you are too :YMHUG:
 
I would go with the .25u as well, and hopefully it will allow you to shoot 2x a day.

a little tip for when you need help, edit your first subject line of your thread, to include "dose help".
I see you did have "dose help" in one of your posts, but it wouldn't be seen as quickly as having it on your first post of the day.

do you by any chance have a timed feeder? if not, it might help you out while you are at work.
PetSafe makes a couple of good ones that others use around here.
 
Thanks Nicole... I really appreciate it.

I'm just being a bit tough on myself since I found the answer to my question shortly after I posted it. He's just been fluctuating so oddly these past few days and I can't quite figure out why. I get easily discouraged in my mind, but my heart keeps pushing on and that's all that matters.

I found this,
Jill & Alex said:
Reducing the dose...
  • If kitty drops below 40 (long term diabetic) or 50 (newly diagnosed diabetic) reduce the dose by 0.25 unit. If kitty has a history of not holding reductions well or if reductions are close together... sneak the dose down by shaving the dose rather than reducing by a full quarter unit. Alternatively, at each newly reduced dose... try to make sure kitty maintains numbers in the normal range for seven days before reducing the dose further.

But I'm still not certain simply because he's been hanging out so low. He already earned 1 reduction, but was too low 3 mornings straight to shoot, and was around the greens and low blues until evening time. I reduced it to .5 last night simply to see if I could get him back on a 12/12 shooting schedule. Maybe he just wants to go down the ladder 5 steps at a time :lol:

Oh hi Ronnie! I didn't see you there. I did have it in the topmost subject, but edited it out when I found the answer later on.

I was actually thinking about a timed feeder, but haven't been able to find one. I'll probably have to order it online.
 
No worries, our furbabies are our hearts & we are all sensitive because we love them so much. Daniel is doing really good! We don't know for sure what will happen, but if it were my kitty I would shoot .25 AM & PM & evaluate after a few cycles. Of course test first & make sure the # is shootable. If unsure then ask, your doing great!
 
Kurai,

Since Daniel hasn't been diabetic long, he may just be making progress very quickly. Take a look at Gracie's spreadsheet. She was high and all over the place, then all of a sudden started dropping. We went down the dosing ladder VERY quickly, and she was off insulin just a matter of weeks after having high numbers. What's happening with Daniel is actually a good thing, it's just that you've had things happen so quickly. He never got below 50 on 1u, so going with .5u was the right thing. Now that he's going low on .5u means backing off again is the right thing. It never hurts to start very low and work your way up if necessary. You may find that he responds very well at the lower dose, and worst case, he has safe numbers while your away and you can raise his dose gradually.

Hang in there. His numbers are very good even with the difficulty finding the right dose. It will only get better when things settle down. Again, take a look at Gracie. I had given up all hope of getting her regulated quickly, and Bam! It happened virtually overnight.

Jason
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top