3/3 Rui 6+ wks post-SRT, first blue number in months!-PMPS 139 +3

Status
Not open for further replies.

katieroc

Member Since 2014
:cat::cat::cat:Hello all-Rui had his first blue number in months last night! We were just thrilled. He had a few 200's in the past week which was very encouraging. Could he be turning a corner post-SRT? We certainly hope so. Trying to contain myself in case it's just a fluke (force of habit--I'm so used to months of constant high numbers). Right now he's up to 27 u twice daily. All I've done for months is raise his insulin. I'm very nervous about how to manage the dosage if he is truly making a turn-around. The doctor who did the SRT advised us to keep the dose the same unless we see and additional changes. We had Rui to his regular vet since last Sunday he kept constantly going to the litterbox with very small amounts of urine. Thought he had a UTI. Within a few hours he stopped. Very strange. We had a urine culture done (neg). Nonetheless, he was on a course of Clavamox (sp). The vet indicated he had protein in his urine and we will repeat test in a few weeks. She said this could be an issue, but to repeat the test just in case. Blood work was good. Just wanted to share his 139 bg number with you! Hope you and your kitties are all doing great.
 
Fantastic news! :cool: :cool:

I agree that keeping the dose for now is a good idea. For a few of us kitties that have gone through SRT and are following the TR protocol here, we moved the reduction number up to 70. It just gives a bit more of a safety margin. Do post here if you get numbers lower than you are comfortable with and we'll be glad to help.

As for the protein in the urine, proteinuria is quite common in acrocats. Actually, some level or protein is not uncommon in diabetic cats in general. Neko has a moderate level proteinuria and is taking benazapril for it. Are you getting the urine UPC ratio done? You might want to also think about getting a blood pressure check done, as that can contribute to proteinuria. Tanya's CRF site has a good description of proteinuria.
 
that's great news, Susan! I'm just thrilled for you and Rui!

One tactic I did post-SRT was when I reduced punkin's dose because of low numbers: I usually gave a 1/2 dose in the shot following the low numbers, then returned with a dose about 10% less with the subsequent shot. That became the "new" dose until he went low again.

For example, if you'd caught Rui at 50 in today's cycle after giving 27u this morning, I'd have given 13.5u tonight (50% of 27u), then tomorrow morning he'd have a "new" regular dose of 24.5u (27u - 10% = 2.7u = 24.3u) rounded up.

It's just what I did - at the point where I had punkin treated with the SRT there were no high dose kitties that had SRT on the board. But it worked for us. Reducing the first shot by 50% assured that the depot didn't provide a continuing string of low numbers into the subsequent cycle.
 
Thanks all cheering Rui (and us) on! Maybe I jumped the gun on Rui turning a corner, though. He was back at 377 last night and 424 this a.m. I have to get some mid-cycle numbers to see wha'ts what, but still--the BLUE number was exciting to see. Thanks for the dosage recommendation. I really am so nervous about that! I prayed for this and now I'm scared something awful. Regarding the protein, my vet did say diabetic cats were prone to this and also, she mentioned a more specialized test (I'm not sure if it was UPC--she did mention creatine and bunn?). Yes, also about medication for the protein and taking his blood pressure. I have an appointment in a few weeks for him to go back. I forgot--when I tested him the other day for ketones (neg), he had neg glucose reading on the strip! That has never happened. Strips weren't expired or anything. Maybe he is turning a corner. Slowly? As Laura said, paw crossed!
 
Bummer on the bounce. Paws crossed here too that he gets back to blue soon. Was Rui ever tested for IAA (insulin auto antibodies)? If you don't see blue again in 6 cycles, you might have to go up again. Interesting on the neg glucose on the strip. Suzanne/Cobb said the same thing about her acrocat. Neko didn't test neg on her urine tests until she started getting into better numbers.

UPC = urine protein:creatinine ratio., also called Urine MA (microalbumin). It's a better test of protein in the urine. There are other conditions (including UTI) that can contribute to a positive protein urine test. The UPC, along with blood tests (bun and creatinine values included), urine specific gravity will help pin down whether it's because of kidneys.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top