3.3 Rufus AMPS 95, +3 70, +8 123 PMPS 150, +2 95 (AT2)

Status
Not open for further replies.

Sean & Rufus

Member Since 2018
6 units to 1 unit in a little over a week! :woot: Rufus continues to impress! How is he feeling/eating today?

Sorry you had trouble getting a sample. I know it's weird and makes no logical sense, but I find Asia's ear bleed less easily when her numbers are low (lower than what Rufus is showing you, but still, it's odd). o_O I'm sure you've tried the warming up the ear? Either rubbing with your fingers or a heated rice sock?

The most important step is to test before shooting, I don't think it's ideal to test after eating because the number could be food influenced, but if it's immediately after eating, likely the food hasn't had a chance to affect the numbers yet. ECID, but with Asia the soonest I've seen a food response in her is 10-15 minutes. Because his numbers have been lower though, you really don't want to mess around and wonder if it's food influenced or not, so I hope he cooperates for you going forward. ;)
 
6 units to 1 unit in a little over a week! :woot: Rufus continues to impress! How is he feeling/eating today?

Sorry you had trouble getting a sample. I know it's weird and makes no logical sense, but I find Asia's ear bleed less easily when her numbers are low (lower than what Rufus is showing you, but still, it's odd). o_O I'm sure you've tried the warming up the ear? Either rubbing with your fingers or a heated rice sock?

The most important step is to test before shooting, I don't think it's ideal to test after eating because the number could be food influenced, but if it's immediately after eating, likely the food hasn't had a chance to affect the numbers yet. ECID, but with Asia the soonest I've seen a food response in her is 10-15 minutes. Because his numbers have been lower though, you really don't want to mess around and wonder if it's food influenced or not, so I hope he cooperates for you going forward. ;)
He's been eating better, but really doesn't want to eat dry (maybe cuz it's low carb and doesn't like it?), and the wet has to be pureed still. We have a follow up on monday, going to ask if the IBD is causing him pain to eat.

The window in the bedroom was open so he was a little chilly. And you're right, the lower his bg the harder it is to get blood :)

And he's still getting used to this routine. He used to wake me up at 7, I'd per him for a couple minutes, then food. Now we add in the testing and today it took over 10 minutes to get the blood, I think he's "over it", especially with the nasuea it makes him not care if he eats. If that makes sense.
 
Oh and yesterday he was running around and playing with Ozzie. Showing Ozzie who was dominant. It was nice to see them playing but it kind of went on all day so I wonder about if it was something else. He did go for a walk outside and was "alert" most of the day. Overall better and we're getting there small steps :)
 
He's been eating better, but really doesn't want to eat dry (maybe cuz it's low carb and doesn't like it?), and the wet has to be pureed still. We have a follow up on monday, going to ask if the IBD is causing him pain to eat.

The window in the bedroom was open so he was a little chilly. And you're right, the lower his bg the harder it is to get blood :)

And he's still getting used to this routine. He used to wake me up at 7, I'd per him for a couple minutes, then food. Now we add in the testing and today it took over 10 minutes to get the blood, I think he's "over it", especially with the nasuea it makes him not care if he eats. If that makes sense.

I'm glad he's protesting the dry! ;) I'd love to see his numbers with zero dry food influence over a good length of time, I know it's more convenient and all that good stuff (Asia was a kibble addict for 13 years until her horrible tooth stuff), but the best chance for remission is to kick the dry to the curb (even the "low carb" dry).

Maybe he was just cold, that makes the blood very hard to get. Our heat went out for 2 days and it was not fun getting blood from Asia when that happened. I really hope his nausea subsides soon, that must be so frustrating for both of you.
 
I really hope his nausea subsides soon, that must be so frustrating for both of you.
He just needs to eat the rabbit and all would be well, but no! He's too fussy. Really wish you could just "starve" them like a dog. Make them eat what you give them!
 
He just needs to eat the rabbit and all would be well, but no! He's too fussy. Really wish you could just "starve" them like a dog. Make them eat what you give them!

