3/3 Trixie PMPS 118 +2 138 +3.25 104 +4.25 98 First fluids!

Status
Not open for further replies.

Amy&TrixieCat

Member Since 2011
Yesterday

Thank you for all your help and support yesterday, everyone. Honestly, I'm still in shock and pretty stressed/upset/freaked out...here I am, feeling all confident that we're going to have a good, simple, straightforward vetty visit, and I get slammed with a ton of bricks. And, of course, her plummeting to the 30s last night just added to the stress immeasurably.

I have added a tab for her labs to her SS. Let me know if you need any more info there.

I did take an extra large reducie of .5u this morning, just because we are in completely new, uncharted territory with the fluids, amlodipine, and ABs. I'll adjust her as needed as we get used to how she responds to all of this.

She's doing pretty well this morning, but I do have to admit she doesn't seem 100% like herself. Her appy is definitely a bit off. I can tell the difference between when she just doesn't like what I'm serving (which is how it usually is), and when she doesn't seem like she wants to eat, and today it does seem more like the latter. She did eat...just not the way she usually does. Hopefully, it's because the AB is making her feel a little yucky and will pass when we are done, and is not because of whatever it is that's going on.

She DID go on her usual post-breakfast kibble hunt, searching for prizes the kibble addicts dropped....that was good to see.

Of course I'm probably also driving her crazy, over-observing her, and just plain looking for stuff, too....just like when she was first diagnosed with FD. I'm a nervous wreck right now.

I also noticed she's a little snuffly today....ugh.

This morning, instead of going BTB after her shot like I usually do, I dozed on the couch instead...I just wanted to be around the kitties. She came and snoozed on my lap for a good 20 minutes. That's almost unheard of. She'll sit on my lap at the computer sometimes, but couch-lap-sitting is pretty rare. She must have known I needed some extra snuggles. I barely slept last night. so I am exhausted.

In a small miracle, we were spared from the storm - I think we got maybe one or two inches. Thank God. I am off today, though, and I hope I can get at least a little something done besides worrying....

I'm sorry I missed so many condos yesterday....it was just too dizzying of a day. I'll try to get some visits in today, while I'm home...

Have a great day, LL!

Amy
 
Re: 3/3 Trixie AMPS 118 +2.5 112 - Labs added to SS

((((Amy))))

I hope it's just the AB that is making her off. Her numbers are great this morning....no bounce :-D sending healing vines that she will perk up.

Great job on the labs. Thank you!! The one thing that doesn't fit in her labs is her HCT. With the other numbers where they are, you would think she would be showing anemia. That with the blood in her urine makes me hopeful that it is a kidney stone or infection issue. If it is the latter, some of the numbers should come down with treatment. If it's the former, I don't know but assume they would come down. I would wonder if she has stones, why she doesn't have pain?

I wish we could all give you a collective big hug in person. Know that we are all here for you. I hope you will get some rest today. As difficult as it is to not worry, try to remember that it won't change anything and it will make you more distraught than you already are. It is so important to take care of yourself. FD already puts us in a state of exhaustion. Sending you prayers.
 
Re: 3/3 Trixie AMPS 118 +2.5 112 - Labs added to SS

My vet felt she was a "good candidate" for having some weird anomaly causing these kidney values, and she has seen a few before. It's not a guarantee, of course, that it's not CKD, but she was definitely confused by the BW results, too...they weren't a classic fit for CKD.

I just saw Trix pee, and she didn't seem to be in pain...but then again, we all know how well cats hide it sometimes. She was also facing the back of the box (it's covered)...but she hopped in, peed, hopped out and went on her way. The vet didn't mention the blood in the urine yesterday, although I think she must have noticed it and that is one reason she mentioned the thought of stones. I didn't notice it on the BW until I just entered it in her SS.

I feel the cyber collective hug. It is very challenging for me to not worry, but I will try...maybe some mundane housework will do the trick.
 
Re: 3/3 Trixie AMPS 118 +2.5 112 - Labs added to SS

Morning Amy ~O) ~O) ~O)

A nice start for Trixie today. A wise decision i think too on the dose adjustment, better to be safe until you now how all the new things yesterday will affect her. I would suspect that the AB's are making her feel a bit off. They always did with Mannie, sometimes it was worse than others, once done with them all was well appy wise, etc with him.

The BW is more than interesting, somehow the word anomaly just fits. I heard that alot with Mannie. i really don't know, but it seems like maybe a kidney infection. well I'm no vet, just a guess. Interesting thought on the stones. One would think there would be pain. That too takes me back to Mannie. He never ever showed pain, any pain, and some of his issues had to be painful, yet he just kept on being Mannie. Perhaps Trixie is the same.

well my thoughts are with you. It's good to see that Trixie is being Trixie. The kibble hunt was nice to read.

Hang in there. I know it's tough, I know the worry. Many many healing vines for Trixie.
 
Re: 3/3 Trixie AMPS 118 +2.5 112 +4.5 138- Labs added to SS

She's up a little bit, but I'm OK with it...it's not a BAD number, and at the moment, I don't need any heart-stopping dives!

