3/30/13 RAGS - NO FEED SCHEDULE

Status
Not open for further replies.
Becki,

Remember the schedule
7 am test
feed
7:30 shoot

what do you think the insulin dosage should be?
 
Remember the schedule you have posted on your frig.

What does that say to do?

Don't know if you saw these in yesterday's post. Probably long after you went to bed

BJM said:
yo hon said:
...I have a question, He got his insulin at 9:30, if he ate something, wouldn't it help him not to be high in the a.m. Or ate something after his +6 ? I don't like him being HI in the a.m. and am trying to figure out why he is. He doesn't eat all night.

He is high in the morning for these reasons
1) the insulin you are using wears off within 6-8 hours; you're going longer than that overnight
2) the dose is not optimal yet; we're trying to find a safe amount to give each shot
3) he isn't making insulin to handle all the remaining glucose

Food is digested and cats can make carbohydrates from both protein and fat. Thus, food makes glucose go up.
For each shot cycle (the period from shot to shot), you may feed during the first 5 hours of the 7 to 8 hours between shots. The last 2 hours before the next test and shot, no food.

and

BJM said:
Becki

It will be helpful to you and to us if you will write out what you understand to be your schedule for treating Rags and why you are doing the things on that schedule.
That will let us see if you understand what is going on. And maybe it will help you organize and focus all the information in your brain.

We also want to remind you that everyone on this board is a volunteer. There will be times that no one is available to answer your question. This means you need to study as much as you can, so you can learn what to do and make decisions based on what you have learned. Each of us had to study feline diabetes to help our own cats.

So you may need to write up a new schedule with some of the things you have learned.

No high carb treats either ok? Temptations are high carb. Its amazing how long just a few kibble can last in their system and the effect it has on blood sugar. Freeze dried chicken is a better choice of treat. You may not be able to find it locally. Use a piece of the dry Royal Canin kibble you got from the vet instead. I think that may be low carb, or at least lower than those Temptations treats.
 
yes, i remember the sched .on my frig. but it keeps getting changed evry day, I just need to be sure, as I stated to you lest night. It gets confusing when that haqppens,

So now your saying I need to test him every two hours ? Last night, never mind.
 
The every two hours testing was on a if needed basis only.

The must do tests are before every preshot. You are so lucky to have to do three of those! :-D :o :-D

If needed basis is like last night when you thought something funky was going on with Rags
or getting a test to see how far down he is dropping
or getting a test to see how the food is influencing the BG level
or doing a curve
or your pesky mentors asking for a test to see if they can figure out if a change is recommended.

Yes, the schedule keeps changing and you will need to keep updating what you have. Sorry to say that this will probably be the case for some time. Treating diabetes is a fluid and flexible thing and you need to make changes now and then. We have been slamming you with a lot right now.

We have Rags on a lower dose that is helping Rags some.
The insulin type is not the best as you know, so TID testing, feed, shoot schedule for now.
We are making one change at a time.
The change we are doing for the next few days is to feed at the beginning of each test, feed, shoot cycle but pull up the food for the last couple of hours. BJM thought to take away the food for hours 5-7. I think you should take away the food for hours 4-7.

When you have a few minutes in your already hectic life, why don't you type the schedule into todays post and we can see if you have the schedule updated with the latest suggestions.
 
BJM, i realize you are all volunteers, and i DO appreciate all of you !!! BUT I was told there would always be eyes on me, so thank you for telling me that is wrong ! i wondered how that could be, cause you all have things to do, need to sleep, etc.

Any how, my sched. Rags, sched is ;

i will test him and feed him at 7:00 a.m. so i know where his glucose is and by watching how much he eats tells me it will go up.
7:30 a.m. i will give him 1.5 units to help with the HI. hecan still eat until his next BG.

Etc. the next two times he gets his BG, feed, then give shot unless it is 200 or under, then I will post.

at night he can eat from 9:00 to 11:30 p.m. (this is a new one and I'm hoping his BG will not be high in a.m.)

I have to run out for a little bit, but will back in time to do his 2:00 p.m.
 
I was told there would always be eyes on me, so thank you for telling me that is wrong !

Becki, the "eyes" watching you are basically Deb, Carl, BJM, Hillary and me because other than myself, who used Humulin insulins way back, 99% of the people on the board have no experience on how N insulin works.

Now, practically everyone can help someone in a hypo situation no matter the insulin. That is a whole different situation and people have the knowledge to help with that and with ketones.

I'm here for the 2:00 test, etc. One of us is always trying to be there for you. We are watching out for you as much as we can :shock: :razz:
 
Hope, I do appreciate ALL that all of nyou are doing for my boy and me, I Really mean that from the bottom of my heart !!!

Tnk You !
 
Becki, feed him now and IF YOU ARE GOING TO BE HOME and will be able to test him at say 4:30 then give him 2 units. I know, a little bit of a change, but I would like to see what giving him 2 units may do for when the evening comes so he isn't back up at HI again.

Only give him 2 units if you will be home today. If not, give him the usual 1 1/2 units at 2:30 AFTER he has eaten.

Please let me know you understand this.

PS,,, you are very welcome, Becki..we are trying as much as you are
 
I will re-test him at 4:30, not going anywere else that I know of. Will give him two units at 2:30
 
Thank you so much....so glad you responded.

