3/3 Smudge AMPS 174 PMPS 352

Bridget -

Please remove the 911. It's only used for a medical emergency.

Is your spreadsheet up to date? There's only an AMPS for yesterday.

If you are going to be home to monitor and have strips and HC food on hand, you should be fine to shoot. Shooting a reduced dose makes more sense if you won't be home. Keep in mind that 200 is the shoot and ask for help number if you are new to SLGS. A 175 is within meter variance range and you're not new to FD -- maybe new to lower pre-shot numbers but not new to FD.
 
I wasn't sure what constituted "new" since we've only been on levemir since start of February. I won't be home, because being a cat, she can't pull this at night. Would a 2U/50% dose be ok do you think? I like our forward progress and don't want to mess it up. She didn't want her usual 2:30am snack, so I'm wondering if this is just the less food affect as she ate fine this morning.
 
I wasn't sure what constituted "new" since we've only been on levemir since start of February. I won't be home, because being a cat, she can't pull this at night. Would a 2U/50% dose be ok do you think? I like our forward progress and don't want to mess it up. She didn't want her usual 2:30am snack, so I'm wondering if this is just the less food affect as she ate fine this morning.
Sorry Bridget, I can't give advice :( Honestly don't know, but I just wanted to say I "feel yer pain" in regards to not being able to monitor. So frustrating, especially when they go all CAT on us ;) LOL

Hang in there!
 
Well, I'm crossing fingers and dosed and we'll see what happens. DH is home and can apply food when he gets up at noon, and my gut said it was ok plus she ate a fairly good breakfast. Urgh....
 
I would go back to the regular dose tonight. Smudge is on Levemir, which means lower numbers often at preshot. You shot full dose with 189 on at AT, which isn't far off from 174 on the human meter. Might even be lower as AT tends to read a bit higher.

Cats like to surprise us - before bed tests should be part of the nightly habit - wash face, brush teeth, poke cat.
 
I did shoot a 3U this morning and was planning on a 4 tonight. Just trying to follow the guidelines on the go slow protocol. I may have missed it, but maybe somewhere in the sticky it could address new user vs enough data to not worry about a sub 200 preshot value? Technically diagnosed less than a year, which is the description of new diabetic elsewhere in the documents spread around. It's just confusing in the morning, esp when I can't stick around the house and wait for advice.
 
You are definitely not a new user, though newer to Levemir. You have shot below 200 before, so that gives you some data on that situation. I agree that the SLGS guidelines on shooting lower preshots were keeping insulins like Lantus more in mind than Levemir, where shooting lower is standard fare. You should be good with preshots above 150 now.

The "new diabetic being a year or less" is just in the TR protocol in reference to reduction point. It's not relevant for SLGS.
 
OK, that clarifies, thanks for the info. Being optimistic, what would be the recommended procedure if I get a lower than 150 and cannot stall/retest?
 
I recorded the 3.5 on the previous under 200, but I remember either skipping or low dosing that one. Of course, that was over a week ago so who knows, my brain is and has been a bit fried lately.
 
Cats! They always make you have to think first thing in the morning before coffee.

It is possible to stall even 10 minutes in the morning? That should be enough to tell you if she's on her way up. Just makes it easier to shoot the full dose.
 
Back
Top