MrZ
Member Since 2013
Good morning LL
Sending healing vines to all who need them.
Previous Condo: Zeke 2/22
For more than a week now, Zeke's managed to stay blue/green every cycle. Unfortunately, I have to admit I’ve been micro-managing his feedings a lot. I didn’t start off doing this to intentionally control his numbers – it sort of evolved. Some time ago he threw up a few times at shot time so I thought it was likely due to him eating too fast. So I started splitting his first hour feeding into several little mini-meals.
After we got him down to about 0.75 units, his PS number tended to be a little higher than I liked so I thought why not break up his meals to keep him for spiking too much before the insulin kicks in. Keeping him from spiking too much in that first hour also made it easier to get him stabilized before having to head out to work – and knowing before I had to head out to work that he wasn’t dropping any more was definitely a huge motivator for adopting the feeding routine described below.
We typically feed Zeke 4% as follows:
1.5T plus 0.5t during the first hour and 15 minutes (this includes the 15 minutes before his shot);
During his +1: 0.5T and 0.5t;
During his +2: 0.5T and 1.0t, and
Within the first 15 or 30 minutes of his +3: 0.5T and 0.5t (sometimes 1.0 or 1.5t depending on if dropping or not)
It seemed to me that if I gave him a few mini-meals (before his +1) instead of feeding him the whole ½ T at one time (3 times in that first hour), he would drop down to a good number by say +2.5 or +3 and then I could stop the drop by feeding him either a little more food at one time or adding a little higher carb (7% or 9&).
We typically feed him 1.5 Tablespoons plus 0.5 teaspoons from 15 minutes PS to about 15 minutes before his +1 reading (or 0.75). What I’ve been doing is splitting his half tablespoon in half and feeding him every 10-15 minutes. So for example, I give him ¼ T at 15 minutes before shot time, another ¼ T as I’m shooting him, then ¼ T anywhere from 4 to 15 minutes later, and then ¼ T 10-15 minutes after that, and then a whole 1/2T 10 minutes later and then finally ½ teaspoon at around 5 to 10 minutes before +1.
After that first hour, I then feed him in whole half Tablespoons or whole half teaspoons. We typically feed him a total of 3 Tablespoons plus 2 to 3 teaspoons in total by about +3.5. Then no more food until PMPS.
Question #1: Do any of you see anything wrong with the feeding routine I’ve described above? We are not under feeding him as Zeke is maintaining at about 16.2 lbs. There has been some fluctuation but really we’d like him to lose a little weight (but not too fast) so we weigh him periodically.
Ok, so now for the dosecrease question. Today, I ended up have to resort to 2% carb food because he seemed to stall out very early in the cycle (before +3). Additionally, once I saw he was on the rise, I withheld his last ½ teaspoon. This is definitely something I don’t want to do regularly. Because of the micro-managing of his meals that I've had to do to help him to good healthy numbers, I think I should increase his dose. What I would like is to be able to eliminate all the mini-meals in that first hour and just feed him his 1.5T within the first 30 minutes of the cycle. I also want to avoid being tempted to withhold food to keep him at a good healing number. I want to feed him what he needs without worrying so much about a spike/rise.
Question #2: What do you guys think?
Here’s a recap of how he’s done on the 0.25u (the times are not exact and the number reflected is his low from that respective hour):
2/28
PMPS / 120
+1 / 126
+2 / 51
+3 / 59
+5 / 65
3/1
AMPS / 133
+1 / 140
+2 / 51
+3 / 56
+5 / 66
PMPS / 152
+1 / 149
+2 / 95
+3 / 68
+4 / 75
3/2
AMPS / 147
+1 / 154
+2 / 95
+3 / 60
+6 / 103
+9 / 119
PMPS / 136
+1 / 147
+2 / 61
+3 / 67
+4 / 77
3/2
AMPS / 154
+1 / 172
+2 / 100
+3 / 81
+4 / 92
+6 / 95
Your opinion would be greatly appreciated.
