3/30 Billy AMPS 239 +12 49 +12.5 67 +13 76 +13.5 74 +14 83

Status
Not open for further replies.

Manouk & Billy

Member Since 2011
Hello, LL!

3/28 condo

Yesterday
AMPS 198
+4 115
+7 122
PMPS 92
+2 122

Today
AMPS 239
+12 49
+12.5 67
+13 76
+13.5 74
+14 83

I couldn't test today but wasn't very worried as Billy had gone up to the yellow floor, but I'm surprised at his PMPS numbers - 49?! Low green? :/
I usually shoot 2.25 units. Should I decrease?
 
Re: 3/30 Billy AMPS 239 PMPS 49 Dosing advice?

I wouldn't shoot the 49. How long can you stall tonight and still be able to shoot 12 hours after this shot in the morning?
 
Re: 3/30 Billy AMPS 239 PMPS 49 Dosing advice?

I re-read the stickies and that's what they seem to tell me, too. No shooting then. I'll just feed him and test.

I'm not sure I understand the question. Blame my poor English skills... ohmygod_smile You mean I should shoot only tomorrow morning or shoot in a couple of hours and reshoot 12 hours afterwards?
 
Re: 3/30 Billy AMPS 239 PMPS 49 Dosing advice?

Does your schedule tomorrow allow for a later shot time if you shoot later than normal tonight? You have to keep the shots 12 hours apart. So if you delay tonight and shoot later than normal, it will impact your schedule tomorrow.
 
Re: 3/30 Billy AMPS 239 PMPS 49 Dosing advice?

I'm sure I'm not explaining very well. It's sleepy-time for me and I make less sense when I'm half asleep. :lol:

To put it into actual clock terms - I don't know what time zone you are in, but for example here it is 10:50pm. If you wait for 1/2 hour it will be 11:20. Let's say he is higher at 11:20 and you're comfortable giving his shot. Will you be able to shoot at 11:20 tomorrow morning also, or do you have to be out the door at a certain time? Or if you end up waiting an hour to give his shot, it will be 11:50. Can you shoot at 11:50 in the morning?

Also, how late will you be staying up tonight? If you can't stay up to monitor if needed, then shooting too low can be risky.

Basically if you are able to stall without messing up your schedule too much, I would wait 1/2 hour and test again to see if he is rising. If so, give his shot then. If you have a tight schedule and can't do that, then you can skip. Do what makes you comfortable. It is almost bedtime for me (and a lot of the people here), so if Billy gets low numbers there might not be many people online to help walk you through it.
 
Re: 3/30 Billy AMPS 239 PMPS 49 Dosing advice?

Also if you might be shooting - did you feed him yet? If not don't so you know if the number is rising on its own and not food influenced.
 
Re: 3/30 Billy AMPS 239 PMPS 49 Dosing advice?

Well, that all makes sense. Thanks you. :) I can delay my shots easily, I work from home tomorrow morning. I'll see how he's feeling after he's had his meal.

I'm guessing the meal will give him a food spike, so it would be okay to shoot if he's on the blue floor and I should skip if he's green? How does that sound?
 
Re: 3/30 Billy AMPS 239 PMPS 49 Dosing advice?

Hi Manouk.....usually if you are stalling, you don't want to feed UNLESS HE'S IN THE 40s or below. Food will cause a spike. Let's say he spikes up to 80 and you shoot him...you don't know if that 80 was because he's on his way up anyway (good) or because of the food (not so good). If it's because of the food and the food wears off quickly, you could be having to test alot especially when the insulin onsets. So..since he was 49 it was borderline on the feeding but now you need to wait at least an hour and have two rising numbers before you give him his shot, in my humble opinion.....
 
Re: 3/30 Billy AMPS 239 PMPS 49 +0.5 67 Dosing advice?

So I test at +1 and +2 and if he's still green then I skip tonight's dose?
 
Re: 3/30 Billy AMPS 239 PMPS 49 +0.5 67 Dosing advice?

Here are some guidelines on dealing with low preshots: viewtopic.php?f=9&t=39309

You have shot 90s before, is that a range you are comfortable with? If so, then I would test again in another 1/2 hour and if he's getting close to 90 you can shoot.
 
Re: 3/30 Billy AMPS 239 PMPS 49 +0.5 67 Dosing advice?

Wow, Manouk!! Way to go tonight!!!

FYI, it is helpful to those helping you if you don't use PMPS when you're stalling... we only use that when we've actually given the shot. At this point, you are +12 49, +12.5 67. That will let our experts know that you may still need advice. :) If you skip a shot, then it becomes PMBG 49.

Congrats on the wonderful numbers!!!
 
Re: 3/30 Billy AMPS 239 +12 49 +12.5 67 Dosing advice?

Wait--that's good? xD Man, I can't wait to start understanding how it all works. Maybe I just worry too much.

Thanks for the link and advice, Libbie. And for the clarification, Christie. I changed my subject line.
 
Re: 3/30 Billy AMPS 239 +12 49 +12.5 67 +13 76 +13.5 74

HOLY COW...LOOK WHAT I MISSED!!!

Billy...trying to keep Manouk on pins and needles??
(guess that's a bad analogy, as we see enough needles with FD)

how you hanging in there, Manouk? wakes you up, doesnt it?

celi & binks
 
Re: 3/30 Billy AMPS 239 +12 49 +12.5 67 +13 76 +13.5 74 +14

Well it surely makes me stay up. :lol:

He's only at 83 now and it's already +14. I think I'll skip. I shot around 90 before but I was sure I could monitor him - now I'm too afraid I won't be able to hear the alarm clock to test him often, seeing how sleepy I am. I wish I could rely more on... well, myself. @-)

So I just test him tomorrow and back on the usual dose?
 
Re: 3/30 Billy AMPS 239 +12 49 +12.5 67 +13 76 +13.5 74 +14

I just realized what you mean when you type xD...
it represents laughing, right? eyes closed and mouth laughing...

i had to turn my laptop sideways to figure it out... :lol:

celi
 
Re: 3/30 Billy AMPS 239 +12 49 +12.5 67 +13 76 +13.5 74 +14

that's what i've done when we've skipped a shot...

the wise ones will let you know anything further you might need to do...
enjoy your sleep!
 
Re: 3/30 Billy AMPS 239 +12 49 +12.5 67 +13 76 +13.5 74 +14

Manouk: I would also skip if you are not comfortable shooting 83; two hours is about as much time as we wait. So tomorrow, you can pick the time you want to shoot but just remember that will then be your 12 hour schedule so if you shoot at 8 am tomorrow, then it will be 8 pm tomorrow night and keeping to that schedule moving forward. His numbers may go up quite a bit without insulin....just so you won't worry.
 
Re: 3/30 Billy AMPS 239 +12 49 +12.5 67 +13 76 +13.5 74 +14

Yes, xD is a laughing face. I tend to forget it's not always easy to see. (And I'd normally put one of these smilies right here!)

Thanks a lot for the advice, guys. We'll see how Billy is tomorrow morning. Good night!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top