Question for you when you have time.......are you gently rolling the bottle of insulin and doing like a figure 8 with the bottle also......you know,,,,,hold the bottle with your fingers and do the shape of an 8 with it? I don't know if you were told this, but you do not ever shake that bottle. No insulin should ever be shaken.
 
Hope, I roll it in my hands and turn upside down slowly a couple of times.

I do want to say that 1.5 is VERY hard to judge in my syringes. They do not have the 1/2 mark only unit.
 
Glad to know you are handling insulin correctly. We can get you the correct syringes that do have 1/2 unit markings. Will talk with Deb and just mail them to you.

It is hard to measure a 1/2 unit of any insulin without the marking so we do the best we can :mrgreen:
 
oky....he's going down please try NOT to feed him he should go down more and food will just raise his numbers up let's see how he does without food
 
Hope, do I still keep him on schedule ?
9:00 p.m. test and feed ?

1.5 units of insulin at 9:30 p.m.?

Please Advise

Thank you !
 
you say to stay on sched. this afternoon you changed his insulin to 2 units because you said food would spike his glucose, and make him high. and said to hold his food.
now i specifically ask you if he should stay on sched. test, feed and 1.5 units tonight.

Are you no longer worried that he will spike this evening with the 1.5 units ? (don't give him 2 units tonight, correct ? )

Please respond, as i am waiting, thank you !
 
Becki, you need to take time and read responses more than once.

I asked you to not feed him so we can see how low he goes on the 2 units without food spiking him.

Did you get his reading at 9 tonight? If so, please post it back....I'll be waiting.

The increase to 2 units was just for this afternoon......not any other time UNLESS we ask you to.

Please give me his number now.
 
Well, I saw Deb was on line and no one has answered my post. She is no longer here'

9:00 PMPS 230

How many units, Please ????
 
Do you see how good that number is without food spiking him up?

Okay, go ahead and feed him now.......then wait a 1/2 hr.......then give him ONLY 1 1/2 units.

I would really like you to test him a 1/2 hr. after feeding but before shooting. Can you do that please?
 
yes, i think i can do that. after i test him you want me to give him 1.5 units before i hear back ?

never mind, i'll wait to hear back from you.
 
NO! I want you to feed him for his 9 p.m. feeding......wait the 1/2 hr after feeding.......test him again and post me that number. DO NOT shoot him any insulin till I get a number back from you first.
 
hey Hope, could you clue me in on why you did 2u at midday and only 1.5 at night? Just your reasoning so I understand where you are coming from.

Get the food limitation thing. No food after insulin poops out and BG's start climbing steeply because more food after that point will simply make the BGs' climb faster and higher.

Hey, I read everyone's condo. Eventually. And I do mean everyones. Don't comment a lot but do like to see what is going on. Sometimes I just skim.

Won't keep doing that for much longer. Nice weather is coming and I will be outside playing in my garden all day long. Until dusk, Until it gets too dark to see. Until I can't walk very fast back to the house because it is too dark to see all those tree roots and rocks just waiting to trip me.

Even if someone is on a particular forum (you can tell by looking at the users at the bottom of the page), they may be reading and replying to other condos. I was.

Being on this board means you get to pick and choose who you help and what you want to say and when you say it. I might read a post and never reply. I might reply to a post one day and then never again. Other posts, I reply to more frequently. There are some posts on this board that get very few reads and even fewer replies.

I've been working all day, had to reply to an email to a DCIN contact that I will be teaching to hometest, feed my cats, catch up on my email, cook dinner, scoop litter boxes, run back to work because I took one of the wrong keys home with me, doing my own posts to ask for hometesting training advice, let the cats out on the screened porch, let the cats back in from the screened porch. close my window shades, put on some music, ........
 
Hope, do you mean a half hour after he STARTS eating, or when he is done eating ? He has already eaten two cans ff and would like more
 
Becki, a 1/2 hr. after he is THROUGH eating. Can you do a test now and give me a number please?

Do not give him more food right now.....I want a number first.
 
Do you see now how the food has spiked him up?

Okay.........you can give him 1 1/2 units of insulin for tonight.

Within the next 2 to 3 hrs. you can even feed him more food if he wants it.

Go ahead and give him the insulin now........ 1 1/2 units only.
 
Great, Becki. You can still keep to the morning time and schedule and dose.

You can also feed him more now if he wants it. You can also give him some before 12 a.m. if you are still up.
 
Becki,

That Royal Canin DD dry cat food your vet gave you is 38% carbs. That is way too high a carbohydrate content.

It's on Dr. Lisa Pierson's food charts http://www.catinfo.org/docs/FoodChartPublic9-22-12.pdf , page 29.

Do not use for treats. I thought it was ok but did not check for carb content first. ohmygod_smile Do not leave out for your other cats where Rags could get to it. It may be why some of his numbers have been HI. Eating Contraband. :evil: :evil:

Remember the Fancy Feast and Friskies pates are under 10% which is what we like to feed our diabetic kitties.
 
Becki, NO ROYAL CANIN please! Yes, bad manners shouting but you need to hear this one loud and clear. Read just above.

Did you get to pick up that cat food order today at Walmart?

Does Rags get anything, can he get to any food, people or pet food, that is not the Fancy Feast or Friskies canned?

Do you feed him table scraps? Not that you have a lot of leftovers but even one piece could spike his BG's.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top