Thanks,
Laura
Sending healing vines to all who need them.
Previous Condo: Zeke 2/22
For more than a week now, Zeke's managed to stay blue/green every cycle. Unfortunately, I have to admit I’ve been micro-managing his feedings a lot. I didn’t start off doing this to intentionally control his numbers – it sort of evolved. Some time ago he threw up a few times at shot time so I thought it was likely due to him eating too fast. So I started splitting his first hour feeding into several little mini-meals.
After we got him down to about 0.75 units, his PS number tended to be a little higher than I liked so I thought why not break up his meals to keep him for spiking too much before the insulin kicks in. Keeping him from spiking too much in that first hour also made it easier to get him stabilized before having to head out to work – and knowing before I had to head out to work that he wasn’t dropping any more was definitely a huge motivator for adopting the feeding routine described below.
We typically feed Zeke 4% as follows:
1.5T plus 0.5t during the first hour and 15 minutes (this includes the 15 minutes before his shot);
During his +1: 0.5T and 0.5t;
During his +2: 0.5T and 1.0t, and
Within the first 15 or 30 minutes of his +3: 0.5T and 0.5t (sometimes 1.0 or 1.5t depending on if dropping or not)
It seemed to me that if I gave him a few mini-meals (before his +1) instead of feeding him the whole ½ T at one time (3 times in that first hour), he would drop down to a good number by say +2.5 or +3 and then I could stop the drop by feeding him either a little more food at one time or adding a little higher carb (7% or 9&).
We typically feed him 1.5 Tablespoons plus 0.5 teaspoons from 15 minutes PS to about 15 minutes before his +1 reading (or 0.75). What I’ve been doing is splitting his half tablespoon in half and feeding him every 10-15 minutes. So for example, I give him ¼ T at 15 minutes before shot time, another ¼ T as I’m shooting him, then ¼ T anywhere from 4 to 15 minutes later, and then ¼ T 10-15 minutes after that, and then a whole 1/2T 10 minutes later and then finally ½ teaspoon at around 5 to 10 minutes before +1.
After that first hour, I then feed him in whole half Tablespoons or whole half teaspoons. We typically feed him a total of 3 Tablespoons plus 2 to 3 teaspoons in total by about +3.5. Then no more food until PMPS.
Question #1: Do any of you see anything wrong with the feeding routine I’ve described above? We are not under feeding him as Zeke is maintaining at about 16.2 lbs. There has been some fluctuation but really we’d like him to lose a little weight (but not too fast) so we weigh him periodically.
Ok, so now for the dosecrease question. Today, I ended up have to resort to 2% carb food because he seemed to stall out very early in the cycle (before +3). Additionally, once I saw he was on the rise, I withheld his last ½ teaspoon. This is definitely something I don’t want to do regularly. Because of the micro-managing of his meals that I've had to do to help him to good healthy numbers, I think I should increase his dose. What I would like is to be able to eliminate all the mini-meals in that first hour and just feed him his 1.5T within the first 30 minutes of the cycle. I also want to avoid being tempted to withhold food to keep him at a good healing number. I want to feed him what he needs without worrying so much about a spike/rise.
Question #2: What do you guys think?
Here’s a recap of how he’s done on the 0.25u (the times are not exact and the number reflected is his low from that respective hour):
2/28
PMPS / 120
+1 / 126
+2 / 51
+3 / 59
+5 / 65
3/1
AMPS / 133
+1 / 140
+2 / 51
+3 / 56
+5 / 66
PMPS / 152
+1 / 149
+2 / 95
+3 / 68
+4 / 75
3/2
AMPS / 147
+1 / 154
+2 / 95
+3 / 60
+6 / 103
+9 / 119
PMPS / 136
+1 / 147
+2 / 61
+3 / 67
+4 / 77
3/2
AMPS / 154
+1 / 172
+2 / 100
+3 / 81
+4 / 92
+6 / 95
Your opinion would be greatly appreciated.
Thanks,
Laura