I hear you! The only way we got civvie Toki to transition to the new raw food we switched to was by sprinkling Parmesan cheese on each and every meal. :rolleyes: Cats! :banghead:
 
I hear you! The only way we got civvie Toki to transition to the new raw food we switched to was by sprinkling Parmesan cheese on each and every meal. :rolleyes: Cats! :banghead:
Interesting. I should experiment with something to add to this rabbit food to entice him!
 
Interesting. I should experiment with something to add to this rabbit food to entice him!

There's a post somewhere with food enticements, it might be in the "where can you find" thread. Someone else recommended the parm and Toki has never met a cheese she didn't love, so it worked very well for her. Other ones I've heard of are: catnip, crushed freeze dried chicken/salmon/whatever, bonito (fish flakes you can get at any Asian grocery or perhaps the international section of a regular grocery), fortiflora, a smidge of tuna juice (careful that you find one without onions and garlic, low sodium is best). That's all I can think of for toppers. The other common thing in food transitions is to add the food he likes to the new food (sounds like you purée so it should be easy enough) and start with 90/10 or 80/20 mix and slowly over time lessen the old food and increase the new until it's done.
 
There's a post somewhere with food enticements, it might be in the "where can you find" thread. Someone else recommended the parm and Toki has never met a cheese she didn't love, so it worked very well for her. Other ones I've heard of are: catnip, crushed freeze dried chicken/salmon/whatever, bonito (fish flakes you can get at any Asian grocery or perhaps the international section of a regular grocery), fortiflora, a smidge of tuna juice (careful that you find one without onions and garlic, low sodium is best). That's all I can think of for toppers. The other common thing in food transitions is to add the food he likes to the new food (sounds like you purée so it should be easy enough) and start with 90/10 or 80/20 mix and slowly over time lessen the old food and increase the new until it's done.
Good tips! The hardest part is keeping the topper something he's never had before, at least protein wise. Gosh I really wish they had conclusive food allergy testing for cats. Nothing is easy :)
 
Yeah, it's difficult! A food he likes, low carb, and novel! It's all worth it though. We'll get there. And I just bought 2 vials of Lantus and now only 1u?! That's ok too, if need be I can maybe sell it or donate.
 
+3 70. Gave him a couple treats. He ate about 60 calories this AM. Not much overnight. How much does bg number have to do with any empty(ish) stomach?
 
+3 70. Gave him a couple treats. He ate about 60 calories this AM. Not much overnight. How much does bg number have to do with any empty(ish) stomach?

A lot! Asia had to fast for an ultrasound, look at her 1/23 pm cycle...that latter half, as she stopped having food at midnight (+4) and her typical night nadir is around +5. About the whole week prior to that, she was eating, but not eating much or well, a lot of Karo and even a skipped shot because of it.

The insulin you give them is basically an estimate that balances and accounts for the average amount of food they eat in a day. If they eat less than usual, numbers can go down, if they eat more, they can go up. It's not usually so dramatic as the example of Asia fasting, but also, when they are off their food or not eating well, they usually eat nibbles as opposed to nothing at all.
 
A lot! Asia had to fast for an ultrasound, look at her 1/23 pm cycle...that latter half, as she stopped having food at midnight (+4) and her typical night nadir is around +5. About the whole week prior to that, she was eating, but not eating much or well, a lot of Karo and even a skipped shot because of it.

The insulin you give them is basically an estimate that balances and accounts for the average amount of food they eat in a day. If they eat less than usual, numbers can go down, if they eat more, they can go up. It's not usually so dramatic as the example of Asia fasting, but also, when they are off their food or not eating well, they usually eat nibbles as opposed to nothing at all.
I'm just questioning his dose again. He did eat more then half his food, which isn't too unusual. But it dropped 25 points in 3 hours after eating? I wish I had noted when he was eating half meals. I would say only a couple times this week did he not eat his "normal" cals. Since Wed he's been back on track(ish).
 
Did a little experiment. Gave him 10 treats around +5.5 to see what effect on his bg. Went up to 123. I'll be interested to see if it stays steady or declines at PMPS.
 
PMPS 150. Rufus ate about a 1/8 maybe little more of some dry Hills DM about 2.5 hours ago. Do you think that could have raised his BG?
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top