My GA civvie, Mario, was also well-known for "anomalies" in his BW....I think it runs in my family :roll: !

I know we do have some kitties here who manage to have UTIs without symptoms. I remember how in tune Josie was with Ripley, and that just a slight bump in Ripples numbers was enough to tip off Josie.

These kitties do hide it well, and now I feel like even though I'm overly-observant (read as: annoying MamaBean!), I haven't been observant enough with Trix....
 
Re: 3/3 Trixie AMPS 118 +2.5 112 +4.5 138- Labs added to SS

Hi guys .. I just caught up on yesterday's condo .. So sorry to see that some levels are off in her .. I sure hope the AB's can fix her right up and that it's nothing more then a mere infection .. my prayers are with you guys, ((hugs))
 
Re: 3/3 Trixie AMPS 118 +2.5 112 +4.5 138- Labs added to SS

(((Amy and Trixie))) checking in on you and Trixie this morning. I hope, too, it's just the AB's causing the appy iffys, and so cute on looking for stray kibbles though. So glad you didn't get all the s.... that you thought might happen. Glad you are off today and hope you can catch a little rest.
Lots of vines, hugs and prayers continuing your way.
 
Re: 3/3 Trixie AMPS 118 +2.5 112 +4.5 138- Labs added to SS

(((Amy))) I too am catching up with Trixie. I was reading last night but didn't want to get in the way. Sending lots of healing and appy vines Trixie's way and so hoping it's something simple to deal with. I think it's sweet that she knew you needed a lap cat today. She is in tune with you as much as you are with her. :YMHUG:
 
Re: 3/3 Trixie AMPS 118 +2.5 112 +4.5 138- Labs added to SS

Hi Amy!! More hugs from Missouri!! You sound like you can use them!

As everyone else has said, it's pretty common that the AB make them feel a little icky, so they don't want to eat so much. Hoping that's all it is too! Funny on the kibble hunt...I can see the great hunter, checking under every bush (cabinet) and around every tree (bowls/appliances) for any little leftover "kill" the other hunters left behind

Personally, I think all our kitties are furry, warm little "anomalies". They sure don't like to do much of anything in a "normal" way!

Awww on the extra cuddles. Trixie knew you needed them, and I'm sure she benefited too! Cuddles have a lot of healing energy for both cat and bean!

Hope she surfs safely in those pretty blues today and that you can get a little rest.

I know you're far from a newbie, but your comments about being "over-observant" reminded me of this. I think we all need to read it now and then. A message from your cat

Sending more vines, hugs and prayers for you both!
 
Re: 3/3 Trixie AMPS 118 +2.5 112 +4.5 138- Labs added to SS

Hi Amy! I'm still hoping for just an infection and sending many anti-stress vines and hugs to you! :YMHUG: . +

You're a great bean, and you are observant, kitties hide things well. I know how worrisome it is when you're waiting for results, ugh on waiting :evil: ...and I'd have totally done a reducie too.

I'm glad she is eating, and I hope the snuffles go away fast. Trixie is looking great in blue today. It's cute she was searching for kibble :-D . Hopefully you can catch a nap today, along with some more snuggles. More hugs!
 
Re: 3/3 Trixie AMPS 118 +2.5 112 +4.5 138- Labs added to SS

Sending more hugs and prayers to you. :YMHUG: :YMHUG: I hope the AB is what's making her numbers be off and it is something simple that can be treated.
 
Re: 3/3 Trixie PMPS 118 - Labs added to SS

She had a very nice little surf into PMPS! I'm going to stick with the extra-reduced dose until I get my bearings...unless she asks for less.

Thank you for all the visits and vines. What a stressful couple days it's been....I'm in much worse shape that Trix is, that's for sure! She was her normal Trixie-self at dinner time...she asked for dinner, purred, was finicky as she usually is and wanted more FortiFlora but definitely had an appy. We had some very nice snuggles while I was doing research and such on the computer...she likes to sit on my lap and lick my arm that I "mouse" with. I did get quite the run-around trying to track down affordable fluids, but finally have something somewhat doable. Given her behavior, it is still so hard to believe that her kidney values are what they are right now.

She gets her AB once a day, so tonight will be her second dose. It will also be our first attempt at fluids - the vet tech demoed them yesterday. I'm sure we'll be OK...at least we have enough experience with needles to help take a little bit of the edge off.

I'm still working on getting my wits about me...I'm sorry I still didn't make it to many condos today, but I am thinking of everyone.
 
Re: 3/3 Trixie PMPS 118 - Labs added to SS

Hi Amy,
I second what everyone else has said. And I'm happy to take the credit for the snowstorm that fizzled! :lol:
It is so neat that Trixie is making a big effort to comfort you. What a fine kitty she is. I hope that the a/bs will do their job and that the whole episode turns out to be a very curable infection.

Hugs and scritches. Hang in there!

