3/3 Oren; AMPS-499; PMPS=395;

Status
Not open for further replies.
No real dosing advice from me, but it looks like you have some room for an increase, just not quite sure when it should happen.
 
Per the SLGS method you would hold each dose for a week, then do a 12hr or 18 hr curve to help you see how low the dose is taking him before adjusting:

After 1 week at a given dose perform a 12 hour curve, testing every 2 hours OR perform an 18 hour curve, testing every 3 hours
Note
: Random spot checks are often helpful to "fill in the blanks" on kitty's spreadsheet.

  • If nadirs are more than 150 mg/dl (8.3 mmol/L), increase the dose by 0.25 unit
  • If nadirs are between 90 (5 mmol/L) and 149 mg/dl (8.2 mmol/L), maintain the same dose
  • If nadirs are below 90 mg/dl (5mmol/L), decrease the dose by 0.25 unit
  • As your cat's blood glucose begins to fall mostly in the desired range [lowest point of the curve approaching 100 mg/dl (5.5 mmol/L) and pre-shot value around or below 300 mg/dl (16.6 mmol/L)], do lengthen the waiting time between dose increases. If you decide to change another factor (e.g., diet or other medications), don't increase the insulin dose until the other change is complete (but do decrease the dose if your cat's glucose numbers consistently fall below 90 mg/dl (5.0 mmol/L) as a result of the change). Don't be tempted to rush the process along by increasing the dose more quickly or in larger increments-- no matter how high your cat's blood glucose is! Rushing towards regulation will cost you time in the long run, because you may shoot past the right dose.
Lather, Rinse, and Repeat!

 
hard to say that the 100 pts. b/n shots is a bounce clear. If he was supposed to maybe clear tonight, would I expect something much lower at +2 or +5 tonight?
 
No, I don't think he's cleared the bounce yet. I'd expect to see at least yellow or blue numbers if he cleared the bounce. Bounces override any normal Lantus cycle. The only way to somewhat predict when a bounce may clear is to look at how long it took the last time.

I think Oren's last bounce lasted 7 cycles - tonight is cycle 6 after the yellow amps that i'm guessing was during the bounce cycle. So I'd guess (because that's all we can do) that he might clear it tonight (6 cycles) or tomorrow's day cycle (7 cycles.) If you see a lower amps, that'll tell you that might be happening.

There's no way to just say when to test. If you see anything lower than 300, I'd get another test in another hour or two. If I were you, I'd probably get a test right before I went to bed tonight, at the last possible minute, and if he's still over 300 call it a night. Then check at amps and see what he's doing then. I'm thinking you don't have any ability to get a mid-cycle test tomorrow during the day, right? If you could, that would be good but if you can't, then don't worry about it.
 
I can do a night test tonight, an AMPS and normally I'd be home tomorrow, but have to go in for a 2hr. morning meeting. I could possibly get a +2 , and then something close to +6 or 7, so long as the meeting doesn't run long and I can get home quickly.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top