3/3 Tuscany AMPS~400, +7~184, PMPS~326 Neuro eval today

Status
Not open for further replies.

joyce-tuscany(GA)

Member Since 2009
yesterday: viewtopic.php?f=9&t=7869

Well, specialty vets moved since the last time I had to use them, many years ago. So I was late for my appt by about 5 minutes.

Ended up there about 2 1/2 hours. Tuscany was well behaved - it helped having some freeze dried salmon with me. Every one kept saying how young she looks (maybe looks but doesn't act it).

The neurologist was helpful. He also had the dermatologist take a good look inside the ear. The shorter version of today is that he thinks it is a peripheral problem - more an inner ear /vestibular issue verses a brain stem/brain issue. At this point in time he feels it is probably a benign issue -not a tumor/stroke issue - which of course is good news. He does feel that the head tilt will probably persist and that her balance MAY slowly improve over the next several months. He did draw some blood - flv, fip, toxo and a more current thyroid (last one was October). His reasoning was that in elderly cats - possibly immunocompromised cats - that these disease could come back out - especially with other cats in household potentially bringing in. Her fiv/flp were negative - the others back tomorrow. Her bp was good at 135. He did say that she has arthritis and that he felt her neuropathy was mild.

Did I say this was a short story?? Anyways - she does NOT need to take any more pred!!! Yeah (especially since I have had 2 reds in a row for amps - the first time ever). She does not need to take anymore antibiotics or eardrops. (they felt her ears looked fine now).

He did say though that if over the next month she progresses in her symptoms that it could end up being a brain issue after all.....

So, I am relieved. It is mostly as was expected but good to hear from the specialist. I am VERY relieved that I can stop the pred. Nobody mentioned that I needed to wean down - she only had 4 doses (too many) so assuming it is ok just to stop.

Will hopefully get these sugars to look a bit better in next few days.

Did celebrate with a yummy glass of chardonnay and bought tuscany one of those heated pads today. Now if I can get her to use. Also - after all these expensive foods I am trying to get civvie Josie to try - I did buy a friskies today - poultry platter - and she scarfed it down. Go figure - the girl has no class !

Thanks again for all the support the last week or so - it is very appreciated.
 
:mrgreen: :mrgreen: :mrgreen:

This is a great update! Sounds manageable and not so scary, and it's nice that you can ditch the pred too.
 
What a great vet visit! You must be relieved. And it sounds like the neuro vet was thorough and caring. Yay for no more pred and fingers crossed that Tuscany keeps making progress (in the good way).
 
Oh this is such good news!!!!!! dancing_cat I hope it continues to hold true for a very, very long time to come! Give that girl a light squeeze and kiss on the forehead for me!

Hey, do you want to call the specialist and dbl check on the weaning? Im not sure if such short term would require that, but if it was not addressed you may want to be sure. It might be as simple as skipping a day or two, give another dose, skip three days, give final dose? Or cut in half and do similar. Hopefully you can just flush it down the toilet! :lol:

I hope you find numbers improving and a little bit of relaxation in the coming days.
 
Watching for improvement in Tuscany!! So so Glad she is alright!! Sending strongest healing vines to her & to you for stress!!!
 
Hi Joyce...don't see a condo yet for you today...
glad there was good news from the specialist...hope this will be manageable for you two...
You asked about the powder for the raw food.... http://www.felinefuture.com/
I think I went too quickly in giving it to them. Should introduce slowly~I found it had come back up in different places...you know, where you don't know who vomited and yet you find it in a few places in the house? :roll: UGH!!!

Hope Tuscany is feeling well this morning....
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top