Ella & Rusty
 
Re: 3/3 Trixie PMPS 118 - Labs added to SS

Amy,
I just came to send more vines to Trixies and hugs to you. :YMHUG:
 
Re: 3/3 Trixie PMPS 118 - Labs added to SS

Hi Amy, nice report on Trixie with the appy and snuggles. I hope you found a good deal on the fluids. Sending good vines for your first time. You've seen Marje's video with Gus, right! It's excellent; I watched it so many times making sure I got it right with Mags. Here's the link, just in case. I hope it works. You're such a good Mom, and Trixie is one lucky kitty.
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=TtSzMuDgx78
 
Re: 3/3 Trixie PMPS 118 +2 138 - First fluids done!

We just did our first fluids...she did really good! It helps that she's a very mellow kitty to begin with. We took her in the master bath, where she had never been before. She jumped just a little with the needle going in, and DH couldn't get it quite all the way in, but it was in enough. I'm sure with practice, we'll get the stick down better. We just had a little bit of leakage when we took the needle out. She just laid on the towel, checking out the surroundings. She even stayed there for a minute when we were done!

It did go so fast, though....much, much faster than it went at the vet. At the vet, the tech used the clamp thingie near the bag, but tonight, we used the roller thingie closer to the needle..It took almost 10 minutes at the vet, but tonight, I swear it took maybe 3 minutes. I've heard from reliable sources that they've also had the fluids go that quickly. As long as it's OK for Trix, 3 minutes is a lot less daunting then 10 minutes!

Josie found an article about the current fluid shortage....it looks like we really can only get them from our vet right now - every pharmacy I called was unable to order them because of the shortage. Here's the article:

Fluid Shortage

Trix is feeling bright-eyed and chipper this evening...just had a very nice little post-fluid snack.
 
Re: 3/3 Trixie PMPS 118 +2 138 +3.25 104 First fluids done!

She's on the move...I hope she decides to surf this. I really feel like we're playing a brand new game...
 
Re: 3/3 Trixie PMPS 118 +2 138 - First fluids done!

Woo hoo for an easy relaxed first fluids! :-D . I was lucky that way too, our first went very smooth. Treats on the side helped :lol: . It only takes a few minutes for our fluids (50ml) depending on the flow and how the needle is in...I haven't got the knack of adjusting it very well yet once it's in but I try depending on how squirmy Chyna is feeling :?. Did they give you decent needle tips, like Terumos? They slide in like butter. Well, mostly. I hope that Trixie is feeling good tonight, and her beans too ;-)
 
Re: 3/3 Trixie PMPS 118 +2 138 +3.25 104 First fluids done!

The needles are 18 g Terumo harpoons. Fortunately, the stick didn't phase her too much.
 
Re: 3/3 Trixie PMPS 118 +2 138 +3.25 104 First fluids done!

Oh good, at least they are Terumo...I had the monoject 18g at my vet teaching time and it was like poking into an orange with a spoon! I had ordered 20g Terumo ultra thin walls from thriving pets ahead of time though, since with the CKD it was only a matter of time before we had to start subqs. Thanks to Marje for all her good info when we had diagnosis! I'm glad she was ok with the stick. What a good girl cat_pet_icon
 
Re: 3/3 Trixie PMPS 118 +2 138 +3.25 104 +4.25 98 First flu

Great job!!!! You don't have to and actually don't want to get the entire needle in. You just need to get the part in that the fluid comes out of so most of the needle will not be in. I think you will want the smaller needles because, over time, the large ones can cause scar tissue. As with insulin injections, you want to move the needle insertion site around.

I've always loved the below photo to demonstrate where you could put the needle....anywhere the saddle is:



I hope her numbers stabilize tonight. It's a good experiment to tell you how much she will drop in relation to the fluids.

You are doing great. It's an adjustment but not only will you do it because of your great love for Trix, but you will excel at it. :-D
 

Attachments

  • image.jpg
    image.jpg
    51.8 KB · Views: 479
Re: 3/3 Trixie PMPS 118 +2 138 +3.25 104 +4.25 98 First flu

LOL...cute picture, and good visual aid!

She seems nice and flat tonight. I wonder if yesterday's drop was because the fluids were before her shot, and so close in time with her shot, whereas tonight the fluids were after her shot. I'm sure it will remain one of those mysteries.

I will mention switching to a smaller needle to my vet. It looks like, for now at least, we're going to be stuck getting fluids from there anyway. I'm going to talk to her on Wednesday about a "deal" if we do end up needing to do this long term (I can't imagine we wouldn't continue doing it after this three week trial thing we've got going on.) Good to know about not getting the whole needle in...I assumed we wanted it to go all the way in.

I am very slowly calming down.
 
Re: 3/3 Trixie PMPS 118 +2 138 +3.25 104 +4.25 98 First flu

Great job, Amy and Trix and DH! You were all awesome with the fluids! :-D :-D :-D And all the help you've gotten here, WOW. I think Marje is amazing with what she knows about bloodwork. And the fluids video deserves an Oscar for best documentary. : :-D Sending tons of vines for Trix to feel better. I'm glad you didn't get much s*** from this storm. Isn't spring supposed to arrive soon?
Liz
 
Re: 3/3 Trixie PMPS 118 +2 138 +3.25 104 +4.25 98 First flu

(((AMY))) Sending great big comfort vines for you and healing vines for Trixie! Congrats on successfully giving fluids! woot-woot! Thinking about you guys.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top